CDN$ 58.95 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA
Add to Cart
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.

More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Alexander's Feast Import

Price: CDN$ 58.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
1 used from CDN$ 53.95

Product Details

Disc: 1
1. Ov - The Sixteen Orch/Harry Christophers
2. Recitative: 'Twas At The Royal Feast - Ian Partridge
3. Aria/Chor: Happy Pair - Ian Partridge/The Sixteen Chor/Harry Christophers
4. Recitative: Timotheus Plac'd On High - Ian Partridge
5. Hp Con, Op.4 No.6 in B flat: I. Allegro - Andrew Lawrence-King
6. Hp Con, Op.4 No.6 in B flat: II. Larghetto - Andrew Lawrence-King
7. Hp Con, Op.4 No.6 in B flat: III. Allegro Moderato - Andrew Lawrence-King
8. Recitative: The Song Began From Jove - Nancy Argenta
9. Chor: The List'ning Crowd - The Sixteen Chor/Harry Christophers
10. Aria: With Ravish'd Ears - Nancy Argenta
See all 23 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Recitative/Chor: Now Strike The Golden Lyre Again - Ian Partridge/The Sixteen Chor/Harry Christophers
2. Aria: Revenge, Timotheus Cries - Michael George
3. Recitative: Give The Vengence Due - Ian Partridge
4. Aria: The Princes Applaud With A Furious Joy - Ian Partridge
5. Aria/Chor: Thais Led The Way - Nancy Argenta/The Sixteen Chor/Harry Christophers
6. Recitative: Thus Long Ago - Ian Partridge
7. Chor: At Last Divine Cecilia Came - The Sixteen Chor/Harry Christophers
8. Recitative: Let Old Timotheus Yield The Prize - Ian Partridge
9. Chor: Let Old Timotheus Yield The Prize - The Sixteen Chor/Harry Christophers
10. Org Con, Op.4 No.1 in g: I. Larghetto, E Staccato - Paul Nicholson
See all 14 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
1 of 8 people found the following review helpful
Very good, but too much noise for a modern recording May 29 2002
By anon - Published on
I bought this Handel piece thinking it might be as light and beautiful as the Rameau operas by William Christie. Those (Les Fetes D'Hebe, Pygmalian) are outstanding, at times breathtaking
in their beauty, and always very light and pleasant - very Mozartian, really, and I mean Mozart at his best.
Handel, on the other hand, seems a bit heavy by comparison, which is not such an attractive attribute for baroque. His German temperament shines through - sounds a bit like Beethoven
meets Vivaldi, with Beethoven usually getting the upper hand. Also he seems burdened by his English dialogue - a real disadvantage because it makes it impossible for an English speaking listener to ignore the often corny lyrics. Still,
the music is darn good, and at times very good indeed, to use a Gramaphone phrase, and the singing is wonderful. Voices are very forward, which I prefer. My only real complaint is the surprising amount of tape hiss in a recording that claims to be digital. Did they add some for old times sake? Old times weren't always that great...
Overall I recommend this, because I love good singing, and because, like all good baroque (at least, all that I've heard so far) it's very easy to listen too.