CDN$ 58.07 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by SosaMedia
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 58.06
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: thebookcommunity_ca
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Clar Sons/Clar Trio

Price: CDN$ 58.07
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by SosaMedia.
2 new from CDN$ 58.06 5 used from CDN$ 11.99

Product Details

  • Audio CD (June 27 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: EMI Classics
  • ASIN: B000FHYI1U
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #299,743 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. I. Allegro appassionato
2. II. Andante un poco adagio
3. III. Allegretto grazioso
4. IV. Vivace
5. I. Allegro amabile
6. II. Allegro appassionato
7. III. Andante con moto
8. I. Allegro con brio
9. II. Adagio
10. III. Tema: 'Pria ch'io l'impregno' (Allegretto)

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9bc63f00) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bc785e8) out of 5 stars A treasure -- a must have recording... July 1 2009
By T Boyer - Published on
Verified Purchase
The clarinet sonatas and trio here were composed near the end of Brahms' life. He "retired" from composing in 1890, but then heard the superb clarinettist Richard Muhlfeld and was inspired to write these. I have treasured this wonderful recording since I first heard it 30 years ago. A while ago I remastered an old LP and I'm thrilled to see it here as a downloadable mp3.

There is a fine Richard Stoltzman/Richard Goode recording too, but this is the one that I think best captures the deep autumnal beauty of the sonatas.

The warmth and generous rubato in this recording make the Stoltzman/Goode recording sound a little stodgy, a little wooden. There's wonderful interplay between a youthful, ebullient Barenboim and De Peyer, who plays with wonderful restraint -- the piano crashing chords while the clarinet floats ethereally above it.

There is one place where Barenboim, at the time one of the world's great pianists, completely blows a chord. I suppose they left it on the record because the take was so beautifully phrased, if not note-perfect. It's the musical equivalent of a beauty mark on this wonderful recording.

Some people are put off by De Peyer's French technique -- the sound is a little more reedy, thinner and more focused than the darker sound that is more in vogue. It's a relatively subtle difference. The significance of this recording is the lush yet delicate phrasing, which should be an inspiration to anyone who wants to play romantic chamber music.
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9bc66924) out of 5 stars Mixed bag March 18 2008
By Richard Dryer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I was excited about this cd and when it arrived I listened to it right away. What a disappointment. While du Pre was wonderful as always, de Peyer was not up to what I would have expected. His sound was ok overall and musically the performance was pretty good, but he had a tendency to spread whenever the dynamics approached the forte level in both the sonatas and the trio. I would recommend the performance as a good representation of what these pieces should be, but would caution that one should not emmulate de Peyer's sound on this disk. Having heard him live more recently than this recording, he might just agree...