Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here

Composers in the Loft

Aznavoorian;Ying; Freer; Yeh; Lincoln Trio; Biava Quartet; Maia Quartet , Lorenz; Pann; Garrop; Fung Audio CD

Price: CDN$ 20.18 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, September 25? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Product Details

1. Bachango - Marta Aznavoorian
2. I. Strand - David Ying
3. II. Air - David Ying
4. III. Country Dance - David Ying
5. IV. Blues - David Ying
6. V. Song - David Ying
7. I. Life Cycle - Lincoln Trio
8. II. Agnus Dei - Lincoln Trio
9. I. Demonic Spirits - Biava Quartet
10. II. Songs Of the Angels - Biava Quartet
11. III. Inner Demons - Biava Quartet
12. IV. Broken Spirit - Biava Quartet
13. I. Floating - John Bruce Yeh
14. II. Light And Playful - John Bruce Yeh
15. III. Improvisation-Like - John Bruce Yeh
16. IV. A Piacere - John Bruce Yeh

Product Description

Product Description

Product Description

Œuvres de Lorenz, Pann, Jalbert, Garrop, Fung / Marta Aznavoorian, piano - David Ying, violoncelle - Elinor Freer, piano - Lincoln Trio - Biava Quartet - John Bruce Yeh, clarinette - Maia Quartet

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars New Music from Chicago March 2 2008
By J Scott Morrison - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD
I got this CD because of the piece by Carter Pann, a composer who is a particular favorite of mine. It is from Chicago's Cedille label and features music by Chicago musicians and (mostly) Chicago composers, and it includes four world premiere recordings. The Pann is a set, 'Differences', for cello and piano that contains his typical eclectic style (if you don't know his music, perhaps its likeness to some of Bill Bolcom's music will orient you; they have a lot in common). It contains elements of country music, blues and popular song refracted through the prism of Pann's extraordinarily clever and sophisticated style. It is the most tonal of the works presented here and I loved it. David Ying, cello, and Elinor Freer, piano, play the devil out of it.

John David Yeh, Chicago's distinguished clarinet doyen, is featured in Vivan Fung's four 'Miniatures', which have elements of the music of Western China's Uighur people. Ricardo Lorenz's 'Bachangó', played by pianist Marta Aznavoorian, is flat-out Afro-Cuban, an evocative foot-tapper.

The toughest pieces, harmonically, on the CD are Stacy Garrop's String Quartet No. 2, 'Demons and Angels'. It reputedly traces a descent into madness and murder. For me, although it was interesting to hear once, it tested my tolerance for dissonance. It is played with real fire in the belly by the up-and-coming Biava Quartet. Even more difficult, for me, was Pierre Jalbert's String Trio, played by the excellent Lincoln Trio. There probably wasn't as much straight-out dissonance as in the Garrop, but the construction left me puzzled; it often sounded like quasi-atonal noodling. Perhaps I need to hear it several more times, but frankly I'm not willing to give it that. I'm sure, though, that there are others that will admire it much more than I.

Cedille, always enterprising, has come up with a fascinating peek at Chicago's new music scene and deserves a hats off for that.

Scott Morrison
5.0 out of 5 stars Unlofty Composers in the Loft Aug. 28 2012
By M4REEL - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
Fabulous collection of string pieces with contemporary rhtythmic novelties. I heard a selection on the radio and had to get the whole collection. A terrific album -- every piece is an ingenious, uplifting gem. You'll want more where this came from.

Look for similar items by category