Start reading A Common Life: The Wedding Story (A Mitford Novel) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
A Common Life: The Wedding Story (A Mitford Novel)
 
See larger image
 

A Common Life: The Wedding Story (A Mitford Novel) [Kindle Edition]

Jan Karon
2.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (230 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 19.00
Kindle Price: CDN$ 12.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 6.01 (32%)
Sold by: Penguin Group USA
This price was set by the publisher

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover --  
Paperback CDN $13.72  
Audio, Cassette, Audiobook --  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

From Amazon

A Common Life is a trip back in time for fans of "the little town with the big heart." Somewhere between the second and third volumes of Jan Karon's Mitford Years series, dyed-in-the-wool bachelor Father Timothy Kavanagh and his next-door neighbor Cynthia Coppersmith tied the knot. The author left it to readers' imaginations to fill in the blanks. In this delightful story, Karon paints a complete picture of the events surrounding the wedding of Mitford's best-loved couple, and chronicles the poignant and often hilarious reactions to the nuptial news by the tightly knit North Carolina community.

All the details cherished by those who are enchanted by weddings are offered here, from the color of the bridal outfit (aquamarine) to the choice of flowers (virgin's bower and hydrangeas). When the wedding bells finally ring, the pews are packed with the people who make Mitford special: ornery Uncle Billy, delightful Miss Sadie, indispensable Louella, and the cantankerous Emma Newland. And there's not a dry eye in the house when Father Tim's problematic foster child Dooley Barlowe sings for the two people who love him the most.

A Common Life is not just a wedding story. It's also an intimate portrait of the unfolding love between Cynthia and the shy Father Tim, complete with fears and hesitations, professions of commitment, and Barnabas the dog delivering love letters. But there's nothing heavy-handed here. The tensions don't run any higher than wondering if Cynthia will make it to the wedding on time after getting locked inside her own bathroom, or guessing if Esther will make her famous three-layer orange marmalade cake for the reception. Told in the warm, down-home style that Karon has built her reputation on, A Common Life is sweet without being saccharine, charming without being cloying. It's an invitation to a literary reunion of the best kind, and like all weddings, it will probably coax a few tears and plenty of smiles. --Cindy Crosby

From Publishers Weekly

Fans of Mitford, Karon's delightful fictional village in western North Carolina, will be thrilled with this newest installment, which relates an episode she skipped over in her earlier books: Father Tim and Cynthia's wedding. (He proposed at the end of the second Mitford book, and at the beginning of the third, they were already happily married.) Finally, readers get to see the stunned expressions of most Mitford residents when they hear Father Tim has actually popped the question. Readers learn about Cynthia's anxieties over the pending nuptials, share Esther Bolick's delight when Cynthia asks her to bake her famous orange marmalade cake and hum along as the Lord's Chapel parish belts out "Praise my soul the King of Heaven" at the ceremony. And as usual, Karon works in a few snippets of convincing mountain dialect. While Mitford die-hards will welcome this installment, however, the unconverted won't find much to bring them around; one has to already know Karon's eccentric characters, with all their foibles, to fully appreciate the book. Even Mitford devotees may be a touch disappointed that the trademark lessons about Christian faith that Karon weaves so seamlessly into most of her tales are more or less absent from this slim volume. (When they do appear, they stick out, as when Bishop Cullen pointedly discusses the role of sex in Christian marriage.) Still, don't be surprised if Mitford fans begin serving orange marmalade cake at their weddings, and sing hymn 410 at every opportunity. (Apr. 9)Forecast: Fresh from her 2000 Christy and ECPA Gold Medallion Awards for A New Song (book five), Karon keeps rolling along with the Mitford series. This book will no doubt please the thousands of fans who have written to Karon, asking, "Why weren't we invited to the wedding?" Six weeks before its release, the novel was hovering around the #100 position on Amazon.

Copyright 2001 Cahners Business Information, Inc.


Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2566 KB
  • Print Length: 212 pages
  • Publisher: Penguin Books; Reprint edition (March 26 2002)
  • Sold by: Penguin Group USA
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005BCR3MU
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 2.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (230 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #130,438 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars great series Dec 10 2013
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
love this series although I did find A common Life a little slow but easily enjoyable. I recommend this series to anyone looking for easy, relaxed and 'feel good' reading.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Where is the story? Oct. 27 2002
Format:Paperback
Huge disappointment. Don't buy, borrow from the library if you must.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Written in 5 minutes May 9 2002
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Not sure why Jan Karon even wrote this book. It gives you nothing new to the story. It was written as if her publisher wanted something new so she wrote this in 5 minutes just to please her publisher. This book is so unlike her other books. She's a wonderful writer with stories that just sweep you off your feet and characters that find their way into your heart to stay. As far as this book is concerned, don't waste your time.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great book of course! Dec 5 2003
Format:Hardcover
Another great read! A little shorter than regular Mitford books. Interesting how she would hold off on the wedding chapters for a later book. I just can't get enough of Mitford!
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars New Voices Sept. 17 2003
Format:Paperback
My wife and I have read each of Karon's Mitford books aloud to each other over the past few years. This is one of the better ones.
One thing I enjoyed about this book is that several different characters narrate it. In the other Mitford books (thus far) everything is narrated from Father Tim's perspective. But here we are privy to the thoughts and observations of other well-known characters, such as: Esther Bolick, Uncle Billy Watson, and Mayor Cunningham. I think this change of structure works well for this particular installment. It gives us a fuller view of that most dramatic of events: the marriage of a beloved old bachelor. Let's face it; if it were up to Father Tim to remember the events surrounding his wedding to Cynthia, we wouldn't have much to work with because he had too much going on around him.
This book is slimmer than the others, perhaps offering less story than fans are used to. One compensatory value might be that it has a nice two-color interior design.
I recommend _A Common Life_ to fans of the series mainly on the virtue of its unique structure, giving voice to other familiar characters
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars way too sappy Aug. 27 2003
By C. Hill
Format:Paperback
This book is a response to the requests of many disappointed readers who wanted to read about the wedding that happened after the end of book two but before the beginning of book three. Jan Karon went back and wrote the story of the wedding and this is the end product. I'm a hopeless romantic and I'm all for romantic love stories, but this book was WAY over the top, to an unrealistic degree. It seems like every other page, Father Tim is marveling at the joyful, desperate, blissful, dazzling, breathless, mesmerizing, overwhelming, extraordinary, happy, dazzling, astonishing, overpowering love he feels for his fiancée (these are just some of the MANY adjectives used in much overabundance throughout the book). It just got too sappy and I didn't feel a connection with the characters at all. I listened to this book on tape from Recorded Books, and the last tape is an interview with Jan Karon. This was the one redeeming quality of sitting through the whole story. Karon sounds like a wonderfully nice person with great inspiration and a solid faith. Even though the last few books have seemed a little too unrealistic and dry, I enjoyed hearing the background of how the Mitford novels came about. I don't know if I'll read any more books in the series. It's gotten to the point where the description of ordinary people living ordinary lives has evolved into a near-utopia, with little to none of the problems that ordinary people in the real world experience.
Was this review helpful to you?
2.0 out of 5 stars A Common Life Nov. 19 2002
Format:Paperback
This book appears to have been written simply to hold the readers until the next book in the series (hopefully with some substance) is released. I should have had a clue when I saw how few pages the book has. Definitely not pn a par with the previous 5 books. I, as a reader before me suggested, would recommend that those reading the series check this one out from the library.
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars I think she did it for the money Oct. 23 2002
Format:Paperback
Compared to all the other Mitford books, this one is like a bad movie of the week, or an old rerun of Love Boat. She could have easily added this to the next in the series, rather than devote a whole book to the wedding. And it isn't all that eventful a wedding, anyway.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
prayer doesnt fit us for the greater work, prayer is the greater work. &quote;
Highlighted by 7 Kindle users
&quote;
The highest form of prayer is one in which we dont beg for ourselves, said Stuart, but seek to know what we can do for God. This delights God immensely! &quote;
Highlighted by 7 Kindle users
&quote;
But perhaps he was happiest, in reflection, about the other waiting, the times when the temptation to have it all had been nearly unbearable, but they had drawn back, obeying Gods wisdom for their lives. The drawing back had shaken him, yes, and shaken her, for their love had exposed their desire in a way theyd never known before. Yet, His grace had made them able to wait, to concentrate on the approaching feast instead of the present hunger. &quote;
Highlighted by 7 Kindle users

Customers Who Highlighted This Item Also Highlighted


Look for similar items by category