CDN$ 42.95 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by Vanderbilt CA
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: VERY GOOD Condition CD. Includes all Artwork & Packaging. Ships from New York. Please allow 5-15 business days. Friendly Customer Service.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Bach:  the Well-Tempered Clavi
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Bach: the Well-Tempered Clavi

Price: CDN$ 42.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
2 new from CDN$ 42.95 1 used from CDN$ 37.95

Product Details

Disc: 1
1. Prelude No. 1 in C Major
2. Fugue No. 1 in C Major
3. Prelude No. 2 in C Minor
4. Fugue No. 2 in C Minor
5. Prelude No. 3 in C Sharp Minor
6. Fugue No. 3 in C Sharp Minor
7. Prelude No. 4 in C Sharp Major
8. Fugue No. 4 in C Sharp Minor
9. Prelude No. 5 in D Major
10. Fugue No. 5 in D Major
See all 26 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Prelude No. 14 in F Sharp Minor
2. Fugue No. 14 I F sharp minor
3. Prelude No. 15 in G Major
4. Fugue No. 15 in G Major
5. Prelude No. 16 in G Minor
6. Fugue No. 16 in G Minor
7. Prelude No. 17 in A flat major
8. Fugue No. 17 in A flat major
9. Prelude No. 18 in G-sharp minor
10. Fugue No. 18 in G-sharp minor
See all 22 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
Bach as Music July 26 2004
By JMB1014 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
For years I have grappled with Bach's WTC, the acknowledged Old Testament dispensation of the classical keyboard. But performances by Gould and Richter, while brilliant, never disclosed to me the profound unity and musicality of these pieces as a set. I found Horszowski several years ago playing Mozart piano quartets with the Budapest Quartet and later on a gorgeous rendition of Bach's second keyboard partita. He brings sublime insight, taste and delicacy to his playing. Whereas Gould is a genius in his own right, he never showed me how these preludes and fugues function as a single beautiful piece of music, as Horszowski does. Gould's sounded more like a set of exercises. Richter, my favorite pianist, plays each prelude and fugue with rare depth and passion: each is its own ballade, etude, tone poem or cantata under his fingers. Again, however, I never perceived how well the 24 function as a whole. Horszowski makes this a piece of exquisite, evocative music. I could not stop playing it. I give it five stars because this artist gives a new perspective to a familiar classic, accomplishing what Aristotle asked of art: that it delight and instruct. Horszowski does this, gracefully, without ostentation.