A Cowboy in the Kitchen and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.


or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
or
Amazon Prime Free Trial required. Sign up when you check out. Learn More
More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading A Cowboy in the Kitchen on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

A Cowboy in the Kitchen: Recipes from Reata and Texas West of the Pecos [Hardcover]

Grady Spears , Robb Walsh , Dick Patrick
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
List Price: CDN$ 43.00
Price: CDN$ 26.96 & FREE Shipping. Details
You Save: CDN$ 16.04 (37%)
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 2 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Want it delivered Thursday, September 18? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout.

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $26.96  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Dec 1 1998
Cookbook buyers and foodies the world over have come to count on Ten Speed to introduce exciting young chefs and up-and-coming cuisines. In the tradition of Mark Miller's COYOTE CAFE, ROY'S FEASTS FROM HAWAII, and CHARLIE TROTTER'S, we are proud to bring you a haute take on one of America's most traditional cuisines-that of the Texas ranch. But don't be thinking ribs, beans, and biscuits . . . . unless, of course, you're thinkin' South Texas Venison Ribs with Peanut Dipping Sauce, Black Bean Nachos with Chargrilled Chicken, and West Texas Biscuit Pudding with Southern Comfort en Glace. You see, at the Reata Restaurant in West Texas, hot new chef Grady Spears is cooking cowboy cuisine with an emphasis on the cuisine. Filled with fresh, strong flavors, fascinating ranch memorabilia (these Texans take their history seriously!), gorgeous full-color food photography, and truly marvelous, utterly real food, this is American cooking at its kick-off-your-boots-and-get-down-to-business greatest.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From Library Journal

Reata is the name (after the ranch in the movie Giant) of the restaurant Spears opened in Alpine, TX?part of the trans-Pecos region?in early 1995; since then, he and his partner have opened another booming Reata in Forth Worth. Spears thought he wanted to be a modern cowboy, but he ended up in restaurants instead, where he serves hearty, satisfying dishes like Grilled Strip Steak with Cilantro Butter, Jalape?o Beef Stew, and Creamed Spinach with Texas Tarragon. A Martha Stewart Living editor told him his menu was "such a throwback it seems new," but Spears adds his own twist to these dishes, and with coauthor Walsh, he tells a good story, too. Recommended for area and most other larger collections.
Copyright 1998 Reed Business Information, Inc.

About the Author

Food writer ROBB WALSH has won the James Beard Award for his magazine feature writing. He is a columnist for Natural History, former food editor of the Austin Chronicle, a contributing editor for the American Way, a commentator on NPR's "Weekend Edition" and the founder and head judge of the Austin Hot Sauce Contest, the world's largest hot sauce contest.
GRADY SPEARS was the founding chef and co-owner of the Reata restaurants in Alpine and Fort Worth, Texas, and Beverly Hills, California. His food is now a hit at the historic Nutt House Hotel restaurant in Granbury, Texas, and at the Chisholm Club in Fort Worth, Texas.

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IT JUST DOES NOT GET BETTER Dec 20 2002
Format:Hardcover
OUTSTANDING ORGANIZATION.FEWER RECIPES BUT VERY COMPLETE.EASY TO FOLLOW.ESPECIALLY THE INFO ON GETTING THE RIGHT INGREDIENTS.ILLUSTRATIONS ARE ON THE RECIPE PAGE,FOR A CHANGE-VERY HELPFUL.PRACTICAL AND ELEGANT.A GOOD READ JUST BY ITSELF.THE SECTION ON BEEF AND BUYING BEEF IS BETTER THAN THE TEXAS BEEF COUNCIL ADVICE. A GOOD BUY AND REASONABLE.THE RECIPES GIVE YOU SOME OF THE MOST OUTSTANDING FOOD YOU CAN COOK YOURSELF.
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.8 out of 5 stars  35 reviews
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I use these recipes ALL THE TIME!! Oct. 18 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
What a fantastic cookbook. I saw a copy at my parents' house, and I was charmed by the photos and design, so I hinted at a birthday gift selection. The parents obliged, and A COWBOY IN THE KITCHEN has become my favorite cookbook. I discovered that the terrific photos and graphics are only the tip of the iceberg -- the recipes are just fantastic. I have made probably 8 or 9 of them so far, and every one was a joy to make and even more of a joy to eat! In particular, the Spicy Tomato Soup with Sourdough Croutons has been a real hit with friends at dinner parties. The classic Chicken Fried Steak with Cream Gravy is simply divine. It's a great combination of old-timey, classic country comfort food and new-fangled, flavorsome delights. The classic Ranch Dressing and fancier Sherry Vinaigrette have become the standard salad dressings in my kitchen. I can't say enough good things about this book!
17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grady Spears; A culinary genius! May 22 2000
By Heath Holland - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Grady Spears has written a book that can teach anyone how to cook his West Texas cowboy cuisine! He puts thing in a perspective that is simple to follow. As he states in the book, he can do this because he is not really a chef, he's just a cowboy in the kitchen!
Recipes for things such as Reata grill blend, cilantro butter, sourdough biscuts, and my favorite, buttermilk biscuts with pecans are so savory you'll feel like you're in the beautiful West Texas scenery in the book.
This book is a must for any aspiring cowboy chef!
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Required reading for Texans living in exile Aug. 21 2000
By P. J. Willson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Grady Spears has generated a terrific cookbook, but it is also just a splendid evocation of West Texas. Texans living far from chicken fried steaks now have the ultimate recipe. The Reata Blend is worth the price of the book! Great chefs do not always produce great books, but Grady Spears has a gift for teaching people how to cook food his way. One of my favorite cookbooks.
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Grady Spears is my hero... Jan. 26 2000
By Laura Opela - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
I absolutely love this cookbook with some great stories! The Reata Grill Blend & Pasilla Powder are new staples in my kitchen. I've tried lots of the recipes & have loved everyone of them--can't wait to try some more. My all time fave is the Cream of Jalapeno soup.
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, practical, and funny. This cookbook delivers! June 14 1999
By A Customer - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Hardcover
Grady Spears's cookbook is the greatest. I bought it for my husband (the meat and potatoes type) who loves to cook, but really hates bland food. Each recipe has a short description that includes the origin of the recipe as well as serving suggestions. The variety of recipes, from the hearty Oven-Roasted Tenderloin of Pork with Apple Poblano Chutney to the mouth watering Bacon-wrapped shrimp with onion marmalade, ensures that this is more than just another regional cookbook. Some of the chapters include: "Chuck-wagon game birds and seafood," "Dutch Ovens and One-Pot meals," "Potatoes, Vegetables and other Touchy Subjects," and many more. This is one of those cookbooks that you will enjoy reading as much as you enjoy trying the recipes. It's well worth buying!!
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback