American Saxophone Music has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

American Saxophone Music

Price: CDN$ 15.07 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 8.29 1 used from CDN$ 25.74

Product Details

  • Performer: Alex Mitchell
  • Composer: Various
  • Audio CD (Aug. 29 2006)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Nam
  • ASIN: B000GQL8PY
  • Other Editions: MP3 Download
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #325,516 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Grace
2. Passion
3. Faith
4. With Vigor
5. With Tranquility
6. With Gaiety
7. Driving From Paris
8. A Bend In The River
9. Bal Musette
10. Vermouth
11. A Tense Discussion
12. Making Up
13. The Ride Back To Town
14. Andante - Allegro - Andante - Allegro
15. Adagio
16. Allegro Molto
17. Adagio Espressivo
18. Senza Misura - Allegro, Allegro Vivace
19. Andante Espressivo
20. Andante Maestoso
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Product Description

The saxophone is commonly thought of as the quintessential American instrument, not least for the pivotal r'le it has played in jazz during key stages of the genre's evolution. Its acceptance in classical music has been more gradual, with, once again, Ame

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9cabd924) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9c9de3d8) out of 5 stars Nice music . . . weak interpretation Feb. 11 2007
By TUDizzleGT - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Alex Mitchell made a wonderful selection of American music for saxophone, however I was less than moved by his interpretations. He exhibits weak and choppy phrasing (he takes such long and ill-timed breaths, and so often!). The technical execution is equally poor, with unclean attacks, weak articulation, and way too many flubbed notes (I'm surprised they kept these takes for the CD). All in all, his interpretations lack connection with the music. I hear the notes, but no passion whatsoever. He even lets the piano outshine him at times -- I don't know any saxophonists that would allow that!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9cabdbb8) out of 5 stars Great Music Poorly Performed Sept. 15 2008
By J. Myles - Published on
Format: Audio CD
When I saw this cd, I immediately bought it; my goal being to understand the Creston Sonata better, as well as listen to an actual classical baritone sax solo. However, when I started listening, I found myself doing double takes...could a professionally recorded player really be missing notes?? Turns out this was the case...what a shame...
This occurs on several tracks of the cd. Though the blips aren't by any means obtrusive, they're by no means hard to find...

His stylings are a little unorthodox for some of the pieces, but all-in-all not terrible. I will say that the way he and the pianist handle the last several bars of the 2nd movement of the Creston is one of the best I've's perhaps the only recording I've heard to make sense of it.

All in all, if you're looking for recordings of these pieces, I'd personally look elsewhere...but that's just me...
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9ca06a80) out of 5 stars The best Aug. 17 2007
By S. Limb - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I've been looking for a CD that perfectly interprets this kind of music. The muscianship displayed on this, by all involved, is stunning. I play it over and over.