1 used from CDN$ 213.42

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Christmas With Norman Luboff Choir Import

Available from these sellers.
1 used from CDN$ 213.42

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 3 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Madacy Records
  • ASIN: B00006IQL5
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa3ee98d0) out of 5 stars 4 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa3f13eac) out of 5 stars Misleading title by Madacy May 3 2013
By James Coakley - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This review is for the 2002 Madacy cd "Christmas with the Norman Luboff Choir" If you are expecting to get the 1964 stereo album of the same title you will be disappointed. What you actually have here is the 1956 mono album "Songs of Christmas". Why Madacy chose to create such a misleading title I have no idea. The disc inside even says "Songs of Christmas" "Originally released as CBS Records #CL 926". "All selections are digital transfers from mono sources". Okay, fine. So my first thought was that they put the wrong disc in the jewel box, mistakes happen. Wrong! The track list printed on both the disc AND the jewel box are for the 1956 mono album. This is 100% the 1956 album "Songs of Christmas" but with the title changed to mislead you into thinking you're getting the 1964 stereo album "Christmas with". Before you lay down $100 or more, be sure of what you're getting! As for what's on the disc, sound quality is ok, not great. They also put all the songs together in only 6 tracks. In some cases they work well together as a medley but in other instances, they should have been split into separate tracks as there are clear starting and stopping points between the songs. Cover art is of Madacy's own creation. It does not match either original albums. No booklet, just a one sided slip of paper.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa41d2114) out of 5 stars The 1964 RCA Victor Christmas Album By The Normal Luboff Choir Nov. 26 2012
By George O'Leary - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
One of the most popular chorale groups from the 1950s through to the 1970s was the one led by Norman Luboff, born in Chicago on May 14, 1917, an accomplished pianist who, after studying music at the University of Chicago and well as that city's Central College, did some vocal work and writing for local radio before re-locating to New York around 1946. In 1948 he moved to Hollywood where, after acting as choral director for the popular radio show, The Railroad Hour, he signed with Warner Brothers with whom he would eventually write the scores for close to 80 films, as well as many TV programs.

In the 1950s he formed the first of many incarnations of The Norman Luboff Choir and, in addition to dozens of his own albums for Columbia and RCA Victor, his vocal groups backed many stars of the day on some of their hit records, among them Doris Day (When I Fall In Love in 1952 and Mister Tap Toe in 1953), Jo Stafford (Jambalaya in 1952), Paul Weston (Nevertheless I'm In Love With You in 1950 and Charmaine in 1952), Dennis Day (Mister And Mississippi in 1951), Jimmy Boyd (I Saw Mommy Kissing Santa Claus in 1952), Frankie Laine & Jimmy Boyd (The Little Boy And The Old Man and Tell Me A Story in 1953), and Frankie Laine (The Kid's Last Fight in 1954).

Among his own most popular albums were the two devoted to Christmas, starting with this one which first came out in 1956 as Columbia CL-926. A re-release in 1958 reached # 22 on Billboard's Pop album charts containing these tracks: 1. Medley - Joy To The World - I Saw Three Ships - We Three Kings Of Orient Are - O Little Town Of Bethlehem; 2. Medley - What Child Is This? - The Twelve Days Of Christmas - Baloo Lammy; 3. Medley - The Holly And The Ivy - A La Nanita Nana - Joseph, Dearest Joseph Mine - Whence Comes This Rush Of Wings; 4. Medley - The First Nowell - Wassail, Wassail All Over The Town - God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen - Hark! The Herald Angels Sing; 5. Medley - O Tannenbaum - O Holy Night - The Coventry Carol; 6. The Wassail Song (Here We Come A-Caroling) - O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles) - Deck The Halls With Boughs Of Holly - Silent Night, Holy Night.

In 1963, the tracks were re-recorded and re-released in stereo as Columbia CS-8846, and this version first charted at # 57 in 1965 on Billboard's Christmas charts, and again at # 44 in 1966. Meanwhile, in 1964, RCA Victor released their album, Christmas With The Norman Luboff Choir (RCA Victor 2941) with these tracks, side 1 of which simply re-issued a different mix of 12 of the titles that first appeared in the above Columbia album:

1. Medley - Joy To The World - O Little Town Of Bethlehem - Hark! The Herald Angels Sing - O Holy Night; 2. Medley - Deck The Halls With Boughs Of Holly - Baloo Lammy - The Wassail Song (Here We Come A-Caroling) - O Come, All Ye Faithful (Adeste Fideles); 3. Medley - God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen - Whence Comes This Rush Of Wings - The First Noel; 4. Silent Night; 5. Jingle Bells; 6. The Little Drummer Boy; 7. Silver Bells; 8. Do You Hear What I Hear?; 9. Santa Claus Is Coming To Town; 10. White Christmas.

Both albums are now available in CD format, the first from Sony Special products in 1995, and the second from (shudder) Madacy in 2002.

One quality re-mastered CD release containing that original Columbia configuartion and side 2 of that RCA Victor 1964 release would be a welcome sight.
HASH(0xa41d2354) out of 5 stars Memories... Dec 29 2013
By Greg - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This vinyl album contains the version of "Do You Hear What I Hear?" I grew up listening to on my father's old console stereo. It is still my favorite Christmas song and this recording of it. The remainder of the album is also very good, classic Christmas music. A nice addition to your Christmas collection.
HASH(0xa41d24f8) out of 5 stars Wonderful Christmas music! Sept. 30 2010
By Music for the soul - Published on Amazon.com
I grew up listening to this at Christmas time. I have the record, but I wish someone would put this on a CD!!! Please! :)