Canticle: The Cleric Quintet, Book I and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Buy Used
CDN$ 0.01
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow 2 to 3 weeks for delivery.  Book shows minor use. Cover and Binding have minimal wear and the pages have only minimal creases. A tradition of quality and service.
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Canticle: The Cleric Quintet, Book One Mass Market Paperback – Jan 1 2000


See all 8 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, Jan 1 2000
CDN$ 17.66 CDN$ 0.01



Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 320 pages
  • Publisher: Wizards of the Coast (Jan. 1 2000)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0786916044
  • ISBN-13: 978-0786916047
  • Product Dimensions: 10.7 x 2.2 x 17.4 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 181 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.2 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (25 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #1,456,898 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
The green-robed druid issued a series of chit-chits and clucks, but the white-furred squirrel seemed oblivious to it all, sitting on a branch in the towering oak tree high above the three men. Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars

Most helpful customer reviews

By Ather on July 27 2003
Format: Mass Market Paperback
I really regret that I didn't read this sooner... I was a big fan of the Forgotten Realms and of RA Salvatore but I wasn't sure I should read this book. I wasted too much time worrying that I would be disappointed by the absence of Drizzt and Salvatore's other characters. But when I read this I kicked myself... it was awesome
Inventive Cadderly, Dangerous Danica, and the amazing Bouldershoulder brothers are so lifelike (or as lifelike as fantasy beings can seem) They act like real people. They have desires and buried dreams like everyone. And the best part is that the villian and his chaos curse depend on such hidden wants.
Though this book isn't all about sword swinging and killing the action is set at a good pace, just so that you'll keep reading but not so that you feel overwhealmed.
Please read this book, above everything else it is fun, that same element that draws you to Drizzt is ever present. In the Cleric Quintet Salvatore proves that he can and will bust out new characters that are just as amazing and loveable as the old ones. Don't pass this by now, you'll regret not reading it later
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
When I think of a fantasy setting, whether it be in the tradition of Tolkien's, "Lord of the Rings," (see my reviews of this excellent novel), Arthurian legend or a Dungeon's & Dragons (D&D) game, I think of underground catacombs, caves and other such places. The unexpected setting for this novel is a library, with a priest (cleric) as its protagonist.
I have played D&D for some time and I enjoy the interactive story-telling aspect of it. I was unsure how this element of the game would translate into a novel. While there was one or two plot devices in this novel that I didn't particularly like, I enjoyed it overall. This novel forms the first part of a five-part series. The main character, Cadderly, is a cleric of Deneir (god of knowledge and beauty) was abandoned as an orphan to live in the Edificant Library. He subsequently develops into an accomplished scholar (Salvatore never lets you forget it; he constantly refers to Cadderly as "the young scholar") at the Library.
While I recognized some of the plot right away, it was nonetheless an interesting. I'm reading this novel as part of the 1000 page "Cleric Quintet, Collector's Edition." The author's foreword is interesting; he discusses the meetings he had prior to writing to the book and of one interesting letter he received from a reader. The reader is a born-again Christian who congratulated Salvatore on his portrayal of Cadderly; the reader says that Cadderly's stuggle with religious duty and with doubt paralleled that of his one life.
As I continue to read through the series, the inner turmoil that affects Cadderly slowly becomes more apparent. He begins his life as a scholar who rarely ventured beyond the walls of the Library and slowly changes into an adventurer.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
By A Customer on Jan. 22 2002
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This amazing story takes place in the "Shining Plains." A place of good and evil. The Edificiant Library is where most parts of this book takes place. The main characters are Cadderly a young Cleric, Newander a Druid, Danica a Monk, and Abbalister an Evil Wizard, Druzil his trusted Imp, and the greatest of all evil Barjin! Also Ivan and Pikel two Dwarven brothers. In one part of the book Cadderly, Ivan, and Pikel fight off skeletons and Pikel takes his anteler helmet and rams the skeletons in to the wall. Also, there is a part when Danica jumps in to the air and kicks a ghoul in the face, and sends it's jaw sailing and it's head spins. This book is filled with Action, Adventure, Magic, Drama, and Suspense. You'll be amazed and be reading and reading this great fantasy adventure. I think you should read this book which is a part of the "Forgotten Realms" book collection. They are sold at "Borders" or online. I hope you enjoyed this book review, I found these stories extraordinary
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Canticle, Book 1 of the Cleric Quintet - R. A. Salvatore
A Review
Are you speculating on whether or not you should read the Cleric Quintet? If so, this is the best review to read. I have read the entire series, and spent long amounts of time speculating upon the nature of the series and its author. On Salvatore, I have much to say. First of all, I don't see why he's so popular. Or unique. Or why his writing is sophisticated. Or original.
Sure, he did create Drizzt, and Cadderly, too. (Cadderly, being the main character of this book!) But what does that mean? I've read the Dark Elf Series (in which Drizzt stars in) and the Cleric Quintet, and I fail to see what's so great about Salvatore. Let me explain: what's so great about Drizzt and Cadderly? They are typical, boring, unoriginal heroes. Cadderly, I despise, because of his flawless, Mary-Sue nature.
I have yet to see Robert come up with some really original, enjoyable material, rather than the generic Forgotten Realms stuff he keeps on pumping out. Keep in mind, however, that I haven't read any of his Demon Wars books, which actually sound quite promising.
Perhaps the reason I have such enmity towards Salvatore is because he just doesn't compare to Ed Greenwood, the real Forgotten Realms creator. Plus, I love Elminster the mage, who Ed writes about. True, Greenwood's books take a while to get into, but I don't mind that, and I find such detail enjoyable, even.
Salvatore's writing is so tired and similar to his other books, that I'm sick of it. No, I'm not exaggerating. If you look at all of his series, they have more parallels with each other than you might suspect.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews



Feedback