Bloodstone and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Bloodstone Hardcover – Sep 15 1994


See all 7 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 152.44 CDN$ 0.98

Best Canadian Books of 2014
Stone Mattress is our #1 Canadian pick for 2014. See all

Customers Who Viewed This Item Also Viewed



Product Details

  • Hardcover: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Legend paperbacks (Sept. 15 1994)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0099354713
  • ISBN-13: 978-0099354710
  • Product Dimensions: 23.4 x 15.4 x 3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 540 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #901,762 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

An enduring and compulsive epic . . . nobody writes better fantasy—STARBURST

The hardbitten champion of British heroic fantasy

Heroism and heartbreak . . . Gemmell is adrenalin with soul --This text refers to the Paperback edition.

From the Publisher

David Gemmell is so committed to his work that he's offered to leap naked out of an airplane if it would appeal to readers. We haven't taken him up on the offer. However, David has also acknowledged that three of his major influences were Louis Lamour, J.R.R. Tolkien, and Stan Lee. Tolkien wrote back, Lamour passed away before David had any opportunity to contact him, and Stan Lee lived thousands of miles away from David's British home. One out of three wasn't bad, but it could be improved upon.

We were at the San Diego ComicCon, rustling up new readers, and David had just finished a two-hour continuous signing. A friend of mine spotted a familiar face, so I excused myself and darted away, returning a few moments later to say, "David Gemmell, I'd like you to meet Stan Lee." A tall, ruddy, and normally poised individual, David was struck speechless. Here was the man who, through his Marvel Comics stories, had reinvented the relationship between heroes and villains, forever blurring the barriers between good and evil. Before long the two fantasists were chatting away happily. Stan's wife, Joan, being British, was especially gracious to the London-born Gemmell. And Stan quickly demanded an autographed copy of LEGEND.

David's a dynamic storyteller. His lands live and breathe. His heroes are mighty swordsmen, ax-wielders, and post-apocalyptic adventurers. In their prime they were the best in the business, but in David's tales, they've often passed their prime, so all they really want is peace and quiet. But life (and the author) aren't that kind, and these heroes are forced out of retirement, forced to face bloody hordes of the undead, armies from Hell. Worse, his heroes are generally saddled with young, green heroes. (Nothing drives you crazy more than a cocky kid.) But they overcome, and the cocky kids become heroes, too. This is great reading.
                                                                        --Steve Saffel, Senior Editor --This text refers to the Mass Market Paperback edition.

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
5
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

By A Customer on Aug. 16 2000
Format: Mass Market Paperback
David Gemmel create in Jon Shannow a character many would wish to become yet fall short. Because he is not a man who tries to become a legend rather someone who searches, like the antithesis of a hero in John Campbell's "Hero With a Thousand Faces" Shannow never sought glory, yet he has found that spark in every human being that makes him a hero. He realized at an early age that something is more important than himself. In his deeds he became something more than human, yet he is more human than many. You can flower the book and the character with alliterations and adjectives but the main core of Shannow is that of a haunted man yet duty bound to fulfill all that he will ever be no matter what the circumstance.
One cannot read the fifth book in the bloodstone novels and not have some form of reaction. For many will be wondered by the vivid characters Gemmel writes to the detailed battle sequences he describes. Yet there is more to this book than great writing, the struggles are real, we face them every day. We all see a bit of ourselves in the Jerusalem man from the desire for peace to his knowledge and ability to survive no matter the tribulation. He will inspire you and he will force you to question your soul.
Gemmel is truly a great story teller who has the ability to tell vivid worlds in just a few worlds. I have read many of his works this was my favorite, the Jerusalem Man my favorite. This story both saddened me and enlightened me.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By A Customer on Feb. 9 1998
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This was not only the first Gemmell book I read, but also one of the only books in my lifetime that I have purchased by back-cover blurb alone, and I have to say this book blew my mind. Not only were the chractors extremely well written (as are all of Gemmell's charactors. I found myself actually caring for them) but this book contains one of the most amazing endings I have ever read in a novel. The way Gemmell seamlessly weaves a futuristic western setting with fantastic magic, dark Christianity and Atlantean myth is unearthly. In fact, this book made me buy every one of David's books without reading the backs - and I have not been disappointed. Do I have to say more? READ THIS BOOK!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Just when you think you've got Gemmell figured out, he turns the tables on you. Fans of Gemmell and Jon Shannow might find the book a bit slow at first, and something of a retread of previous Jerusalem Man tales, but be patient...the master has got some great surprises up his sleeve! Readers unfamiliar with Shannow are strongly advised to go back and read the previous Stones of Power books before this one. You won't be disappointed. Gemmell is one of the most important fantasy writers of the late 20th century!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Look for similar items by category


Feedback