9 has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

9 Explicit Lyrics

4.5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 20.00 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 4 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
20 new from CDN$ 16.16 16 used from CDN$ 4.28 1 collectible from CDN$ 15.75

Frequently Bought Together

  • 9
  • +
  • O
  • +
  • My Favourite Faded Fantasy
Total price: CDN$ 51.79
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 14 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • Label: Warner Bros
  • ASIN: B000IU3XTM
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,138 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. 9 Crimes
2. The Animals Were Gone
3. Elephant
4. Rootless Tree
5. Dogs
6. Coconut Skins
7. Me, My Yoke, and I
8. Grey Room
9. Accidental Babies
10. Sleep Don't Weep

Product Description

Product Description

9 is the extraordinary follow-up to young Irish singer-songwriter Damien Rice's critically acclaimed 2003 debut album which sold more than 2 million copies worldwide, including more than 1 million in the U.K. Touring this country and making a masterful television premiere on the Late Show with David Letterman, Rice entered the U.S. music consciousness. Considering the overwhelming response to these new songs, which Rice performed on tour this summer, 9 is set to take him even higher. Wrote Rolling Stone of 9: ''Songs that, for all their quietness, leave a dark, lasting impression.'' Newsweek: ''An out-and-out gorgeous CD, so full of undiluted, unfalsified emotions that it verges on open-heart surgery.'' The New Yorker: ''An album of understated gems.''


Not quite as endearing as his raw and seductive 2002 debut, O, the second full-length album by Irish troubadour Damien Rice finds him taking a more slapdash approach to his lyrics and arrangements, with balmy tracks like "Rootless Tree," "Coconut Skins," and "Me, My Yoke, and I" seemingly made up and recorded on the spot. Strange then that it took so long for 9 to actually arrive, with just a handful of odd collaborations (Tori Amos, Herbie Hancock) and one promising benefit single ("Unplayed Piano") to hold fans over during the four-year delay. Nothing here quite achieves the lush poetry on display there, although Rice and his singing companion Lisa Hannigan come close with the creepy opening track "9 Crimes" and the damaged whisper-to-a-scream ballad, "Elephant." --Aidin Vaziri

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
MISERY. It's an international language. So while the lyrics to "The Animals Were Gone" are delivered up in Damien Rice's soft Dublin tones, the plangent strings, hesitant melody and descending chords could just as easily accompany some French chanson in which the message is "je regrette".

Melancholy is smeared liberally over this follow-up to Rice's spectacularly successful album "O".

You would think that we would have had our fill of down-in-the-dumps singer-songwriters making semi-orchestral productions out of songs which would once have been strummed in the back rooms of pubs, but Rice has done pretty much what David Gray did with "Life In Slow Motion" - he has produced a work of such sincerity and quality that it transcends its genre.

Best moment here is "Elephant", which begins with quiet voice and almost inaudible guitar, building in intensity to heartfelt keening and a rush of orchestra and percussion before dying back to a mumbling conclusion.

Emotionally, it is as if Rice has climbed a mountain and fallen down the other side.
2 of 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
Moving on from his status as angst-ridden one-hit wonder, with the long-anticipated release of "9" Damien Rice has established himself as a relatively enduring talent for his generation.

And beyond, probably.

While far less radio-friendly than its predecessor, "9 saunters" with natural grace through ten tracks that ooze characteristic finesse and charm, with added lashings of maturity and jaded sexuality.

It has no "Cannonball" or "Volcano" but it doesn't need one in order to justify itself - without being "catchy", every beat of this album and every careful word sticks in your mind with effortless self-assurance.

It's immediately apparent from the greatly enhanced production values of "9" that the breakout Irish singer/songwriter isn't content with being known as a cult phenom.

He's angling for the big time, and "9"'s string-enhanced romantic melodrama, deftly employing some Dido-esque vocal accompaniment, could be what gets him there.

Equal parts James Blunt and Colin Farrell, Damien plays his sensitive rake game to the hilt here, plaintively crooning about affairs of the heart with swoon-inducing intimacy, but his reluctance to veer from the quiet-loud-quiet structure he favours gives each song a predictable trajectory and ultimately undermines all his attempts to create tension. Still, it's good enough to impress fans of David Gray and Coldplay.

Dashing the low expectations of cynics, Damien Rice's "9" is heart-flipping, gut-gushing, soul-snatching pop at its very best.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
I recently watched an interview with Damien Rice, claiming that he only intended on making one album (the brilliant, incomprable 'O'). Thank God he changed his mind and blew us all away again with his second genius offering, '9'.

'9' is less angsty and experimental than Rice's masterful debut, but just as jaw-dropping. Lisa Hannigan lends her spectacular, emotive vocal talents to many of '9''s masterpieces such as the first single, 'Nine Crimes', a song that gradually intensifies with each passing chorus. Three knockouts, 'Rootless Tree', 'Dogs' and 'Coconut Skins' are three of the most brilliant songs released last year. It bid farewell to the fall in sentiment and clarity.

Rice is almost like a Michael Moore figure of the singer-songwriter community. He blends politics and likeability with the brilliance of art and artifact, and his creativity, intensity, emotional power and raw experimentation know no bounds. '9' is an example of all the aforementioned qualities of this unique artist, who can extract every scream, every sorrow and every heartfelt cry from a single whisper.

Judging by both of Rice's full-length releases, he could probably never make an imperfect album.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse