CDN$ 44.23 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Item is in very good condition and has some light scratches on the discs and case.
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 48.24
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Collection 4 Import

Price: CDN$ 44.23
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by @ ALLBRIGHT SALES @.
3 new from CDN$ 34.95 7 used from CDN$ 2.75 1 collectible from CDN$ 8.37

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 25 1990)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: Mca
  • ASIN: B000002PGW
  • Other Editions: Audio CD  |  Audio Cassette
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Prelude - Andres Segovia_
2. Minuet - Purcell
3. A New Irish Tune - Purcell
4. Jig - Andres Segovia_
5. Rondo - Andres Segovia_
6. Sonata In A (L. 483) - D. Scarlatti
7. Sonata In D minor - Handel_
8. Fughette - Handel_
9. Menuet - Handel_
10. Air - Andres Segovia_
11. Passepied - Handel_
12. Passacaglia - Andres Segovia_
13. Corrente - Andres Segovia_
14. Fantasie - Andres Segovia_
15. Tombeau Sur La Mort De M. Comte d'Logy - Andres Segovia_
16. Minuet I - Minuet II - Andres Segovia_
17. Cello Suite No. 1: Prelude - Bach
18. Cello Suite No. 6: Gavotte - Bach
19. Lute Suite: Bourree - Bach
20. Violin Partita No. 1: Bourree - Bach
See all 26 tracks on this disc

Product Description

This charming collection of Baroque favorites consists largely of transcriptions of keyboard music by Bach, Handel, Scarlatti, and Purcell as well as some original lute works. During the Baroque period it was common to arrange the same music to suit different instruments as necessary, so there's nothing unusual in Segovia's practice here. The Scarlatti pieces are particularly brilliant, with Segovia demonstrating just how Spanish the great Italian composer really became after years as private tutor to the Queen of Spain. The entire recital makes for one of the most satisfying of Segovia's many Baroque compilations and a great way to get to know this great artist. --David Hurwitz

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xa934396c) out of 5 stars 3 reviews
19 of 22 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa949a99c) out of 5 stars Wide-ranging, enjoyable performances with some true gems July 2 1999
By A Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Without question, Andres Segovia deserves the title "Legendary" bestowed upon him by the title of this recording. His public performances led composers to write for him and his transcription skills led to a dramatic improvement and variety in the repertoire. While Segovia's recordings extend into the mid-70's, these recordings range from mono performances in 1952 to stereo ones in 1969. The remastering produced a fine product. Some of the recordings from 1962 are a little muddy. Surprisingly, I found the mono recordings more listenable than some of the stereo tracks. The Weiss and Scarlatti recordings are among my favorities. Weiss compositions for the guitar/lute (as opposed to transcriptions) and Scarlatti's style (described in the liner notes as delicate and elegant) seems best-suited for Segovia's playing. My biggest complaint is that some of the dance pieces (Frescobaldi's Corrrente or Purcell's Jig) lose their way in the slow performances. While his musical progeny (Elliot Fisk, Christopher Parkening and John Williams) may have surpassed him, the father of the modern classical guitar movement, as represented by this recording, still remains in anyone's list as one of the best performers.
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By Theresa Amuso - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This was a gif for my younger son. He loves this kind of music plus this was the style music I studied year's ago when I was first learning how to play guitar. Excellent. Segovia is one of the major master's. My son loved this gift. I got him two but I don't see a pic of the other one I can comment on but it would be the same basic comment.
1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa94a9a50) out of 5 stars Outstanding! Nov. 11 2008
By S. Hoats - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Segovia Is The Best Guitar player I Have Ever Heard.
Anyone into classical Guitar Music Is familar with this iconic legend. This CD has excellent music on it. His playing is incredibly moving. The Timeless quality and beauty of these pieces will live on!