Ben Hogan's Secret and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Ben Hogan's Secret on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Ben Hogan's "Secret": A Fictionalized Biography [Paperback]

Bob Thomas


Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $3.31  
Hardcover --  
Paperback --  

Book Description

June 10 1997
Truly unique in both concept and approach, here is a fictionalized account of what made one of the finest golfers who has ever lived: the great Ben Hogan. A legend in his own time as well as today, Hogan is a four-time PGA Player of the Year, and one of only four persons to win all four Grand Slam titles. Much has been written about the mechanics of his game, but Hogans reclusive lifestyle has left millions of fans to merely speculate about his mental game and what made it one of the best in the sport. Now that secret is revealed.

By interweaving historical fact with careful deduction, author Bob Thomas offers a more complete picture of the whole man and shows just what it was that drove this indisputable master to achieve his spectacular records.

In the tradition of Golf in the Kingdom, Ben Hogans Secret is sure to be a hit with any golfing enthusiast.


Product Details


Product Description

About the Author

Bob Thomas is a writer and golf enthusiast who has read everything written by and about Ben Hogan, and whose portrait of Hogan has been authenticated by those who know and love the master. Thomas lives in Savannah, Georgia, and this is his first book.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.3 out of 5 stars  22 reviews
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hogan's Secret truly depicts "The man behind the mask" July 7 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Author Bob Thomas has written the first book about Ben Hogan that truly depicts "the man behind the mask". Stories abound about Hogan's coldness but nothing could be further from the truth. Naysayers should talk to the people who had direct contact with Hogan thru the various stages of his life as golfer, businessman, private citizen and devoted husband. They should read the numerous articles that were written following his death on July 28, 1997, especially "The Hogan I Knew" by Dan Jenkins, and other articles in the October 1997 issue of Golf Digest. Talk to members of Shady Oaks Country Club and citizens in the surrounding business community. Talk to Palmer, Nicklaus, Venturi, Kite, Harvey Ward and Byron Nelson. If you were able to do so, a picture of the real Ben Hogan would emerge and that man is the one depicted by Bob Thomas in Ben Hogan's secret.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ben Hogan's Secret - A Real Winner July 25 2003
By Golf Nut - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Author Bob Thomas has a real winner in Ben Hogan's Secret. This great fictionalized biography of Ben Hogan is more truth than fiction and portrays Hogan as the man he really was, a shy, caring individual who tried to avoid the limelight. Once I started reading this book I found it very difficult to put it down.
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Good Read July 12 2003
By tom fortier - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I read and enjoyed "Ben Hogan's Secret." I too read the first chapter on the website and decided to purchase the book. I enjoyed reading about the camaraderie between Hogan and Bobby Jones. It was interesting how Jones helped Hogan believe in himself as a golfer. I recommend adding this book to any golfer's library.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful journey through the life of a golf icon Oct. 19 2007
By goldeagle21 - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
A friend of mine received a copy of this book at a golf tournament and passed it along to me. Bob Thomas gives us a very real look at the life of Hogan that is both inspiring and emotional. For those few negative reivewers, this book is not meant to be a biography -- it is a literary portrait. If you are not inspired by the overall message of the book, then you are truly missing something. I was amazed at the presentation of Hogan's life in the way that makes my own seem not so bad. I'd recommend this work to any golf enthusiast looking for some motivation.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A Double Bogie May 1 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
The first reviewer gets it right. This book is a double bogie, lacking both depth and scope. I became frustrated and irritated with its oversimplication of Hogan and his character. If you want an excellent read concerning Ben Hogan pickup Curt Sampson's 'Hogan." Its an ace!
ARRAY(0xa5c5df84)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback