Concerto for Orchestra; P... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Concerto for Orchestra; Piano

Price: CDN$ 14.95 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
14 new from CDN$ 8.03 2 used from CDN$ 23.39

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Performer: Czapiewski; Smolij; Poznan Philharmonic Orchestra
  • Composer: Szeligowski Tadeusz
  • Audio CD (Oct. 30 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Ncl
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #337,228 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

After the Second World War, the Polish composer Tadeusz Szeligowski settled in Poznan´, where he was instrumental in the formation of the Poznan´ Philharmonic and served as its first director. His Comedy Overture is a short, brilliantly orches

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x97aaa12c) out of 5 stars 1 review
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x97b2df6c) out of 5 stars Modestly rewarding music in decent performances June 13 2010
By G.D. - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
The Polish composer Tadeusz Szeligowski (1896-1963) studied with Boulanger and Dukas and was a modestly important figure on the Polish scene in his day, composing quite a body of music for theatre and opera. The disc here doesn't exactly augur too well for a general revival, but Szeligowski's pleasant and often delectably harmonically spiced music is well worth hearing nonetheless.

The Comedy Overture is slight and the Polish Dances nothing more than pleasantly enjoyable. Things pick up a little with the Concerto for Orchestra, a nicely colored showcase for the Poznan players though hardly strikingly memorable. The piano concerto mixes influences of Stravinsky with impressionism and is quite attractive, and so is the lushly scored Nocturne, even if one fails to recall much of it after it's finished.

Performances are enthusiastic enough, even though the strings aren't quite as full-boodied or sublimely beautiful as one could have hoped. The soloist in the piano concerto, Bogan Czapiewski, is very good, however, providing playing of spirit, flair and power. The sound quality is good, and overall this is a modestly rewarding and interesting release without exactly managing to raise any deep interest in the rest of Szeligowski's music. Still definitely worth considering at the price.