Breaking Night and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Breaking Night on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Breaking Night: A Memoir of Forgiveness, Survival, and My Journey from Homeless to Harvard [Hardcover]

Liz Murray
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (6 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover --  
Paperback CDN $13.00  
Audio, CD, Audiobook, CD, Unabridged CDN $28.97  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Sept. 7 2010
In the vein of The Glass Castle, Breaking Night is the stunning memoir of a young woman who at age fifteen was living on the streets, and who eventually made it into Harvard.

Liz Murray was born to loving but drug-addicted parents in the Bronx. In school she was taunted for her dirty clothing and lice-infested hair, eventually skipping so many classes that she was put into a girls' home. At age fifteen, Liz found herself on the streets when her family finally unraveled. She learned to scrape by, foraging for food and riding subways all night to have a warm place to sleep.

When Liz's mother died of AIDS, she decided to take control of her own destiny and go back to high school, often completing her assignments in the hallways and subway stations where she slept. Liz squeezed four years of high school into two, while homeless; won a New York Times scholarship; and made it into the Ivy League. Breaking Night is an unforgettable and beautifully written story of one young woman's indomitable spirit to survive and prevail, against all odds.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

"Murray tells an engaging, powerfully motivational story." ---Publishers Weekly Starred Review --This text refers to the MP3 CD edition.

About the Author

LIZ MURRAY was left homeless at age 15 after her mother's death from AIDS. She fended for herself on the streets, eventually returning to high school. She was accepted into Harvard, where she attended college classes for three years before taking time off to help her father, who died of AIDS. She returned to college, and is now taking graduate courses at Harvard. Liz gives speaking engagements around the country. A movie about her life, Homeless to Harvard, was made by Lifetime in 2003, and airs frequently.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse and search another edition of this book.
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.7 out of 5 stars
4.7 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Good March 8 2013
By Sacora
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
The backing was really worn but it was still readable. The content in the book is awesome. Liz Murray is brilliant for what she went through.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring Nov. 5 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Very interesting read! Really made me feel how we can choose the way we live with the choices we make.
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Audio CD
A unique true life's story of the roller-coaster rides of this woman's heart from infancy to homelessness and owning nothing to being a Harvard-educated Psychologist.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback