Conviction: a Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Conviction: a Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Conviction: A Sequel to Jane Austen's Pride and Prejudice [Paperback]

Skylar Hamilton Burris
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $6.31  
Paperback CDN $24.53  
Paperback, May 2004 --  
Amazon.ca's 2014 Books Gift Guide
2014 Books Gift Guide
Thug Kitchen, adapted from the wildly popular web site beloved by Gwyneth Paltrow ("This might be my favorite thing ever"), is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Book Description

May 2004
Conviction, a satirical, original sequel to Jane Austen's timeless classic Pride and Prejudice, reveals the romantic destiny of Georgiana Darcy. Yet the author does not rest on the laurels of Austen; she introduces an entirely new cast of characters, including an ambitious soldier, a wistful vicar, a flirtatious abolitionist, and an ordinary curate. The fates of these characters intertwine as each struggles to find the conviction to live out his or her own calling, while confronting issues of loyalty, courage, faith, and love. Conviction is not a novel merely for fans of Pride and Prejudice, but for all who take part in the ordinary struggles of humanity.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant read. June 24 2004
Format:Paperback
Loved this book, it is mainly about the growing up of Georgiana Darcy after the marriage of her brother to Elizabeth Bennet. It has many of the older loved characters from Pride and Prejudice but also some very good new ones. You could almost feel the pressure Georgiana was under when a young politican comes calling on her, he is so obnoxious but polite Georgiana puts up with him. You can see though this book how close Elizabeth and Georgiana become, as on many occasion Elizabeth sits with her whilst her unwelcome callers are there. Jane Elizabeth's sister has a young son and towards the end of the book Elizabeth and Darcy have a daughter.
Life is not easy for Georgiana as she becomes engaged to the wrong man but eventually all falls into place and she marries the man she loves.
I have read a few other books which have been dedicated to the growing up of Georgiana and found this to be one of the better ones. I can recommend this book to all Jane Austen sequel fans as a must.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars A Refreshingly Good Sequel July 13 2004
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
As a devoted Jane Austen fan, I have read dozens of sequels to her novels, and unfortunately, most fall far short. Not so with Conviction, the story of Georgiana Darcy's growth and love for vicar Jacob Markwood. Because he is a vicar, there is quite a bit of Christian theology in the book. While this may not be to everyone's tastes, as a hero, Markwood's idealism can melt hearts as much as Mr. Darcy himself.
Inasmuch as Conviction is a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, I also view it as a parallel or mirror image to Jane Austen's Persuasion. Just as Anne Elliot relinquishes Wentworth at the persuasion of another, Georgiana struggles with herself as she chooses the man amongst her many admirers whom she loves with conviction.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Definitely a 5-star book! June 1 2004
By A Customer
Format:Paperback
Conviction is not just a sequel to Pride and Prejudice, it is a stunning tapestry of human life. It is a story of love, passion, conflict, and, as the title suggests, conviction. Many new characters are introduced, all of them brought to life by the masterful pen of Burris. This is a story that everyone, whether a fan of Jane Austen or not, can enjoy. Please don't wait, buy this book today!
Was this review helpful to you?
By Maggie
Format:Paperback
I have read a number of Jane Austen "continuations," both fanfiction and published. I have to say that this is a brilliant piece of literature, written in the author's ow inimitable style. He prose is both elegant and informative, weaving through the novel showing the hands of a master. I would, indeed, read anything that this author publishes.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sequel! June 17 2004
Format:Paperback
Ms. Burris' and Pamela Aidan's sequels to P&P are my faves! Both are absolutely awesome!
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback