Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Cyber Monday Deals Week in Home & Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Countdown to Cyber Monday in Lawn & Garden
CDN$ 44.99 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by Melisande Musique
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by calibris
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the USA. Please allow 10-15 business days for delivery. Excellent customer service!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Concerto for Cello Op.65/D Import

Price: CDN$ 44.99
Only 2 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by Melisande Musique.
6 used from CDN$ 22.30

Product Details

  • Audio CD (July 22 2003)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Import
  • Label: MD&G Records
  • ASIN: B000094YTC
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. First Dance: Allegro
2. Second Dance: Moderato
3. Moderato Con Moto
4. Adagio
5. Allegro Con Fuoco
6. Musical Picture

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 1 review
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
On the fringe Oct. 8 2007
By Amazon Customer - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Anton Rubinstein's music has always been on the fringe of my musical listening. I own recordings of his Symphony, his piano concerto and of various chamber works. As a whole, Anton's music has not been of too much significance to my listening experiences. This splendid MDG Gold recording certainly contains some wonderful music by Rubinstein. Contained therein is a the very "Russian Sounding" Ballet music from his opera "The Demon" and the very "Western Sounding" orchestra piece "Don Quixote" along with the very beautiful three movement Cello concerto that is played most beautifully by Alban Gerhardt--that work reminded me a lot of Brahms. Rubinstein has been criticized for sounding too Western and not Russian enough. This disc kind of proves that that criticism is justified. Only the ballet scenes from "The Demon" have to me a "Russian flavor" with haunting folk melodies and splendid dance rhythms. The other two selections on the disc (Cello Concerto and orchestra piece "Don Quixote") as played on this album are fine late romantic works that sound, to me, very Western; however, I thoroughly enjoyed the music.

The Wupperal Symphony Orchestra lead by George Hanson and cellist Alban Gerhardt perform these works with deep feeling and gorgeous sound. I really enjoyed this recording. The recorded sound is very warm and lush.

Do yourself a favor and do give Anton's music a listen to by buying this wonderful disc of some very beautiful music.