CDN$ 38.95 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Vanderbilt CA

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Canciones Amatorias

Price: CDN$ 38.95
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Vanderbilt CA.
4 used from CDN$ 11.99

Artists to Watch
Artists to Watch
Be the first to hear about the hottest emerging artists. Featuring ten new artists each month, Artists to Watch will help you stay in the know when it comes to up-and-coming artists. See all of this month's picks

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Aug. 6 2002)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Hyperion UK
  • ASIN: B0000682WC
  • Average Customer Review: 3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #337,132 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. Granados: Descubrase el pensamiento
2. Granados: Mananica era
3. Granados: Llord, corazon, que teneis razon
4. Granados: Mira que soy nina
5. Granados: No lloreis, ojuelos
6. Granados: Iban al pinar
7. Granados: Gracia mia
8. Granados: Oh muerte cruel!
9. Granados: Ay! Majo de mi vida
10. Granados: De aquel majo amante
11. Rodrigo: Pastorcito santo
12. Rodrigo: Coplillas de Belen
13. Rodrigo: Por mayo era
14. Rodrigo: Adela
15. Rodrigo: Cancion del Duero
16. Nin: Asturiana
17. Nin: El pano murciano
18. Nin: El vito
19. Guastavino: La rosa y el sauce
20. Guastavino: Cita
See all 27 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

This recital was a mixed blessing. The program is well chosen. The music is exciting and alluring, accessible yet rare enough to be attractive to travelers along the byways of song. The performances are beautiful and thoughtful. Fink's tone is consistently attractive, her technique and ornamentation are impressive. But there are essential Spanish elements missing. Rhythms are not accented, with scarcely any rubato in evidence. She does not bite into her consonants or relish the typical Spanish sounds like "ll," "j," and "y." Part of the problem is in the foursquare playing of Roger Vignoles on the piano. In any case, the songs are captivating and Bernarda Fink's expressiveness is beautiful but undermined by this lack of flair. Though less effective than her debut art song recorded of Schumann Lieder on harmonia mundi, this remains nonetheless a record of lasting appeal.
The program is of love songs offered from the perspective of man, woman, and third person. This music is so rarely heard and worth hearing as to make the disc self-recommending. Spanish composers lean more toward collections than narrative cycles, and here we have some collections presented in full and some excerpted. Spanish art song conveys a rich bittersweetness, stretching the ear with tangy chromaticisms and veiled harmonies, their unsettling effect kept within bounds by recognizable rhythms, modulations, melismas, and other characteristic flourishes. Refined, yes, but never too distant from its popular variants.
The Granados collection that begin the disk has the first 5 songs rather centered on the pains of love, from different angles: deeply sympathetic narrator, a girl in the torments of young love, one man rueful, another wry and cynical.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Look for similar items by category