Start reading Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan Novels) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Read books on your computer or other mobile devices with our FREE Kindle Reading Apps.
Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan Novels)
 
See larger image
 

Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan Novels) [Kindle Edition]

Kathy Reichs
3.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 12.99
Kindle Price: CDN$ 10.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 2.00 (15%)
Sold by: Simon & Schuster Canada, Inc.
This price was set by the publisher

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $22.37  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $11.69  
Audio, CD, Abridged, Audiobook CDN $13.13  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance "Tempe" Brennan gets caught in mysteries past and present when she's called in to determine if illegal antiquities dealer Avram Ferris's gunshot death is murder or suicide. An acquaintance of Avram suggests the former: he hands Tempe a photograph of a skeleton, taken in Israel in 1963, and insists it's the reason Avram is dead. Tempe's longtime boyfriend, Quebecois detective Andrew Ryan, is also involved with the case, so the duo head to Israel where they attempt to solve the murder and a mystery revolving around a first-century tomb that may contain the remains of the family of Jesus Christ. This find threatens the worldwide Christian community, the Israeli and Jewish hierarchy and numerous illegal antiquity dealers, any of whom might be out to kill Tempe and Ryan. Not that Tempe notices. She has the habit of being oblivious to danger, which quickly becomes annoying, as does Reichs's tendency to end chapters with a heavy-handed cliffhanger ("His next words sent ice up my spine"). The plot is based on a number of real-life anthropological mysteries, and fans of such will have a good time, though thriller readers looking for chills and kills may not find the novel quite as satisfying.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

In the eighth entry in Reichs' popular mystery series, forensic anthropologist Tempe Brennan spends more time contemplating biblical history than modern-day murder. A preface sets the stage, providing a bit of factual context for the puzzle that emerges when Tempe is given a photo of an articulated skeleton, which she is told is the key to the suspicious death of a slightly shady Orthodox Jewish merchant. The legend on the back of a photo leads to the bones themselves, 2,000-year-old remains that excite not only Tempe but also her friend Jake Drum, a biblical archaeologist, who suggests that the bones might even belong to Jesus himself! Unlike Tempe's previous forays into the world of crime, this episode isn't long on thrills. Instead, we get a fairly complicated lesson in biblical history, some radical theory to ponder, and the itch to read real-life religion professor James Tabor's upcoming book about Masada and ancient bones, The Jesus Dynasty, to which Reichs refers in an afterword. Yet another read-alike for Da Vinci Code fans. Stephanie Zvirin
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 2635 KB
  • Print Length: 496 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0743453026
  • Publisher: Scribner; Reprint edition (June 28 2005)
  • Sold by: Simon & Schuster Canada, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000FCKDLO
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.1 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #45,022 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Bones series Nov. 26 2012
By CJ
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
an excelent listen, I buy audio books to listen to while i travel and the bones series has me sitting on the edge of my seat and anxious to get the next one
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars A convoluted tale April 7 2012
By Jan
Format:Mass Market Paperback
The storyline had glimpses of intrigue, but it was so jammed with excess characters and unecessary detail that it became tedious. It was also very repetitive, as though the author knew she was constantly losing her audience and had to keep reminding them of the plot. I kept going hoping for an exciting and satisfying ending, but it was not to be. In fact, the main story got sidelined and it all ended with a pitiful wimper. To me the best part was the sweet and sassy relationship between the two main characters.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much details June 26 2007
By Toni Osborne TOP 100 REVIEWER
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This author was recommended to me but I should have asked which book to buy this one definitely wasn't to my liking. Reading this novel you get an insight into forensic anthropology and biblical history. The story is slow, complex and I found it boring and over taxed with details.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Kathy Reichs' Da Vinci Code Jan. 5 2012
By Lady Sam TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Cross Bones - well, this story covers what it appears to be ... let's call it a crossover between Suspense and the DaVinci Code. Yes, excavations in Israel, religious beliefs and Jesus' story and family life come under scrutiny as well as the desperate attempt by certain fractions to not let it get out of hand - speak, not losing the long lasting control over others and/or exploiting the same for various reasons. And while I do side with those believing that old graves should not be plundered, put under the microscope and then exhibited in museums but instead left in peace - be they Egyptian mummies, Neanderthal bones or bones seemingly of important people - I do disagree with violent methods and bullying tactics to get their way.
It all starts fairly innocently with the apparent suicide of a local business man ... being locked up in a closet with his pet cats ... hence the need for an anthropologist. The autopsy is being fought, unsuccessfully, however, beliefs are being respected to a degree possible, so the morgue becomes rather crowded. And then a photograph comes to light that complicates everything, eventually leading both Dr Brennan and Andrew Ryan to Israel.
As always, Kathy Reichs is very detailed in her descriptions - not only covering a different forensic or anthropological issue with every new novel but the author also makes sure that the reader always receives detailed information of the surroundings Tempe is in as well as what people look like as well as their characteristics and behaviour. Be that through detailed descriptions or even a map of the area visited - although there are times when I would happily see even further details. Overall, the reader is never left in the dark - even with details provided in other storylines - Kathy Reichs always seems to find a way to interweave necessary reminders and information to be enough for first-time readers without boring those having enjoyed previous adventures. Well Done, Kathy!
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which to die. &quote;
Highlighted by 36 Kindle users
&quote;
The Torah, the Bible, the Koran. Each offers a recipe for spiritual contentment, for hope, for love, and for controlling basic human passions, and each claims to have gotten the recipe straight from God, but via a different messenger. Theyre all just trying to provide a formula for orderly, spiritual living, but somehow the message gets twisted, like cells in a body turning cancerous. Self-appointed spokesmen declare the boundaries of correct belief, outsiders are labeled heretics, and the faithful are called upon to attack them. &quote;
Highlighted by 31 Kindle users
&quote;
Even if youre on the right track, youll get run over if you just sit there. Will Rogers, I identified the quote. &quote;
Highlighted by 13 Kindle users


Look for similar items by category


ARRAY(0xabeb5624)