Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage SmartSaver Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools
CDN$ 51.52 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 84.51
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Sold by: USA_Seller_4_Canada
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Coronation Anthems

Price: CDN$ 51.52
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
3 new from CDN$ 51.52 5 used from CDN$ 2.18

Product Details

  • Audio CD (May 14 2002)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Universal Music Group
  • ASIN: B000065AHW
  • Other Editions: Audio CD
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #359,430 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. The King Shall Rejoice - Purcell
2. Come Holy Ghost - Boyce
3. Praise The Lord O Jerusalem - Boyce
4. The King Shall Rejoice - Handel
5. Exceeding Glad
6. Glory
7. Alleluia
8. Zadok The Priest - Handel
9. The Lord Is A Sun And Shield - Croft
10. Praise The Lord O Jerusalem - Clarke
11. Let My Prayer Come Up - Blow
12. The Lord God Is A Sun And Shield - Blow
13. I Was Glad - Purcell
14. My Heart Is Inditing - Purcell
15. Praise The Lord Of Jerusalem

Product Description

The Academy of Ancient Music and the Choir of New College Oxford join forces magnificently on this celebratory CD of 15 baroque coronation anthems. The tracklist runs in reverse order beginning with Boyce's music for George III, and continuing with Handel's for George II, Croft's for George I, Jeremiah Clarke's for Queen Anne, Blow's for William and Mary, and Purcell's for James II. The best-known work and the only one to have been retained for subsequent coronations is Handel's Zadok the Priest, which here gently pants through its suspense-filled introduction until the glorious full bloom of the choral entry complete with trumpets and drums. The boys sound in euphoric end-of-term voice. The men enjoy the romp. Handel's is the grand view of monarchy, splendidly regal, distant, proud and untouchable by the rejoicing crowds. Purcell's is a more private and personal view as expressed in the exquisite verse anthem My heart is inditing here performed with chamber delicacy. The trebles sing a strong, supplicating line in Blow's Let my prayer with the gentlemen a subtle backing. The orchestra glows throughout the disc and billows pneumatically in the opening Boyce anthem The King shall rejoice. This lacks the catchy invention of Handel's setting of the same words.--Rick Jones

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
a voice teacher and early music fan Jan. 5 2009
By George Peabody - Published on
Format: Audio CD
TWO SEPARATE KING'S COLLEGE CHOIRS ON THIS DISC: Sir Philip Ledger 1982 AND Sir David Willcocks 1965. Each choir equally excellent projecting Handel's music skillfully and in fact, beautifully. The soloists for Ledger's portion of the disc (bands 1-13) are: Paul Smy (treble), Michael Chance(alto), Charles Daniels (tenor) and Gerald Finley(bass). The soloists for bands 14-21 (Dixit Dominus) are: Theresa Zylis-Gara(soprano), Dame Janet Baker(mezzo-sop.)Martin Lane(alto),Robert Tear (tenor) and John Shirley-Quick (bass). All very fine!!!!

Handel's compositions in this genre had a functional quality, being written either for private chapel or for services marking important state events. One such occasion was the Coronation of King George II and his consort Queen Caroline in 1727. The service took place in Westminster Abbey on 11 October and was a splendid affair, its magnificence being mirrored in the four anthems that Handel composed for the occasion.

THE KING SHALL REJOICE opens and closes jubilantly, with trumpets and drums well to the fore. ZADOK THE PRIEST is the shortest-but the best known of the four anthems- and is a continuous work, with a lengthy introduction gradually building up tension before the choir bursts forth in a glorious blaze of sound. This famous anthem has been sung at every British Cornonation since 1727.

The central secion of LET THY HAND BE STRENGTHENED is slightly solemn, but like the first two anthems it ends with a triumphant 'Allelujah'. The two central movements of MY HEART IS INDITING are more lyrical then the outer ones, but the anthem ends with great magnificence, with trumpets and drums held in reserve until the energetic closing passage.

DIXIT DOMINUS is a setting of Psalm 109, and is used for Vespers throughout the year and this setting may have been written for performance at Easter. The eight movements are very varied in mood and texture, but are held together by a strong overall design.

This is indeed grand and glorious music, and it is sung superbly by the all-male King's College Choir with its clear-voiced boy sopranos, its velvet-toned male altos, its tuneful tenors and sonorous basses. Can't go wrong with this one, especially if you are a "Handelian".
Beautiful performances of superb music Dec 25 2006
By Gontroppo - Published on
Format: Audio CD
This CD has been recorded in reverse chronological order of first performances, so that the first work by Boyce was performed at George III's coronation in 1761, while the last one by Purcell, was written for the coronation of James II in 1685.

The Choir of New College Oxford and the Academy of Ancient Music performed the Boyce anthems from facsimiles of the orignal manuscript, including the original parts, held in the Bodleian Library, a stone's throw from New College.

Highly recommended CD.

Look for similar items by category