Bruckner: Symphony No.4 has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Bruckner: Symphony No.4

Price: CDN$ 21.95 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
10 new from CDN$ 21.95 2 used from CDN$ 27.65

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 1 2004)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Testament
  • ASIN: B0001XLXAM
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #226,047 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9d3ed630) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d4f3204) out of 5 stars Into the Forest one more time with Kna Oct. 16 2012
By Bernard Michael O'Hanlon - Published on
All things come to an end. That includes boozing, shagging and bootleg tapes of Hans Knappertsbusch. Yes, much to the relief of the local wowsers, the Melbourne International Festival of Kna is finally winding down. Last night was our final event - the Kna lookalike contest. Mirroring the Hemingway contest in Key West, we were inundated by any number of Kna lookalikes; the main prerequisites seemed to be (a) wear a cowboy hat (b) smoke incessantly (c) utter bon mots (d) be surly in general and (e) imprecate and mock Herbert von Karajan in equal measure. Having pale blue eyes went down well with the judges (the musicologists from downtown Saigon). Everyone is flying out today with plenty of memories and souvenirs (speaking of which, those poor buggers who contracted `red spots on the undercarriage' should visit the clinic when they reach home).

The last recording to be considered is Kna's 1954 account of Bruckner's Romantic Symphony with the Vienna Philharmonic. With the exception of a major infelicity at 8'58" in the first movement, it is better played than the 1944 (Berlin Philharmonic) and 1964 (Vienna) alternatives; unlike these other instances, the horn-players do not fail him here. As per usual, a Schalk edition is in play (the number of cymbal crashes seem to be multiplying in the finale). The mono sound is not without detail or ambience but it is never a good sign when double-negatives are in play. This recording will never win an audiophile award: it's wanting in amplitude. Testament has maximised its baseline.

Kna never dawdles as a Brucknerian. As a sucker for slow Bruckner Fourths, I am starting to wonder whether that ultimately counts against him in the Romantic, particularly in the first movement. To my taste, Kna is a tad brisk even if his mastery is never in doubt (the central episode of 6'33" - 11'28" works perfectly well even if pomp and circumstance are more in play than mysticism). While different editions apply, Kna surveys the first movement in 17'59" where as Celibidache takes 22'42" in his live performance from Vienna: this is an abyss. As per usual in this stupendous work, Kna is at his best in the slow movement which is unerringly paced and climaxed. The Scherzo is delightful, being bucolic and rambunctious in turns (I am not sure what in the hell Schalk did at 4'31" but it is not ineffective in any way).

If, Bruckner-wise, there is a Knights of the Round Table, Kna sits in a pride of place and more so for his magellanic traversals of the Third, Seventh, Eighth and Ninth Symphonies than his surveys of the Fourth and Fifth. This Testament disc is a worthwhile acquisition but I prefer the wartime performance of the Romantic with the Berlin Philharmonic from October 1944 (Bruckner: Symphony No. 4 in E flat, "Romantic") where a longing for majesty and transfiguration are the order of the day.

Until next year, provided the authorities do not shut us down!
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d4e65c4) out of 5 stars Kna's Brilliant Bruckner, But... Sept. 21 2006
By Michael Brad Richman - Published on
Lately I've been buying fewer Testament CDs -- with the new higher list price it's simply too hard to justify buying so many historical recordings, particularly when competing series like DG's "Musik...Sprache der Welt" (see my reviews) offer similar titles for 60% less money. However, there are exceptions to every rule, and when I came across a used copy of this Bruckner 4th by the great Hans Knappertsbusch in NYC a few months back, I simply couldn't pass it up. This revised version of the "Romantic" Symphony was recorded with the Vienna Philharmonic in mono in 1955, originally for Decca. Through Kna's other performances -- a 5th in the Decca Classic Sound series, and an 8th on MCA/Westminster, both now OOP -- I knew he was one of the great Brucknerians of the LP era, and this recording is similarly inspired. My only concern with this release comes from the fact that so many Decca titles being licensed out to Testament are beginning to show up a few years later in Decca/Universal's own "Original Masters" box sets. After plunking down nearly $70 for the three recent Kna Testament reissues, what's to say that the same won't happen with these recordings -- that they'll be available in a couple of years time, for half the price along with the aforementioned OOP Bruckner 5th and 8th and much more, as "Hans Knappertsbusch: The Complete Decca & Westminster Recordings." Ah, I guess this is the classical connoisseur's conundrum! But in the meantime, this is brilliant Bruckner, even if you have to buy it again later.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9d2aae04) out of 5 stars A Bruckner 4th that is one of the best Nov. 1 2011
By Ross Scimeca - Published on
Verified Purchase
I remember this recording when it first came out on London/Decca LP. The CD transfer is very good. Very few conductors were able to bring the passion and spiritual depth to Bruckner that Knappertsbusch did. Highly recommended.