Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Tools
Confined Space and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
Confined Space has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 6.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Shipped from the US -- Expect delivery in 1-2 weeks. Great condition for a used book! Minimal wear. 100% Money Back Guarantee. Shipped to over one million happy customers. Your purchase benefits world literacy!
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See all 2 images

Confined Space Paperback – Jun 5 2012

8 customer reviews

See all 3 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
"Please retry"
CDN$ 19.99
CDN$ 19.99 CDN$ 0.01 Books Gift Guide

Frequently Bought Together

  • Confined Space
  • +
  • Open Secret
Total price: CDN$ 37.98
Buy the selected items together

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.

Product Details

  • Paperback: 400 pages
  • Publisher: Touchstone; Canadian Export edition (June 5 2012)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 145166947X
  • ISBN-13: 978-1451669473
  • Product Dimensions: 13.3 x 2.8 x 20.3 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 322 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.9 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #280,285 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description


“Fans of Dana Stabenow and Deborah Crombie rejoice! Deryn Collier's maiden outing is superbly written, densely layered, and marvelously suspenseful. Confined Space is a tour-de-force heralding an explosive new series guaranteed to please the traditional mystery lover.”
-Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times-bestselling author of One Was a Soldier

"The kind of book to curl up with and savour...but maybe not with a beer. Bern Fortin is an enigmatic coroner with a deeply layered past. Believable characters and a multi-layered plot. A thoroughly enjoyable read. Deryn Collier's debut novel keeps you up late reading to find out more."
-Peggy Blair, Author

“A great debut novel. Confined Space perfectly captures the unique beauty of the Kootenay area of British Columbia as it introduces two conflicted, engaging, completely realistic characters."
-Vicki Delany, Author

About the Author

Deryn Collier grew up in Ottawa and Montreal and is a graduate of McGill University. She now lives in Nelson, British Columbia, with her family and welcomes visitors to her blog at

Inside This Book

(Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt | Back Cover
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.9 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 8 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful By Amazon Customer on June 11 2012
Format: Paperback
What I most loved about Confined Space was the hero, Bern Fortin. He is kind, intelligent, a man who appreciates older women in all the best ways. Bern is not perfect; his war experiences have left him with a lot of baggage and sorrow. Deryn Collier develops every character with care and attention to detail, but the reader gets to know Bern the best. He is sympathetic and honorable. A man whom male and female alike would befriend - were he real. Evie, his counterpart in the story, is also a strong, complex and likeable character. Collier's writing is beautiful; lyrical, descriptive and interesting. The plot is a true mystery, not a thriller, and I personally love this kind of story. I got involved with characters, cared about what happened to them, and marveled along with them at the cruelty of the human psyche. The backdrop of the brewery, where the action takes place, is fascinating. Collier makes the process of creating beer almost sensual. I even got interested in gardening from the descriptions of Bern's green thumb skills - well, almost. I highly recommend this book as a good read for any gender, for mystery lovers, but also anyone who just loves a great story, vivid characters and gorgeous setting.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
We know small towns have secrets. Sometimes horrifying secrets. But that doesn't stop us from being seduced by an idyllic setting, or from hoping there are no dark places hiding in the picturesque.

The sleepy mountain town of Kootenay Landing is the setting for Deryn Collier's debut mystery, Confined Space. She chooses an unlikely location - a brewery - for a pair of unlikely deaths. A man dies in an apparent accident while repairing a bottle-washing tank, and his abducted girlfriend, kept captive in the same building, dies while attempting to escape.

Enter former soldier turned part-time coroner Bern Fortin. He's a man with heavy burdens: post traumatic stress disorder, one of his men awaiting trial for an unexplained crime, and a journalist digging into his past.

The townspeople surrounding Fortin are just as complex as they are ordinary, and Collier draws them with the skill that comes from a deep understanding of the human condition. For better or worse, they are as real as our own neighbours.

As for the mystery, Collier has constructed an engrossing plot that kept me up at night wanting to know what would happen next. There are no car chases here, no blood-curdling screams, and no obvious answers. The scale is utterly human, and the everyday Collier deftly weaves into the book - Bern Fortin sharing breakfast with his neighbour, tending his vegetable garden - makes the undiscovered murderer all the more menacing.

There are turns that are entirely unexpected, which is what every mystery reader craves. I will reveal nothing, and as someone who routinely blurts out lines before a character utters them, I don't mind admitting Collier delivered some genuine surprises.

The ending of Confined Space leaves plenty of unanswered questions. I have no qualms about the quality of sequels here. I'm eagerly anticipating the next installment.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
By Ien Van Houten on Jan. 27 2014
Format: Kindle Edition
The arrival of a good new mystery writer is always a cause for celebration. Drink a toast to this one, and make it a Kokanee, the popular beer out here in the Kootenays where the story takes place.

Meet the sleuth: Bern Fortin has retired from the Canadian Armed Forces to the small town of Kootenay Landing. His past includes harrowing tours of duty in Rwanda, Bosnia and Afghanistan. In his new life he hopes to heal his soul by learning to garden, and expiate his survival guilt by bearing witness for the dead: he has a part time job as a coroner. To the job he brings a soldier's sharp instincts, as well as a struggle with PTSD.

Bern is a wonderful character. Likable and complex, his outsider status in a small Western town is made even more obvious by the fact that he is originally a Francophone. Like so many fictional crime solvers he has a nosy neighbour who fusses over him, the formidable Mrs K., short for Kalesnikoff. Named not for the gun but for the sawmill, a real family-owned business thriving just West of Nelson. The town may be fictional, the location is real. The description of place and local culture adds real depth to the novel.

The story is set in a brewery. A worker has gone into a confined space by himself to fix a machine and come to a rather horrid ending. His death is a blow to the safety manager, whose rigid protocol should have prevented the accident. Or was it an accident? Could there be a connection between the death and some games played by corporate management? There is the usual thriller stuff with the usual surprise ending. Evie, the safety manager, is a well developed secondary character, a combination of damsel in distress and fellow sleuth. It is well done.

I hope this novel is the first of many.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Paperback
As a mystery/thriller, Confined Space hits all the right notes – a compelling cast of characters, an ever-escalating threat, intriguing setting, nail-biting suspense, and enough clues smattered throughout the story to keep you guessing. Coroner ,and former soldier, Bern Fortin is a deeply damaged but immediately likable hero, who sees his job as a duty; a duty to the dead. Another reviewer commented that Bern reminder her of a young Romeo Dallaire, and that is precisely the image I had as I read – a combination of inner strength, compassion, and keen intelligence, all coloured by a traumatic past. Collier has created a character that will leave readers wanting to know more long after the final page.

Safety Officer Evie Chappelle is the perfect counter/companion to Bern. Their secrets and their inner lives, combined with their natural attraction, makes the sexual and romantic tension between these two buzz.

What impressed me most, however, was how effectively Collier used location in this story, and how accurately she portrayed life in the mountains of British Columbia. What makes the deaths in Confined Space so impactful is not just the ‘how’ or ‘who’, but the ‘where’. In a small town, such as Kootenay Landing, where everyone knows everyone’s business, a single death can impact the entire community. A murder? Unthinkable.

Kootenay Landing is its own character. A refuge for some, a trap for others. Breathtaking natural beauty contrasted with a gritty, blue collar population. As with so many small towns, its life hinges on the success or failure of a single industry – the brewery, in this case. A threat to the brewery is a threat to everyone, and so the stakes are high from the moment a dead body is discovered in the bottle washer, and continue to climb.
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse