A Walk in the Dark (Guido Guerrieri) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
CDN$ 13.51
  • List Price: CDN$ 18.50
  • You Save: CDN$ 4.99 (27%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
A Walk in the Dark has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

A Walk in the Dark Paperback – Mar 15 2011


See all 4 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 13.51
CDN$ 4.47 CDN$ 3.08

Best Canadian Books of 2014
Stone Mattress is our #1 Canadian pick for 2014. See all

Frequently Bought Together

A Walk in the Dark + Reasonable Doubts
Price For Both: CDN$ 26.87

One of these items ships sooner than the other.


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Paperback: 218 pages
  • Publisher: Bitter Lemon Press (March 15 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1904738532
  • ISBN-13: 978-1904738534
  • Product Dimensions: 13.3 x 2.9 x 19.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 200 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #304,606 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Carofiglio is an anti-Mafia prosecutor in the southern Italian city of Bari, and maybe someday he'll write a novel with a main character who faces the same kinds of challenges as he does. Until then, we have this second book (after 2005's Involuntary Witness), a bestseller in Italy, starring Bari defense lawyer Guido Guerrieri, who could have just gotten off an Alitalia flight from the Land of Grisham or the Los Angeles of Michael Connelly's The Lincoln Lawyer. Guerrieri can't resist taking on a case no other lawyer will touch, that of Martina Fumai, who has accused her vicious ex-boyfriend, the son of a powerful judge, of assault. Colorful characters, unexpected plot twists and smooth, often sharp writing ("The best of Vietnamese New Wave.... The kind of music I love so much I can even listen to it for five minutes at a stretch") will keep readers turning the pages. (Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

A woman has accused her former lover of assault and battery, not to mention harassment and stalking. But because the man is the son of a powerful judge, the victim can't find a lawyer to take her case. Enter defense attorney Guido Guerrieri, who soon discovers that this seemingly hopeless (and potentially career--destroying) case is also a lot trickier and more dangerous than he had expected it to be. The second novel by Italian prosecutor Carofiglio, smoothly translated by Curtis, is breezy and witty but also dark and moody. The author's familiarity with the legal system allows him to play up its weaknesses, and Guerrieri, a man who values the rights of his clients above his own professional well-being, is an intelligent and sympathetic series lead. Readers bored with assembly-line American legal thrillers should welcome this latest Italian import with open arms. David Pitt
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 15 reviews
20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
terific Italian thriller Oct. 4 2006
By Harriet Klausner - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
A Walk in the Dark

Gianrico Carofiglio

Bitter Lemon, Oct 2006, $14.95

ISBN: 1904738176

In Bari, Italy, defense lawyer Avvocato Guido Guerrieri earns a living providing legal council to petty criminals; his business depends on returning customers as most of his clients are repeat offenders. However, for whatever reason deep in his pyche, Guido has a soft spot for the underdog especially abused females so at times he will take on impossible cases.

This is one of those times when Guerrieri turns champion because to his chagrin he is immediately attracted to Sister Claudia, director of Safe House, who asks him to help one of her volunteers now hiding at the shelter. The woman moved in with a wealthy Prince Charming who turned into an abusive beast. He beat her in public twice and in private several times. Because of his connections, the carabineri, the police and a judge deny the woman's plea for protection from his harming her. Two lawyers have said no, but Guerrieri agrees to take on the case of protecting the ex girlfriend Martina Fumai, Sistaer Claudia and the shelter from Ernesto Scaianatico, son of of a criminal appeals court judge. However, Guido will learn the hard way why his peers said no.

This terific legal thriller stars a fascinating protagonist who normally is indifferent and bumbling when it comes to his typical clients; however some cases fire up his inner gut turning him into a capable caring attorney and much more. Guido's two capers (see INVOLUNTARY WITNESS) are legal noirs as he struggles to insure his clients remain safe against powerful adversaries who use money and abuse of power to insure victory over justice. Gianrico Carofiglio provides a terific Italian thriller

Harriet Klausner
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
Justice is well-served Nov. 30 2008
By Eloi - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This is tightly-plotted tale of underdog revenge with wonderful characters--Sister Claudia, please watch my back--in just 215 pages. I read it in a night, then re-read it a few days later to clear up some of the moral ambiguities, because everyone, even protagonist lawyer Guerrieri, has to work through some murk. I'm still thinking, but this is a police novel in the tradition of Simenon's Maigret novels and Duerrenmatt's The Judge and His Hangman. A terrific read.
9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
Italian courtroom drama Dec 9 2008
By Blue in Washington - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
"A Walk in the Dark" is a taut, well-constructed crime story, written by a former Italian prosecutor, that opens a window on the considerable problems in the Italian legal and juridical systems. This is a common theme in Italian crime writing, but "A Walk..." has the feel of an original. The book is set in the southern Italian port city of Bari and features protagonist Guido Guerrieri, a principled and well-respected lawyer who is known to take on lost causes. Guerrieri has some major personal issues that are well-told parts of the story.

In "Walk in the Dark," Guerrieri represents a woman with a complaint against the son of a senior Bari judge. It's a case that is definitely not a career enhancing assignment and one that turns out to be dangerous as well.

While the book's plot is somewhat classic and not overly-ambitious, the great strength of the story is in the interaction between its characters, each one of which is well-developed and credible. There is some real challenge, as well as enjoyment, here for the reader. This is a book that transcends the mystery genre, approaching literature.

Author Gianrico Carofiglio's wonderful writing is well served by an excellent translation by Howard Curtis. Highly recommended.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
A sensitive lawyer Feb. 13 2013
By Patricia Roberts - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
This Italian mystery features attorney Guido Guerrieri. A young nun comes to him to ask him to take the case of a young woman who has been assaulted and stalked by her former boyfriend, a physician and son of a high-rankiong judge. The attorney learns the horrifying details of the relationship and agrees to represent the young woman. Carofiglio writes with compassion of the attorney, his semi-live-in girlfriend, and the young victim and her friend and advocate, the nun. Don't be put off by the lurid cover. The novel is a compassionate analysis into child abuse, domestic abuse, and the Italian legal system. Highly recommended.

If you like this one, you should also try The Past Is a Foreign Country, the best in the series IMO.
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
great series Dec 26 2012
By Margaret Cortese - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
All of the in this series are great reads. Made a great Christmas present to a fellow aficionada.Recommend them to all who read in this genre


Feedback