A Walk in the Dark (Guido Guerrieri) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading A Walk in the Dark (Guido Guerrieri) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Walk in the Dark [Paperback]

Gianrico Carofiglio , Howard Curtis

List Price: CDN$ 17.95
Price: CDN$ 13.10 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 4.85 (27%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $9.99  
Paperback CDN $13.10  

Book Description

March 15 2011 Guido Guerrieri

"Carofiglio writes crisp, ironical novels that are as much love stories and philosophical treatises as they are legal thrillers."—The New Yorker

"Part legal thriller, part insight into a man fighting his own demons. Every character in Carofiglio's fiction has a story to tell and they are always worth hearing. As the author himself is an anti-mafia prosecutor, this powerfully affecting novel benefits from veracity as well as tight writing."—Daily Mail

"A novel as much about human nature and the passage of time as it is about law-breaking. Crisp laconic sentences, subtle shifts in tone, and a seamless translation that should be commended."—The Times Literary Supplement

When Martina accuses her ex-boyfriend, the son of a powerful local judge, of assault and battery, no witnesses can be persuaded to testify on her behalf, and one lawyer after another refuses to represent her. Guido Guerrieri knows the case could bring his legal career to a premature, messy end, but he cannot resist the appeal of an apparently hopeless cause. Nor can he deny an attraction to Sister Claudia, the young woman in charge of the shelter where Martina is living. Claudia shares his love of martial arts and his virulent hatred of injustice.

Gianrico Carofiglio was an anti-Mafia prosecutor in Bari, a port on the coast of Puglia, for many years, and is now a member of the Italian senate. He has sold over 2.5 million books of the Guerrieri series in Italy alone.


Frequently Bought Together

Customers buy this book with Involuntary Witness CDN$ 6.60

A Walk in the Dark + Involuntary Witness
Price For Both: CDN$ 19.70

One of these items ships sooner than the other. Show details

  • This item: A Walk in the Dark

    Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Involuntary Witness

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details

  • Paperback: 218 pages
  • Publisher: Bitter Lemon Press (March 15 2011)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1904738532
  • ISBN-13: 978-1904738534
  • Product Dimensions: 19.6 x 12.7 x 1.8 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 200 g
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #52,850 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Carofiglio is an anti-Mafia prosecutor in the southern Italian city of Bari, and maybe someday he'll write a novel with a main character who faces the same kinds of challenges as he does. Until then, we have this second book (after 2005's Involuntary Witness), a bestseller in Italy, starring Bari defense lawyer Guido Guerrieri, who could have just gotten off an Alitalia flight from the Land of Grisham or the Los Angeles of Michael Connelly's The Lincoln Lawyer. Guerrieri can't resist taking on a case no other lawyer will touch, that of Martina Fumai, who has accused her vicious ex-boyfriend, the son of a powerful judge, of assault. Colorful characters, unexpected plot twists and smooth, often sharp writing ("The best of Vietnamese New Wave.... The kind of music I love so much I can even listen to it for five minutes at a stretch") will keep readers turning the pages. (Oct.)
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved. --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

From Booklist

A woman has accused her former lover of assault and battery, not to mention harassment and stalking. But because the man is the son of a powerful judge, the victim can't find a lawyer to take her case. Enter defense attorney Guido Guerrieri, who soon discovers that this seemingly hopeless (and potentially career--destroying) case is also a lot trickier and more dangerous than he had expected it to be. The second novel by Italian prosecutor Carofiglio, smoothly translated by Curtis, is breezy and witty but also dark and moody. The author's familiarity with the legal system allows him to play up its weaknesses, and Guerrieri, a man who values the rights of his clients above his own professional well-being, is an intelligent and sympathetic series lead. Readers bored with assembly-line American legal thrillers should welcome this latest Italian import with open arms. David Pitt
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved --This text refers to an out of print or unavailable edition of this title.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.2 out of 5 stars  13 reviews
19 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars terific Italian thriller Oct. 4 2006
By Harriet Klausner - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
A Walk in the Dark

Gianrico Carofiglio

Bitter Lemon, Oct 2006, $14.95

ISBN: 1904738176

In Bari, Italy, defense lawyer Avvocato Guido Guerrieri earns a living providing legal council to petty criminals; his business depends on returning customers as most of his clients are repeat offenders. However, for whatever reason deep in his pyche, Guido has a soft spot for the underdog especially abused females so at times he will take on impossible cases.

This is one of those times when Guerrieri turns champion because to his chagrin he is immediately attracted to Sister Claudia, director of Safe House, who asks him to help one of her volunteers now hiding at the shelter. The woman moved in with a wealthy Prince Charming who turned into an abusive beast. He beat her in public twice and in private several times. Because of his connections, the carabineri, the police and a judge deny the woman's plea for protection from his harming her. Two lawyers have said no, but Guerrieri agrees to take on the case of protecting the ex girlfriend Martina Fumai, Sistaer Claudia and the shelter from Ernesto Scaianatico, son of of a criminal appeals court judge. However, Guido will learn the hard way why his peers said no.

This terific legal thriller stars a fascinating protagonist who normally is indifferent and bumbling when it comes to his typical clients; however some cases fire up his inner gut turning him into a capable caring attorney and much more. Guido's two capers (see INVOLUNTARY WITNESS) are legal noirs as he struggles to insure his clients remain safe against powerful adversaries who use money and abuse of power to insure victory over justice. Gianrico Carofiglio provides a terific Italian thriller

Harriet Klausner
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justice is well-served Nov. 30 2008
By Eloi - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is tightly-plotted tale of underdog revenge with wonderful characters--Sister Claudia, please watch my back--in just 215 pages. I read it in a night, then re-read it a few days later to clear up some of the moral ambiguities, because everyone, even protagonist lawyer Guerrieri, has to work through some murk. I'm still thinking, but this is a police novel in the tradition of Simenon's Maigret novels and Duerrenmatt's The Judge and His Hangman. A terrific read.
8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Italian courtroom drama Dec 9 2008
By Blue in Washington - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
"A Walk in the Dark" is a taut, well-constructed crime story, written by a former Italian prosecutor, that opens a window on the considerable problems in the Italian legal and juridical systems. This is a common theme in Italian crime writing, but "A Walk..." has the feel of an original. The book is set in the southern Italian port city of Bari and features protagonist Guido Guerrieri, a principled and well-respected lawyer who is known to take on lost causes. Guerrieri has some major personal issues that are well-told parts of the story.

In "Walk in the Dark," Guerrieri represents a woman with a complaint against the son of a senior Bari judge. It's a case that is definitely not a career enhancing assignment and one that turns out to be dangerous as well.

While the book's plot is somewhat classic and not overly-ambitious, the great strength of the story is in the interaction between its characters, each one of which is well-developed and credible. There is some real challenge, as well as enjoyment, here for the reader. This is a book that transcends the mystery genre, approaching literature.

Author Gianrico Carofiglio's wonderful writing is well served by an excellent translation by Howard Curtis. Highly recommended.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A sensitive lawyer Feb. 13 2013
By Patricia Roberts - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This Italian mystery features attorney Guido Guerrieri. A young nun comes to him to ask him to take the case of a young woman who has been assaulted and stalked by her former boyfriend, a physician and son of a high-rankiong judge. The attorney learns the horrifying details of the relationship and agrees to represent the young woman. Carofiglio writes with compassion of the attorney, his semi-live-in girlfriend, and the young victim and her friend and advocate, the nun. Don't be put off by the lurid cover. The novel is a compassionate analysis into child abuse, domestic abuse, and the Italian legal system. Highly recommended.

If you like this one, you should also try The Past Is a Foreign Country, the best in the series IMO.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great series Dec 26 2012
By Margaret Cortese - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
All of the in this series are great reads. Made a great Christmas present to a fellow aficionada.Recommend them to all who read in this genre
ARRAY(0xa6aeeb4c)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback