Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

2006 FIA Formula One / F1 / Formula 1 Championship Review

 NR (Not Rated)   DVD
3.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 29.99
Price: CDN$ 26.10 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: CDN$ 3.89 (13%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 1 to 3 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Today Only: 67% off "Full House: The Complete Series"
Own Full House: The Complete Series at a one-day special price.

Frequently Bought Together

2006 FIA Formula One / F1 / Formula 1 Championship Review + 2005 F1 Formula One World Championship Review + The Official Review of the 2008 FIA Formula One Championship
Price For All Three: CDN$ 143.24

These items are shipped from and sold by different sellers.


Product Details


Product Description

Product Description

In 55 years, only seven men have won back to back World Championships. 2006 changed all that. Fernando Alonso became the eighth member of the elite group and the youngest.

The season kicked off with new drivers, new teams and a brand new knockout format for qualifying. RENAULT picked up where they left off with six wings out of eight. By Canada, they looked to have it in the bag, but the might of Michael Schumacher and Ferrari should never be discounted.

USA was the turning point, with everything falling in FERRARI'S favor. After China, the frontrunners were equal on points, but Michael had the advantage with one more win under his belt. The battle for both titles would be won and lost in the last two races.

Watch Button¹s fiery exit in Australia and his blaze of glory in Hungary.

Ride on board with Liuzzi as Räikkönen drives over him! Feel the emotion as Massa wins in Brazil and Michael Schumacher bows out of FORMULA ONE, after a charge through the field. Michael at his best.

Get to the heart of this sensational sport with original interviews and never seen before footage as Fernando does it once again!

WITH DVD EXTRA FEATURES: Season Preview An interview with Bernard Ferguson of Cosworth in Spain Super Aguri: The Newest Team on the Grid An Interview with Ron Dennis in Japan Michael Schumacher: A Tribute



Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
1 star
0
3.5 out of 5 stars
3.5 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
2.0 out of 5 stars Incredible Season - atrocious quality DVD Aug. 6 2013
By Bricktop TOP 500 REVIEWER
The 2006 season was a lot of fun to watch, particularly the battle between Fernando Alonso and Michael Schumacher. The main feature of this DVD runs 3h20m long. There is lots of race footage but where it really stands out is some great extras within the main feature like the interview with Gerhard Berger for example, or the many additional interviews with members of the various team's crews.

However, the reason this DVD is so atrocious is because they fit both the 3h20m main feature and several extras all onto a single dual-layer DVD. That's around 3.5 hours of video on a single DVD9. It just doesn't fit! The pixilation and macroblocking runs rampant throughout, anytime the footage on screen is fast like the in car footage, especially the parts when they do a picture-in-picture looking at Massa's qualifying lap at Monza behind Alonso for example, it's like watching a video on dial-up with such pixilation you feel the resolution has dropped to barely 200x200. Not a word of exaggeration, it is really awful.

Most features on DVD will average around 6~7Mbps with up to 10Mbps for peaks of particularly hard-to-encode scenes. This DVD runs along at 3~3.5Mbps. It is truly pathetic that this one made it out into consumer's hands. The next year the 2007 DVD went to 2 DVD's and it was a huge improvement.

Hopefully the 2011 season, the first one to finally move to HD broadcasting, will be presented on Blu-ray. It is comical that we have had "Bass Fishing" in high definition since @ 2004 and the world's premiere motorsport took until 2011...but that's Bernie's influence for you.

This is a great season worth watching if you can stomach the brutal picture quality. Wish they would re-issue this as a 2-disc set.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars For the true Formula 1 Fan! Feb. 22 2007
As with the previous year's season review, this DVD has met my expectations on its quality and features. As a Formula 1 fan, if you enjoyed the duel between Michael Schumacher and Fernando Alonso during the latter races of the 2006 season, then this is the DVD for you.

You might also enjoy the special features such as the on-board camera clips for the pole positions, and some extras like full season preview, interviews from personalities and a Michael Schumacher retirement tribute.

Get this DVD and you won't regret it! For the true F1 fan.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.5 out of 5 stars  23 reviews
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very poor compression Feb. 7 2007
By J. Hunter - Published on Amazon.com
I have every FIA season review available on DVD since 2000 (there's a jump over 2001, '02, then the series picks up again with '03)

The great coverage and quantity of content presented in this '06 review is severely compromised by the horrible picture quality. If it was going to look this bad, they might as well have released it on VHS. When one compares this to the '04 DVD, for example, . . . there's simply no excuse.

This really should've been released as a two disc set.

BTW, there's a new company logo on this year's disc . . . which makes me wonder whether the FIA and FOM switched vendors and are as disappointed with the results as I am. I don't know who to blame, but only hope they put out a better product next year
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Presenting the DVD that brought dvds back to the stone age! May 25 2007
By Frederico E. Pinto Jr. - Published on Amazon.com
This is called a DVD. It looks like a DVD when you open its case. It looks like a DVD when you place it into your DVD Player. That's where it ends though. You've been robbed. This is what a DVD becomes when a multi million dollar corperation seeks to make just a little bit more money from its fans and in the process sells out its own soul. Stop compressing the video to the point of destruction and just make 2 discs! PLEASE, PLEASE! This DVD has by far, (so far it's not even funny)THE worst picture quality I have ever seen in something trying to pass itself off as a DVD. How about this F1, just release vhs tapes from now on. Please stop embarrassing yourselves and torturing your audience with half hearted and cruel releases such as this. Your F1! You take our millions of dollars and give us back excrement. Every year you feed us this mediocre garbage the closer we get to giving up on you. There are other sports out there you know. Learn from NFL Films, PLEASE! These should be historic records of the most advanced form of motor racing on earth, not something resembling some idiot with a cam corder taping a country drag race on beta max. When I press PAUSE watching this it looks like Surrealist Art. Yeah, I just saw the blue blur pass the red blur! Isn't that an exceptionally beautiful and well engineered blur? I want to see the Formula One car's suspension and aerodynamics when I press pause but I get to see a multi colored blur that I THINK is a... car? Yeah a car. Give us a break! You could do so much for F1's image and popularity with quality DVD reviews that contained, 2, YES 2 Disc DVD reviews. What a concept! I've been a diehard F1 nut for over a decade now and I thought by now you would've adapted with the times. We have what they call High Definition now. Have you heard of it? Stop compressing the video and stop giving your loyal fans the shaft! Charge 30 to 40 bucks for a 2 disc DVD set with sharp picture quality and watch them sell out. We'd buy them! I know I would. All F1 fans want it and you better start listening cause it's been 2 years of compressed and pixelated garbage. If you only got it. Well, you've lost this and many customers because for years now your DVDs have been laughable. To anyone interested, this trash isn't even worth a rental. 2000, 2003, 2004 F1 Reviews are great and show what the DVD was made for. The 2005 and 2006 Reviews are horrible unless you like to see what damaged vision looks like. It's like a fine novel with a great story, only the pages have been dipped in water and the ink has run all over. We hope you enjoy the book! Don't waste your time or money. Get an older review if you want to enjoy some F1 action. 2 disc DVD sets are the answer to all our prayers F1. Do it or lose it! If 2007 is the same I'm starting a boycott.
8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars They did it again. March 31 2007
By Jeffrey K. Salzmann - Published on Amazon.com
At least this year, they used a DVD9 instead of DVD5. That said, the image quality on this DVD is worse than the broadcast you watched on TV. 220+ minutes on one DVD. If they went to two DVDs, this would be the kind of thing you'd want for the rest of your life. You can do better D/Ling the individual races.

Picture quality trumps content. Rent it.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Mediocre review of great season March 25 2007
By Chris Morgan - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
As others have mentioned, the video compression artefacts are unforgivable on this disc. I get better quality recording from my standard definition cable box to my Mac and burning to DVD.

In the USA the most popular motorsport is Nascar and the image quality on some of the Nascar broadcasts is noticeably superior to F1 broadcasts to start with (it is clearly much more than just a PAL-NTSC conversion issue), so then to allow further degradation in the season review is insulting. It is bad for the image of F1, which bills itself as the technological pinnacle of motor racing, to have a cheap and nasty "official season review". Since I'm a photographer and film maker myself I find the flaws noticeably distracting. It takes me "out" of the event, the opposite of the effect intended.

Then we get to the content. This was a vintage year for Formula 1 fans, featuring Michael Schumacher's last season, an epic fight between him and Fernando, Williams' coming apart at the seams, McLaren embarrassed to not win a single race, Montoya and Villeneuve throwing in the towel, Michael's parking problem in Monaco etc etc. So in some ways the producers can't lose... but it was still disappointing.

I found the commentary bland and poorly written with some odd turns of phrase. For example at one point Fernando is "taking on more tires". Sorry, you don't take on more tires, there's no room. You change tires, or you take on more fuel. Further, moments that were incredibly dramatic at the time are glossed over with all the passion of a computer speaking your weight. If this is the official review, then I would prefer to buy an unofficial review, were it available.

In my opinion, the guys who do the US broadcast commentary on Speed Channel would do a vastly better job than this disc. Their season ending tribute to Michael Schumacher was much better then the one on this disc. For example they actually tell the viewer what the events on-screen were (the famous deliberate collisions with Hill and Villeneuve, the incident in Monaco) and why they were pivotal events in forming Michael Schumacher's reputation and legacy as an icomparable racer, an all-time great, but with a few severe lapses in judgement here and there. They would probably also have explained the significance of a few other things that the video editors included, but failed to capitalise on. For example the story behind why Mikka Hakkinen turned up for the final race in Brazil. Michael let it be known that Mikka was one of his most feared and respected adversaries in his entire career. When Mikka heard that he made a special trip out to Brazil just to see Michael's final race.

I understand that space is limited on any production, but for the year that Michael Schumacher retired, I feel a dual-disc Deluxe Edition as a more upmarket option would have made sense. With better image quality and more room to go in-depth it could have been a vastly superior product, leaving this single disc production as an entry-level affordable choice for those on a limited budget.

I do appreciate one aspect of this DVD that salvaged a 3 star rating for it - the extra candid (non-race) footage was varied and well-chosen. The interview with Chris Dyer, the demo of an F1 refuelling rig, the driver-narrated qualifying laps and numerous other bit and pieces here and there were very interesting. The slow lap of Monaco narrated by Tiago Monteiro on a scooter, intercut with frantic full-speed race footage of the same route was fantastic, it really heightened the sensation of F1's crazy speed on such a tight road course. A lot of the extra footage was not seen on the US broadcasts, so for those sections alone this disc is something of a must-have for US F1 fans.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great season, poor DVD March 20 2007
By TCH - Published on Amazon.com
In an age when improved video quality is a must, this DVD release takes a HUGE step backwards. The lack of quality is so annoying in parts that it's almost unwatchable. As other reviews have stated, there is a major problem with the compression. I like that F1 wants to give us as much on a disk as possible...why not put it on 2 disks so the quality doesn't suffer? The disk is worth viewing once. I'm glad I rented this first and I don't plan on owning it based on quality and not the content. I own the 2000, '03, '04 and '05 disks and the quality dropped after the 2004 disk. Hopefully they get it right for the 2007 disk.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback