Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Bach;Johann Sebastian Essentia [Import]

 NR (Not Rated)   DVD

List Price: CDN$ 47.99
Price: CDN$ 37.80 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: CDN$ 10.19 (21%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Wednesday, October 1? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.
Today Only: 24 Complete Series for $124.99
Today only: 24: The Complete Series with Live Another Day is at a one day special price. Offer valid on September 30th, 2014, applies only to purchases of products sold by Amazon.ca, and does not apply to products sold by third-party merchants and other sellers through the Amazon.ca site. Learn more
Join Amazon Student in Canada

Product Details

  • Format: AC-3, Box set, Classical, Color, DTS Surround Sound, DVD-Video, Subtitled, NTSC, Import
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: German, Dutch, French
  • Region: All RegionsAll Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 5
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Euroarts
  • Release Date: Nov. 20 2007
  • Run Time: 483 minutes
  • ASIN: B000WXR4UY

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.0 out of 5 stars  1 review
9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Budget Bach Sampler - Five DVDs Nov. 27 2007
By J Scott Morrison - Published on Amazon.com
Four of the five DVDs on this compendium of Bach music have all been issued previously as singles. And those are still available for purchase singly at Amazon, though at the original prices by and large. I would suggest that anyone interested in this 'book' of DVDs could go to the individual product pages for its components and read the reviews there. I shall list them and include a link for each.

The packaging is interesting in that the five DVDs are arranged as five pages in a 'book', which is a clever idea. There is a booklet that simply lists the contents of each DVD, but no notes per se.

The DVDs are:

1) Brandenburg Concertos played by the Freiburger Barockorchester. There is also a bonus of some music by Gottfried von der Goltz. Brandenburg Concertos/Freiburger Barockorchester Superb performances on original instruments filmed in a lovely setting, the Hall of Mirrors in Cöthen.

2. Mass in B Minor with Georg Christoph Biller leading Leipzig's Gewandhaus Orchestra and the Thomaskirche Choir.
Bach - Mass in B Minor / Ruth Holton, Matthias Rexroth, Christoph Genz, Klaus Mertens, Georg Christoph Biller (Not reviewed at the link site.) Filmed in Bach's own church, with a great Gewandhaus Orchestra, this performance is not the equal, I fear, of the other DVD from Leipzig led by Herbert Blomstedt. But it is certainly acceptable.

3. Well-Tempered Clavier, Book 1 with the first half played by Andrei Gavrilov, the second half by Joanna MacGregor. I must point out that this is only half of the WTC as presented on
Bach - The Well Tempered Clavier 48 Preludes and Fugues / Hewitt, MacGregor, Demidenko, Gavrilow
that features two other pianists in Book II. Viedography (and costuming!) is artsy fartsy in the Gavrilov segment and his playing is mannered. MacGregor, though, is magnificent. There are thirteen reviews at the linked site.

4. Great Organ Works played by Klaus Mertens on two different organs of the period.
Ton Koopman Plays Bach Also includes Klaus Mertens, bass, in some songs. Koopman is one of the great organists of today and he doesn't let us down.

5. German Brass play Bach -- The German Brass is a magnificent ensemble who play arrangements of various Bach works. Although this is not Bach as Bach wrote it, it is nonetheless a fabulous set of performances. The DVD is listed on the box as 'special' and I wasn't able to find it listed separately at any common Internet site for DVDs, so it may be unique to this package. Almost worth the full price of all five DVDs in my opinion.

Picture format: NTSC - 16:9; Sound: PCM stereo, DD 5.1, DTS 5.1, Subtitles: English, German, French; Region: 0 (worldwide); Disc format: DVD 9; Running time: 8hrs,3mins

Scott Morrison

Look for similar items by category