Anatomy of Hatha Yoga and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Anatomy of Hatha Yoga on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Anatomy of Hatha Yoga [Paperback]

H. David Coulter
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (17 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 35.95
Price: CDN$ 22.53 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 13.42 (37%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 7 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Monday, April 21? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $18.09  
Hardcover CDN $30.21  
Paperback CDN $22.53  

Book Description

Nov. 1 2009
Anatomy of Hatha Yoga now revised and in full four color reproduction, remains the most authoritative source correlating the study of hatha yoga with anatomy and physiology. The hardcover sold over 100,000 copies and was a Benjamin Franklin winner for Health Wellness & Nutrition. It spent six years as a retail top 50 selling health hardcover backlist book.

Frequently Bought Together

Anatomy of Hatha Yoga + Bhagavad Gita: A New Translation + The Yoga-Sutra of Patanjali: A New Translation with Commentary
Price For All Three: CDN$ 50.68

Show availability and shipping details

  • In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • Bhagavad Gita: A New Translation CDN$ 12.99

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details

  • The Yoga-Sutra of Patanjali: A New Translation with Commentary CDN$ 15.16

    In Stock.
    Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
    FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ CDN$ 25. Details


Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A unique and useful book March 5 2003
Format:Hardcover
This is a most unusual book. The author, a professor of anatomy and long-time yoga practitioner, explores, in great detail (when necessary), the human anatomy as it relates to the practice of hatha yoga. For someone such as myself who previously knew *Nothing* about human anatomy, this was a fascinating journey. If nothing else the book will teach you about anatomy, a topic you may previously have had no interest, but in the process it will deepen your knowledge of yoga. Its really well done how the author brings such a seemingly dry, technical subject to life. The author nicely groups the discussion around particular topics as they relate to yoga. For example, there are chapters on the nervous system, on breathing, and on what is happening with your hips and sacrum. Perhaps there are similar books on the market, but I suspect not. I'm reminded of Bill Graham's comment about the Grateful Dead: "They're the best in the world at what they do; they're the only ones in the world who do what they do." I suspect similar comments would apply here. Physically, the book is well produced. Considering the glossy paper used, the price of the book is quite reasonable. The are fantastic anatomic drawings that greatly add to one's understanding. Read this book, and enrich your practice of yoga.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Increase your knowledge & improve your yoga Feb. 11 2004
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
This book is essential if you want to deepen your yoga practice, for how can you really fully understand and better your practice if you don't have a clear understanding of the mechanics of your own body? My suggestion to get the most of the book is to first read chapter one "Movement and Posture" to get a general foundation of the concepts and terminology that will be used throughout the book. Subsequent chapters provide detailed anatomical information pertinent to types of postures. Chapters, therefore, are in the vein of "Abdominopelvic Exercises", "Standing Postures", "The Shoulderstand", etc. So choose a style of asana that you'd like to focus on, read through the pertinent chapter, and then spend a couple of weeks putting the knowledge to work experientially, deepening your understanding of those areas of your body and the series of associated asanas. Don't expect to learn the vast amount of information in one reading. Expect to frequently refer back to the book as you put the information into practice. In my opinion, you'll get far more value out of the book if you use it as an experiential guidebook, rather than treating it like a textbook.
Was this review helpful to you?
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Few, if any, problems May 26 2004
Format:Hardcover
The one problem with this amazing tool -- and here I disagree with an earlier reviewer -- is the lack of Sanskrit names for poses. The myriad English names for poses, names that have developed in various studios, seem to be regional and unheard of outside of their limited expanse. It would have been easier to cross-reference postures to texts such as Light on Yoga, if "Anatomy of Hatha Yoga" had consistently supplied the original Sanskrit, instead of vague, although evocative, English bastardizations.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the causal reader July 22 2011
Format:Paperback
It's not for the causal reader. It goes into great detail about Hatha Yoga, poses etc.. If you are looking for more of a lifestyle book it isn't for you.
Was this review helpful to you?
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent reference book for teachers & students April 29 2003
Format:Hardcover
A much needed approach to yoga! As a yoga teacher, I found this book to be extremely useful and I have referred beginning (and not so beginning!) students to at least read the "basic premises". As others have mentioned, the only drawback is it is not all easy reading and some may be put off by that. But even if you read excerpts throughout, you & your practice will benefit immensely from this book.
Was this review helpful to you?
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Practical Anatomy Oct. 17 2003
By A Customer
Format:Hardcover
This is an excellent book for tachers of yoga, as well as for those teaching other physical disciplines. The author has a clear grasp of anatomy and a readable presentation style. What takes this book a step beyond other anatomy texts is that in addition to a basic and general presentation of anatomy , the author then connects that basic anatomy to yoga postures, including photos and diagrams. I highly recommend this book to anyone teaching others to work with their bodies.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Anatomy of Hatha Yoga Feb. 6 2009
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
Excellent book! Full of information a Yoga teacher or practitioner needs to practice Yoga safely and with full awareness of the body and it's functions. It should be every teachers Bible.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Serious about Yoga ? : you must have this book May 24 2004
By R.Bin
Format:Hardcover
This book well written and perfectly edited gives you a real inside on how our body function in relation to yoga practice. along with Iyengar , Erich Schiffmann, and Van Lysebeth books this book is a must.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
ARRAY(0x10803e7c)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback