Blue Monday: A Frieda Klein Mystery (Freida Klein) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
CDN$ 3.00
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Acceptable | Details
Condition: Used: Acceptable
Comment: FREE TRACKING/DELIVERY CONFIRMATION ON ALL ORDERS!! A used book that may have some cosmetic wear (i.e. shelf-wear, slightly torn or missing dust jacket, dented corner...) All text in great shape! Ships Safe, Secure, & Fast! 100% MONEY BACK GUARANTEE!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Blue Monday: A Novel Hardcover – Mar 6 2012


See all 20 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 32.21 CDN$ 2.99
Audio CD
"Please retry"
CDN$ 64.89

Gifts For Dad




Product Details

  • Hardcover: 336 pages
  • Publisher: Pamela Dorman Books; 1 edition (March 6 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 9780670023363
  • ISBN-13: 978-0670023363
  • ASIN: 0670023361
  • Product Dimensions: 16.1 x 2.9 x 23.7 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 522 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #197,986 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“Fast-paced and spooky…it leaves readers with the promise of intriguing tales to come.”
—People (****)


“A neat puzzle with a satisfying resolution and a terrific twist at the end.”
The New York Times Book Review


 “A superb psychological thriller…With its brooding atmosphere, sustained suspense, last-minute plot twist, and memorable cast of characters, this series debut will leave readers eager to discover what color Tuesday will be.”
Publishers Weekly, starred review


“With its smart plot, crisp prose, and a stunning final twist, this is psychological suspense at its best. Absolutely riveting.”
Booklist, starred review

“This is psychological suspense done right. The authors pace themselves and build the tension slowly while carefully developing each of the players. For fans of Tana French’s and Lisa Gardner’s moody, dark, twisty thrillers.”
Library Journal


“A searing psychological thriller in the rich vein of Kate Atkinson and Laura Lippman, Blue Monday is powerful and gripping—a page-turner with heart and soul.  Psychotherapist Frieda Klein is an enormously appealing new series hero.”
Joseph Finder, bestselling author of Buried Secrets



 “Unrelenting …unnerving…unforgettable. Psychological dynamite.”
Alan Bradley, bestselling author of The Sweetness at the Bottom of the Pie


“Complex and flawed, Frieda Klein is a refreshingly human protagonist, an intriguing debut for a truly unique character.”
Tami Hoag, bestselling author of Down the Darkest Road





About the Author

Nicci French is the pseudonym for the internationally bestselling writing partnership of suspense writers Nicci Gerrard and Sean French. They are married and live in Suffolk and London, England.

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By Darlene TOP 500 REVIEWER on April 27 2012
Format: Hardcover
I received this audiobook for review from the publisher. I did not receive any compensation for my review, and the views expressed herein are my own.

The prologue sets out the circumstances surrounding the abduction of 5 year-old Joanna Vine, who is never found. Joanna's parents split up, and her mom remarries and seems to have moved on with her life. Her dad, on the other hand, cannot move on and is so wrapped up in his grief that he still waits every day for news that Joanna's body has been found. Joanna's sister, Rose, who was supposed to be watching Joanna at the time of her disappearance (and was then only 9 years old) blames herself and is riddled with guilt.

Frieda Klein is a psychologist living in London, England. Psychology has always intrigued me and, if I was ever to go into the medical field, psychology would be my area of study. One of Frieda's patients has been having dreams about a red-haired boy with freckles. When he shows Frieda a childhood picture of himself, she thinks that he is just seeing himself as a childhood boy in his dreams. However, when five year-old Matthew Farraday goes missing, Freida cannot forget her patient's dream about a red-haired, freckled boy...just like Matthew. He also revealed that he felt a similar obsession for a young girl when he was in his early 20s, and then it just went away. Now, these intense feelings have returned and a young boy has gone missing. Are the two abductions related, and is her patient involved?

What I loved most about this book is how flawed all of the characters are. Frieda is a woman who is as in need of psychological help as her patients! One of my favourite characters is Josef, a Ukrainian carpenter who falls through the ceiling of Freida's office while doing repairs on the floor above.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Luanne Ollivier #1 HALL OF FAMETOP 10 REVIEWER on March 27 2012
Format: Hardcover
3.5/5

Blue Monday marks the start of a new series from bestselling husband and wife team Nicci French.

Frieda Klein is a psychotherapist in London, England. She is a private person, who keeps her own emotions and life tightly in check.

One of her latest patients has been having dreams . Dreams where he 'obtains' a son - a red haired little boy that he describes in great detail.

"She thought of all the secrets she had been told over the years, all those illicit thoughts, desires, fears that people gave to her for safe keeping. ...she had always carried them with a sense of privilege, that people allowed her to see their fears, allowed her to be their light."

But when little red headed Matthew Farraday goes missing and the details are eerily like her patient described, Frieda feels she has no choice but to go to the police with her concerns.

Detective Chief Inspector Malcolm Karlsson is the other protagonist in this series. He's a bit all over the map, but is a likable character who will grow into his role I believe.

I found the opening of this book to be a bit slow. Indeed, I started it, read about 50 pages and put it down. It was only on picking it up a second time, that it really got good for me. I did found it hard to believe that Josef, a carpenter who falls through Frieda's office ceiling becomes such an important and trusted confidante in her life. On the other hand, it does speak volumes about her personal life. Other characters, such as her niece Chloe, don't overly add to the story, but seem to have been to lay the background for further books.

French has crafted an excellent plot. I don't want to give any of it away, but it truly was unique.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By Myckyee on March 11 2012
Format: Hardcover
If I belonged to a mystery/thriller book club, Blue Monday would be an excellent choice for the club read. There are so many things going on in this book that would lead to good discussions. Is such and such character really who they claim to be? What is the main character's real motivation? What is she hiding? There are so many questions and it would be fun to get other opinions, so I'll be reading other reviews aside from mine. I can't imagine however that I will read a bad review!

Blue Monday kept me awake until the wee hours on Sunday night and made me late for work (yes, I blame it on the book!) the next morning. Not because I slept in too late but because I picked it up again in the morning and just had to finish those last fifty pages!

The premise is an interesting one: a psychotherapist suspects one of her patients is involved in the disappearance of a young boy. What the therapist does with her suspicions leads the reader on an ever-deepening mystery about what exactly is going on. Meanwhile, the boy is still missing. There are lighter moments too in the form of a builder from the Ukraine. He conveys a humorously solemn feeling to the scenes he is in.

Blue Monday is a must-read for mystery and thriller fans and for those who haven't tried that genre yet. This book has just the right amount of creepiness. It's got what I call the 'chill' factor in spades: that feeling you get when you thought you knew what was going on but come to the slow realization that there was something else eerily creepy taking place right under your nose. This is an engrossing read and one I highly recommend.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.


Feedback