Confined Space and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
  • List Price: CDN$ 19.99
  • You Save: CDN$ 4.83 (24%)
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca.
Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Confined Space has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Good | Details
Sold by russell-books
Condition: Used: Good
Comment: Family Owned Bookstore Since 1961!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Confined Space Paperback – Jun 5 2012


See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Paperback
"Please retry"
CDN$ 15.16
CDN$ 2.02 CDN$ 0.01

Gifts For Dad


Frequently Bought Together

Confined Space + Open Secret
Price For Both: CDN$ 28.87

Buy the selected items together



Product Details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Touchstone; Canadian Export edition (June 5 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 145166947X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451669473
  • Product Dimensions: 13.3 x 2.8 x 20.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 322 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #199,185 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

Review

“Fans of Dana Stabenow and Deborah Crombie rejoice! Deryn Collier's maiden outing is superbly written, densely layered, and marvelously suspenseful. Confined Space is a tour-de-force heralding an explosive new series guaranteed to please the traditional mystery lover.”
-Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times-bestselling author of One Was a Soldier

"The kind of book to curl up with and savour...but maybe not with a beer. Bern Fortin is an enigmatic coroner with a deeply layered past. Believable characters and a multi-layered plot. A thoroughly enjoyable read. Deryn Collier's debut novel keeps you up late reading to find out more."
-Peggy Blair, Author

“A great debut novel. Confined Space perfectly captures the unique beauty of the Kootenay area of British Columbia as it introduces two conflicted, engaging, completely realistic characters."
-Vicki Delany, Author

About the Author

Deryn Collier grew up in Ottawa and Montreal and is a graduate of McGill University. She now lives in Nelson, British Columbia, with her family and welcomes visitors to her blog at DerynCollier.com.


Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
6
4 star
1
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See all 7 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Catherine Astolfo on June 11 2012
Format: Paperback
What I most loved about Confined Space was the hero, Bern Fortin. He is kind, intelligent, a man who appreciates older women in all the best ways. Bern is not perfect; his war experiences have left him with a lot of baggage and sorrow. Deryn Collier develops every character with care and attention to detail, but the reader gets to know Bern the best. He is sympathetic and honorable. A man whom male and female alike would befriend - were he real. Evie, his counterpart in the story, is also a strong, complex and likeable character. Collier's writing is beautiful; lyrical, descriptive and interesting. The plot is a true mystery, not a thriller, and I personally love this kind of story. I got involved with characters, cared about what happened to them, and marveled along with them at the cruelty of the human psyche. The backdrop of the brewery, where the action takes place, is fascinating. Collier makes the process of creating beer almost sensual. I even got interested in gardening from the descriptions of Bern's green thumb skills - well, almost. I highly recommend this book as a good read for any gender, for mystery lovers, but also anyone who just loves a great story, vivid characters and gorgeous setting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
As a mystery/thriller, Confined Space hits all the right notes – a compelling cast of characters, an ever-escalating threat, intriguing setting, nail-biting suspense, and enough clues smattered throughout the story to keep you guessing. Coroner ,and former soldier, Bern Fortin is a deeply damaged but immediately likable hero, who sees his job as a duty; a duty to the dead. Another reviewer commented that Bern reminder her of a young Romeo Dallaire, and that is precisely the image I had as I read – a combination of inner strength, compassion, and keen intelligence, all coloured by a traumatic past. Collier has created a character that will leave readers wanting to know more long after the final page.

Safety Officer Evie Chappelle is the perfect counter/companion to Bern. Their secrets and their inner lives, combined with their natural attraction, makes the sexual and romantic tension between these two buzz.

What impressed me most, however, was how effectively Collier used location in this story, and how accurately she portrayed life in the mountains of British Columbia. What makes the deaths in Confined Space so impactful is not just the ‘how’ or ‘who’, but the ‘where’. In a small town, such as Kootenay Landing, where everyone knows everyone’s business, a single death can impact the entire community. A murder? Unthinkable.

Kootenay Landing is its own character. A refuge for some, a trap for others. Breathtaking natural beauty contrasted with a gritty, blue collar population. As with so many small towns, its life hinges on the success or failure of a single industry – the brewery, in this case. A threat to the brewery is a threat to everyone, and so the stakes are high from the moment a dead body is discovered in the bottle washer, and continue to climb.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
Ex'-Canadian Forces commander Bern Fortin has moved to a small town in British Columbia, to escape the memories of Afghanistan and Rwanda. He hopes for little work as the coroner, so he can recover from his troubles and grow his garden. When a man is found in a vat at the local brewery everyone wants to call it an accident except for Bern and the Brewery''s safety officer, Evie Chapelle. Evie however is hampered by the Brewery officials who want everything finished, so they can continue making beer. Bern is hampered by the senior coroner who wants to save his budget and prefers to think its and accident covered by the workmen's safety board. Soon Evie is risking her life to find out what happened and Bern is risking his job to find out the truth.
I loved the characters of Evie and Bern and hope that the writer will decide to write another book with these characters. Bern is thoughtful and caring but deeply troubled by his time in the military. Evie is struggling with her relationships and her new position as safety officer at the plant.
A truly enjoyable mystery that keeps the reader enthralled with the scenery, the characters and their lives and the story to find out what happened to the victim and why? I love a good mystery and this one kept me enthralled.

5''''' out of 5 '''''
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Paperback
This author clearly enjoys words. If you've lived or visited British Columbia, you'll know she got the atmosphere just right.
The novel starts with action and then builds the characters and relationships in such a way that I cared about what happened to them. The novel made me think about the lives of people from a small town and what motivates them, sometimes all the way to murder. The plot twists kept me guessing and I love a good murder mystery.

It's cool to read about the beer brewing industry. Deryn has talent, and I'm looking forward to her next novel.

Great first novel!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.


Feedback