Cat Coming Home: A Joe Grey Mystery (Joe Grey Mysteries) and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Cat Coming Home: A Joe Grey Mystery (Joe Grey Mysteries) on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Cat Coming Home [Mass Market Paperback]

Shirley R Murphy
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)
List Price: CDN$ 9.50
Price: CDN$ 9.02 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
You Save: CDN$ 0.48 (5%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Wednesday, September 17? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $17.51  
Paperback, Large Print CDN $17.51  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $9.02  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Nov. 14 2011 Joe Grey Mysteries

“One of the most entrancing (and effective) detectives in modern cozy mysteries.”
Booklist

A celebration for cat lovers and mystery aficionados alike, Cat Coming Home—the 16th appearance of feline detective Joe Gray—is a holiday gift from acclaimed author Shirley Rousseau Murphy. Join tomcat Joe and his furry friends, Dulcie and Kit, as they set out to solve a deadly Christmas mystery in Molena Point with the aid of a lonely prison cat. Superior detective fiction with a purr-fectly delightful twist, Cat Coming Home is a dazzling blend of charm and suspense from nine-time Cat Writers’ Association Award winner Murphy. Fans of Lilian Jackson Braun, Rita Mae Brown, and Carole Nelson Douglas, take note!


Frequently Bought Together

Cat Coming Home + Cat Telling Tales
Price For Both: CDN$ 18.04

  • Cat Telling Tales CDN$ 9.02

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

“[A] marvelous holiday gift of a tale.” (Publishers Weekly (starred review) on Cat Coming Home)

“A heartwarming and satisfying tale.” (Booklist on Cat Coming Home)

“The heartwrenching stories of an orphaned child and a stray cat at Christmas will tug on more than a few heartstrings.” (Romantic Times on Cat Coming Home)

“This is delightful entertainment. It would be a true cat-tastrophe if you let it pass you by.” (Todd David Schwartz, CBS Radio, Four Stars (Highest Rating) on Cat Coming Home)

From the Back Cover

“That was no accident.”

Escaping Los Angeles and theugly memories of her son’s recentmurder, Maudie Toola returns to her childhood home of Molena Point with her orphaned grandson, facing the upcoming Christmas holiday with trepidation. But she is not aware that the small seaside village is being plagued by a series of brutal attacks on single women . . . orthat the heartless fiend who shattered her world hasfollowed her here.

Feline sleuth Joe Grey and his cat pals have a lot on their dish this holiday season, and it overflows when an elderly wandering tomcat appears on the scene bearing an important message from a state prisoner for the chief of police. But this lonely old cat also has a personal agenda—as does Maudie Toola, who knows more than she’s telling about her son’s killer.


Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

Customer Reviews

3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
4.5 out of 5 stars
4.5 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars Aug. 17 2014
Format:Mass Market Paperback|Verified Purchase
terrific, love this series
Was this review helpful to you?
By Gail Cooke TOP 50 REVIEWER
Format:Hardcover
Shirley Rousseau Murphy has garnered legions of fans with her cat sleuth P.I. Joe Grey and the feline he fancies, Dulcie - she's sure to win more with the 16th in this award winning series, CAT COMING HOME. Murphy manages to fill her stories with sufficient amounts of mystery, mayhem and murder to satisfy and still keep it within the bounds of believable feline activity. (So says this owner of two cats who rule not only the roost but our hearts, too). Now, if there are naysayers claiming that talking cats are farfetched, just read a Joe Grey mystery, and you'll find yourself chatting with them.

In the most horrific murder imaginable Maudie Toola's son and daughter-in-law are suddenly shot to death while driving a lonely road on their way to the mountains near Lake Arrowhead. Maudie and three children are in the backseat; she glimpsed the passenger in the big pickup for just a second, and saw 'the gleam of metal, too, and shoved the children to the floor, crouching down over them as a fiery blast exploded and another.' Blessedly their lives were saved.

Now, eight months later, still reeling from the trauma of that night, Maudie is moving back to her childhood home, Molena Point. She brings her orphaned grandson, Benny, with her while knowing she must now raise him and make life as good for the child as she can.

A gray tomcat watches their arrival; something about Maudie has aroused his curiosity. 'Something out of keeping, an attitude that didn't seem to fit this gentle person.....' Little did Joe know that his interest in Maudie would soon involve murders, a stabbing at the state prison, and the fearsome home invasions that had suddenly begun in once peaceful Molena Point.

Could the vicious killer have tracked Maudie and Benny to this seaside village?

- Gail Cooke
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.6 out of 5 stars  73 reviews
19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars entertaining holiday mystery Oct. 28 2010
By Harriet Klausner - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
In Los Angeles, the murders of her son and daughter-in-law shake Maudie Toola's equilibrium as even her bone marrow feels numb in shock. However, she has no time to grieve her loss as she must make the holidays uplifting for her grandson Benny who witnessed the double homicides. Maudie and Benny move to her childhood home Molena Point, California.

However, the town has its problems as criminals have broken into homes and assaulted women throughout the small village. Police chief Max Harper struggles with the attacks as they are seemingly random and he lacks the manpower to handle them. At the same time the L.A. killer has followed Maudie and Ben to Molena Point. Apparently Christmas may not be coming to town this year; as even Joel Grey, Dulcie and Kit fail to help Max until a hardened elderly stray arrives with a message for the cats and the cop. .

This is an entertaining holiday mystery in which Benny and the visiting tomcat add a special warmth to the tale. Both subplots are fully developed so long time fans feel sympathy for the Toola twosome and shock that Joel and associates fail to connect the dots. Shirley Rousseau Murphy provides her myriad of fans with a very merry Christmas tale.

Harriet Klausner
11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Win for Joe Grey Nov. 7 2010
By Kindle Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover|Verified Purchase
The latest installment of the Joe Grey mysteries is very hard to lay down. The family that Shirley Rousseau Murphy has created with Joe, Dulcie, and Kit and their people: Clyde and Ryan, Wilma, Charlie and Max, and Lucinda and Pedric just keeps getting stronger. Each novel picks up the threads left at the end of the previous book and weaves a new tapestry of myriad images that are so colorful and rich that Dulcie would be rolling in delight on them. Once again the cats save the day but it's the manner in which they do it that sucks a reader down until one comes up for air several hours later. That time is not begrudged since the world of Molina Point invites one to stay. My only regret with this novel is that I finished it so soon and will have to wait a year for the next novel. Bravo Shirley and bravo Joe, Dulcie, and Kit for once again making the village safe for those who are innocent of heart and making me smile with complete satisfaction.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as ever -- go, Shirley, go, Joe Grey! Nov. 5 2010
By Barbara Darrah - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Another heart-warming Molena Point mystery, with just the right mix of animal and people protagonists -- the bad ones, you will find, this time, entirely on the people side). I am delighted give away this much . . . ;-)
Tenderly-drawn portraits of kids in distress (succoured by family, friends and cats and saved, halleluya!), people on either side of the law (a differentiation that only _they_ may choose to make, in some cases) and those fabulous feline talking sleuths who contribute their unique talents to the work the police is doing -- defying all odds, and putting everything right for the good of the good people, before Christms Eve.
A wonderful, warm book for the holidays, especially for all of us who love Carmel, Joe Grey and his two- and four-footed heros.
Thank you, Shirley Rousseau Murphy, for managing to keep up the tradition!
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cat Coming Home Nov. 2 2011
By Linda Chase - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I loved this book, for a lot of personal reasons, but mainly I love what she has done with the cats personalities. Little Kit with her adventuresome streak is such a delight. And with each new cat she enters in to the series such as Jade, Willow etc.etc. they have such terrific personalities.Joe is so cool and Dulcie with her dragging fine clothes home from the neighbors reminds me of the Clepto Cat who has been in the news recently.
I like that the books have become very warm and cozy, her first books went into killing prey too often & in to much detail. But her more recent books have been such a pleasure to read. I just loved little old Misto & how he found his way home and back to Dr.Fereti . I read cat mysterys because I love cats, they give so much love and warmth to me and fellow cat lovers & Shirley Murphy gives us this as well as wonderful mysterys. Linda C.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very Charming July 28 2013
By SCL - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is the first book of this series that I have read and I was truly charmed. I am a huge animal lover and love animal characters so this book struck a happy cord. Additionally, it was very well written with a well developed plot which moved along at an engaging pace.

I look forward to reading more books in this series!
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback