Complete Orchestral Works... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: This item is in good working condition. The box or case may have some signs of previous use but is generally in nice shape. We will ship quickly, normally within 24 hours. Please email us with any queries either before or after purchase.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Complete Orchestral Works Vol.

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 18.57 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
25 new from CDN$ 7.26 7 used from CDN$ 1.93

Product Details

  • Composer: Bach J.S.
  • Audio CD (Jan. 1 2000)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • ASIN: B000046Q2J
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #127,546 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Allegro
2. Andante
3. Allegro Assai
4. Allegro
5. Adagio
6. Allegro Assai
7. Allegro
8. Adagio
9. Allegro
10. Vivace
11. Largo Ma Non Tanto
12. Allegro

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I love this album
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x9af57c00) out of 5 stars 5 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9abbb798) out of 5 stars Great performance--but not necessarily to everyone's tastes. April 8 2010
By Harry S. Gerla - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
To me this performance represents an ideal compromise. It has the liveliness and clarity of baroque ensemble performances, but is performed on modern instruments avoiding the sometimes sour intonation of performances on period instruments. Of course, like any compromise, it risks leaving some unsatisfied. If one insists on pure period instruments and practices, then I suggest the Manze/Podger Academy of Ancient Music performance on Harmonia Mundi. It is a lively and wonderful performance. My ears just can't get used to the intonation of most period baroque instruments. If your taste run to more modern instruments and somewhat (but far from excessively)romaticized performances and tempos, the Grimmaux/Krebbers/Garcia performances on Philips will please you greatly.
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9abbbbc4) out of 5 stars Finest interpretation June 24 2007
By Deb - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Especially at this price you should compare these performances to any others.
Blacher was the concertmaster of the Berlin Philharmonic in the 90's, a
graduate of Julliard and these are, I feel, the best recorded renditions of
these works.
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9abbbc18) out of 5 stars Great performance on BWV 1052! Jan. 7 2007
By SG333 - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
I bought this CD several years ago. I listened to it then and felt the speed was a bit too fast for my taste, so I put the CD away and left it alone.

I played this CD again recently and listened to the Concerto in D minor (BWV 1052). I was still a bit uncomfortable about the fast speed at first, but I was very impressed by the nice and smooth performance by the Cologne group, so I listened to it a few more times to see if I can get used to the speed. Well, I did! Now I like the version a lot and I have put it to my favorite play list for my daily enjoyment. I've had 20+ years experience listening to Bach and I believe this version can be a valuable one for many Bach listeners.

This CD also contains Violin Concerto in A minor and E major. For those two concertos, I prefer J. Brezina / Camerata Romana version, which has been my long-time favorite.

I think if we get one great piece of music from one CD with this good low price, we should be happy.
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9abbbf60) out of 5 stars Best Performance of these Concertos I've heard April 1 2013
By Pranakasha - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
I heard the E major concerto contained within this album on Classical King FM 98.1 this morning while driving to work. It was way too good not to buy!

This is simply THE BEST performance of these violin concertos I have ever heard.

---Matthew C. Weiss
0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9abbe1c8) out of 5 stars Five Stars May 19 2015
By Sharon McGinnis - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase