Complete Beethoven Sympho... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete Beethoven Symphony Tr Box set

Price: CDN$ 43.93 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
14 new from CDN$ 37.28 3 used from CDN$ 46.45

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Nov. 21 2006)
  • Number of Discs: 5
  • Format: Box set
  • Label: Nbs
  • ASIN: B000IY062K
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #104,262 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Adagio Molto-Allegro Con Brio
2. Larghetto
3. Scherzo: Allegro
4. Allegro Molto
See all 8 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Adagio Molto-Allegro Con Brio
2. Andante Cantabile Con Moto
3. Meneutto: Allegro Molto E Vivace
4. Adagio-Allegro Molto Vivace
See all 8 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. Allegro, Ma Non Troppo (Cheerful Feelings Arriving In The Countryside)
2. Andante Molto Moto (Scene By The Brook)
3. Allegro (Happy Gathering Of Villagers)
4. Allegro (Thunder-storm)
See all 9 tracks on this disc
Disc: 4
1. Allegro, Ma Non Troppo, Un Poco Maestoso
2. Molto Vivace
3. Adagio Molto E Cantabile-Andante Moderato
4. Presto-Recitative-Allegro Assai
See all 5 tracks on this disc
Disc: 5
1. Poco Sostenuto-Vivace
2. Allegretto
3. Scherzo
4. Allegro Con Brio
See all 8 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0xaa0a827c) out of 5 stars 6 reviews
19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa8e7330) out of 5 stars (-) Chronistically Correct Alternative to Romantic Opulence Dec 5 2009
By C. Pontus T. - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Just having lauded the greatness of Liszt in transforming the greatest of music into redefining piano works, and the greatness of Katsaris's relisation of the same, it is interesting to revisit Scherbakov's accomplished, more taut, but far less imposing and memorable cycle. Although the golden era of romantic pianism is not absent, it is mostly kept safely in the background, regrettably giving way to the post-period-performance ideal that has largely ruled the Beethoven Symphonies cycles of the past decade.

Hence, it comes as no surprise that Scherbakov is most successful in the 'lighter' symphonies--especially the Second and, again, as with Katsaris, the Fourth that may be Liszt's single most idiomatic orchestral transcription. However, in the revolutionary romantic odd-numbered symphonies, Scherbakov's results are typically light, clipped and emotionally underwhelming in the HIP manner.

All the same, Scherbakov's technical achievement is very impressive, not far behind that of Katsaris, whereas Naxos's sonics are clearly preferable to Teldec's. Since Liszt's inimitable transcriptions deserve a significantly greater audience, Scherbakov does offer a viable--and indeed chronistically 'correct', as it were--alternative to Katsaris's romantically opulent reference cycle. In several aspects, it is fair to say that Scherbakov's piano cycle largely resembles Vänskä's orchestral ditto.

24 of 29 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa56e24c) out of 5 stars Great price for an amazing box set of Liszt transcriptions July 29 2007
By Amy - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Liszt's task was enormously difficult to reduce all nine of Beethoven's Symphonies to the level of a single piano and to make this possible for just ten fingers. Absolutely amazing! To make the piano sound as an orchestra would be an illusion and unreachable for any other composer. Not Liszt, he consciously made wonderful, brilliant piano pieces out of Beethoven's Symphonies. Another aspect to mention is Liszt's obvious admiration and respect for the works. He did not change or add anything in the compositions, on the opposite, he just accommodated the symphonic structure within the limitations of the piano, with his unmistakable sense for perfection. To me, that is what Liszt is known for, making the impossible sound like the inevitable.
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa41f150) out of 5 stars Amazing March 20 2008
By KR - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
If you like Beethoven, and you enjoy piano music, then this is for you. These symphonies are not some piano reduction, but transcriptions by Liszt. It is amazing that one man/ten fingers can sound so much like the full orchestra. When I first came across these, I thought they would be an oddity that I would be amused by, and then never listen to again. Not so. I return to my favorite symphonies often. (The quality of the recording is excellent as well.)

By the way, if you don't want to spring for the full set, there are individual CD's of these transcriptions as well.

15 of 20 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa5c2ccc) out of 5 stars Absolutely Stupendous Oct. 23 2008
By abcdefg12345 - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I am a 16 year old boy who loves classical music; yes I know that is quite an oddity.

Beethoven's symphonies are some of my favorite pieces of music (particularly 5,6,7, and 9). I am a piano player and when I discovered that these magnificent symphonies were transcribed for piano (by Liszt, my other favorite composer, nonetheless) I was excited that I could play my favorite pieces of music by myself without the help of an entire orchestra. Needless to say, I am quite far from playing the Liszt transcriptions in their entirity, but hearing an amazing pianist such as Scherbakov duplicate the work of a 100 piece orchestra is an absolute inspiration to me. I can not reccomend these recordings enough.
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xaa722c60) out of 5 stars Para coleccionistas Dec 19 2012
By aro - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Definitivamente estas transcripciones de las nueve sinfonías de Beethoven se deben escuchar como curiosidades de la historia de la música. Puede ser aburrido escuchar más de una a la vez.