Bronfman/Rattle;S-Berlin ... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Bronfman/Rattle;S-Berlin Phil [Import]
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Bronfman/Rattle;S-Berlin Phil [Import]

Price: CDN$ 29.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
15 new from CDN$ 24.07 4 used from CDN$ 32.62
CDN$ 29.99 & FREE Shipping. Details Only 1 left in stock (more on the way). Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.

Product Details

  • Actors: Yefim Bronfman
  • Directors: Henning Kasten
  • Format: AC-3, Classical, Color, Dolby, DTS Surround Sound, DVD-Video, Widescreen, NTSC, Import
  • Language: English
  • Subtitles: German, English, French
  • Region: All RegionsAll Regions
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.78:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • MPAA Rating: NR
  • Studio: Euroarts
  • Release Date: Nov. 17 2009
  • Run Time: 104 minutes
  • ASIN: B002P9K9T6

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 10 reviews
20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Fantastic music and performances, poor editing! July 9 2010
By T. Q. Nguyen - Published on
Verified Purchase
I am sorry to bring the rating of this product down. However, I think people who are considering buying this DVD should know what I experience. The performances are indeed wonderful, especially Bronfman's playing is larger than life. The sound and picture quality are great EXCEPT the sound and picture are not in sync most of the time, probably a result of integrating many camera angles. One would think the technologies nowadays would have no problem resolving the issue but it is not the case here. And this drove me nut, I had to close my eyes to enjoy the concert. If you want to see how bad it is, maybe clips on YouTube would give you some ideas. The picture is usually behind the sound in most views. The conductor's view seems to be the only one that is in sync with the sound.
15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
Singing in the rain with sir simon and the waldbuhne volks Dec 28 2009
By R. Schaad - Published on
Verified Purchase
I had the great pleasure to be at this concert on father's day June 21, 2009 with my daughter. The sun was out for the first half but rain began during the intermission. Sir Simon and the Berlin Philharmonic began the concert with the opening of the Nutcracker by Tchaikovsky followed by the Rachmaninoff third piano concerto with Yefim Bronfman. During the intermission the rain began but the concert continued with the Stravinsky Rite of Spring with the rain on and off. The encore was the Pas de Deux from the Nutcracker with Sir Simon's comment about Singing in the Rain. The rain continued as the concert ended with the ever popular Berliner Luft. I sang along with the 20,000 plus listeners as we all Sang in the Rain. The concert was available for a short time on the Medici web site and it was broadcast live on the German RBB network of which I was lucky enough to get a copy. The broadcast included interviews with both Bronfman and Sir Simon. The only other Waldbuhne concert I know of with the rain was the Abbado concert of 1996, another classic. What we heard was, of course, coming from the loudspeakers which included twelvw sub-woofers so the sound we heard was similar to what is on the DVD. I own most of the Waldbuhne DVDs and this one will be one I will never forget.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
Great playing, intrusive noise Aug. 9 2010
By Clive S. Goodwin - Published on
Verified Purchase
This is the most exciting Rach 3 on dvd that I have seen/heard. Bonfman is truly amazing in this. However, the sound is not so great, as one might expect from a huge outdoor venue. In fact, I get no sound at all from my center channel with dts or dolby surround (not a problem with other discs).However there's no problem hearing a baby crying with gusto towards the end of the first movement. I would love to hear this combination in a real concert hall absent reluctant infant concertgoers. Even with the shortcomings, this is worth having just to watch and hear Bronfman.

The Rite of Spring was disappointing, probably due to the acoustics. It was just flat-sounding, not much instrumental separation or oomph. For a hair-raising Rite, get Tilson-Thomas in his Keeping Score series - outstanding performance, sound and camera work. This was really well produced - perfect sync zeroing in on players at the exact time they're playing their part.

About the above comments on extraneous noises - There is a Rattle/BPO with Barenboim playing Brahms' first piano concerto,where you can hear birds singing along throughout. Pity they can't edit these things out.

BUT - once again, get this for Bronfman!
7 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Apres moi, le deluge Jan. 7 2010
By Zarathustra - Published on
Verified Purchase
I love the Waldbuhne concerts, held annually in a Berlin amphitheater modeled on the Greek one at Epidaurus, but last year's version featuring the Russians was the most spectacular yet. Under the somewhat puckish Liverpudlian (aka Scouser) Simon Rattle's direction, the concert began under the sun with excerpts from The Nutcracker. Then the Russian bear Yefim Bronfman appeared onstage to play the thunderous Rach 3, the piano concerto that all others aspire to be. Ominous black clouds appeared overhead as the sun sank in the west. A baby's cries heralded the coming storm and Bronfman paused for a minute, then began pounding the keys even harder.
Then under light rain the Berlin Philharmonic began to play Stravinsky's Rite of Spring, a ballet based on pagan rhythms which caused a riot at its premiere in Paris. Soon the sky opened up and everyone got wet. They loved it. After all, what fun is Berlin in June without a rainstorm?
As is the custom, the concert ended with the orchestra playing Berliner Luft, with all the wet attendees singing along and enjoying themselves immensely.
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
By Joseph Falotico - Published on
Verified Purchase
Simon Rattle, conducting the Berlin Philharmonic in the huge ampitheater, Waldbuhne, outside of Berlin, gives the viewer a healthy dose of great Russian classics. The program opens with Igor Stravinsky's pagan Rite of Spring, with its frightening music of human sacrifice. This is followed by Sergei Rachmaninoff's Third Piano concerto, played for all it's worth by Yefim Bronfman. Closing the program are charming excerpts from Peter Tchaikovsky's, The Nutcracker. It's a grand program, beautifully played by the Berliners, with good sound and visuals. It should be in every music lover's library.