Start reading 72 Hours (Ryan Archer #1) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
72 Hours (Ryan Archer #1)
 
See larger image
 

72 Hours (Ryan Archer #1) [Kindle Edition]

William Casey Moreton

Kindle Price: CDN$ 4.24 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

Praise for the books of William Casey Moreton:

"...Moreton keeps readers hooked." -- Kirkus Reviews

"....Moreton is a superb and inspired storyteller and with so many mediocre books being published, this is a relatively rare feat." -- Deadly Pleasures


For fans of Lee Child, Robert Crais, and Dean Koontz, here is white-knuckle suspense at its finest:

Having survived careers in both the Army and the FBI, Ryan Archer is now content to live a quiet life in a tiny apartment above a surf shop in Santa Cruz, California. He has few possessions and few friends. He works part-time in the little shop downstairs, and spends most of his free hours out on the open water with just his board and the waves. But he is about to be pulled back into action by a voice out of one of his former lives.

He is asked to keep a woman named Lindsay Hammond alive for the next 72 hours, as an army of street thugs, career criminals and professional assassins press in around them from every direction. As they go off the grid, surviving minute to minute, cutting off all contact with the outside world, Lindsay learns to trust Archer in a way she has never trusted anyone before.

WILLIAM CASEY MORETON grew up in the South and graduated college in 1993 with a degree in Religious Studies. He is the author of seven novels, including THE STRANGER BESIDE YOU, NEVER BACK DOWN, and THE SEARCH. Moreton is a member of International Thriller Writers, and lives with his wife and children in the Midwest where he is at work on his next book.

The author can be contacted at wcmbooks@gmail.com

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 454 KB
  • Print Length: 316 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B004WLOGYE
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #125,119 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars  247 reviews
108 of 118 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good read, too bad the author had to have his friends hype it July 17 2011
By Kathleen W. Hayward - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is a real review by a real reader (if you are interested in why I wrote that, see comment at bottom).

While the initial plot developments stretch the imagination, once the book gets going the action is fast and enjoyable. There is a small amount of character development, enough to stop the characters from becoming cartoon characters, and a satisfying ending (requiring of course, a normal suspension of disbelief).

Good beach or travel read. You probably wouldn't remember the book in a few months, but it's priced right and it slides down well.

[It is too bad either the Author felt he had to hype the book with reviews of questionable origins, or that six of his close friends decided to review all of his 4 thrillers books, each one reviewing all 4 of their reviews on one day: bo on 4/28, th on 4/29, lo on 5/3, tb on 5/5, rh on 5/26, So on 6/7.]
51 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Inconsistent and Poorly Edited Feb. 24 2012
By Catherine - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I was disappointed in this book. It was so poorly edited. There were typos all over the place and I found them to be very distracting. Hopefully, the print version wasn't as bad. The inconsistencies were too noticeable to ignore and the protagonist made too many errors in judgement to be believable. 72 Hours: A Thriller
62 of 69 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A great big "meh" March 10 2012
By maximum verbosity - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
This is the first book I've read by this author and I can only say I hope his other books are better. One of the main characters, Lindsay, is possibly the dumbest character I've come across. I had zero sympathy for her. Her kids weren't much better, but at least they weren't constantly SCREAMING at everything. She put the lives of everyone around her in danger by inexplicably ignoring orders from the people trying to protect her. Her character was flat, shallow and stupid.

I have a question for the author though - why so many planet references for the names of these people? Thomas MERCURY? Kenneth MARS? Mr. JUPITER? I half expected for them to only drive Saturns with the theme from "The Jetsons blasting from the radio.

The other characters in the book (Kline, Sperry, Zero, etc) just popped in randomly without any explanation and then were killed off when he didn't know what to do with them. There were too many unbelievable "shoot 'em up" scenes.

This book is in some dire need of editing. I found several misspelled words, poor sentence structure, words used improperly and a lot of random awkward descriptions. The most annoying part is that for the entire book, the goal was to find a dead woman and her child. That was the driving force in the FBI agents (Kline) life. The killer refused to tell where he left the bodies. He would only give vague answers and constantly tell everyone that the bodies were in a place no-one would EVER think to look, somewhere so UNUSUAL, etc etc etc. Then ::SPOILER ALERT:: the woman and child are found BUT IT NEVER SAYS WHERE!!!! Where was this magical, secret spot that the entire force of the FBI couldn't find? Why on earth was this tidbit left un-answered?!

I hated the ending. Hated it.

That said - if you're looking for something mildly entertaining to read at the beach or on the plane, this book will work. There were some exciting scenes and the plot was unique. I know this review is all over the place and makes no sense, but I felt that was fitting since the book was the same way.
21 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great storyline shame about the editing! July 14 2011
By Ali-B - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
Absolutely fantastic read, didn't want to put it down. Easily written so you could visualize everything. The only let down was the high number of spelling and grammatical errors which was quite distracting. Not sure if the bad editing is purely a Kindle edition issue but this should be looked into.
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars unbelievable in almost every aspect July 1 2012
By Wayne Simmes - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
I realize this is a work of fiction and therefore some leeway must be given. However, literary license only goes so far. From the very beginning everything that this author wrote was impossible to happen. For instance, no prison system would ever allow a death row inmate to go on live television, for any reason.
No one can profit from a crime and therefore the bounty would have been impossible to collect upon.
Trained commandoes that cannot shoot straight.
A bunker built to withstand an atomic bomb is almost completely destroyed by two grenades.
An assassin doesn't bother to make sure her mark is dead when she kills everyone else that gets in her way.
No prison system or law enforcement officer would ever allow a death row inmate to leave prison on the flimsy excuse of finding two dead bodies.
In short this was on awful book. Don't waste time or money on this.

Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for similar items by category