Start reading Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan)
 
See larger image
 

Cross Bones (Temperance Brennan) [Kindle Edition]

Kathy Reichs
3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)

Print List Price: CDN$ 12.99
Kindle Price: CDN$ 10.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 2.00 (15%)
Sold by: Simon & Schuster Canada, Inc.
This price was set by the publisher

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $22.37  
Paperback --  
Mass Market Paperback CDN $11.69  
Audio, CD, Abridged, Audiobook CDN $13.13  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Forensic anthropologist Dr. Temperance "Tempe" Brennan gets caught in mysteries past and present when she's called in to determine if illegal antiquities dealer Avram Ferris's gunshot death is murder or suicide. An acquaintance of Avram suggests the former: he hands Tempe a photograph of a skeleton, taken in Israel in 1963, and insists it's the reason Avram is dead. Tempe's longtime boyfriend, Quebecois detective Andrew Ryan, is also involved with the case, so the duo head to Israel where they attempt to solve the murder and a mystery revolving around a first-century tomb that may contain the remains of the family of Jesus Christ. This find threatens the worldwide Christian community, the Israeli and Jewish hierarchy and numerous illegal antiquity dealers, any of whom might be out to kill Tempe and Ryan. Not that Tempe notices. She has the habit of being oblivious to danger, which quickly becomes annoying, as does Reichs's tendency to end chapters with a heavy-handed cliffhanger ("His next words sent ice up my spine"). The plot is based on a number of real-life anthropological mysteries, and fans of such will have a good time, though thriller readers looking for chills and kills may not find the novel quite as satisfying.
Copyright © Reed Business Information, a division of Reed Elsevier Inc. All rights reserved.

From Booklist

In the eighth entry in Reichs' popular mystery series, forensic anthropologist Tempe Brennan spends more time contemplating biblical history than modern-day murder. A preface sets the stage, providing a bit of factual context for the puzzle that emerges when Tempe is given a photo of an articulated skeleton, which she is told is the key to the suspicious death of a slightly shady Orthodox Jewish merchant. The legend on the back of a photo leads to the bones themselves, 2,000-year-old remains that excite not only Tempe but also her friend Jake Drum, a biblical archaeologist, who suggests that the bones might even belong to Jesus himself! Unlike Tempe's previous forays into the world of crime, this episode isn't long on thrills. Instead, we get a fairly complicated lesson in biblical history, some radical theory to ponder, and the itch to read real-life religion professor James Tabor's upcoming book about Masada and ancient bones, The Jesus Dynasty, to which Reichs refers in an afterword. Yet another read-alike for Da Vinci Code fans. Stephanie Zvirin
Copyright © American Library Association. All rights reserved

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 3891 KB
  • Print Length: 496 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 0743453026
  • Publisher: Scribner; Reprint edition (June 28 2005)
  • Sold by: Simon & Schuster Canada, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B000FCKDLO
  • Text-to-Speech: Not enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 3.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (8 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #17,233 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A good read..... Nov. 20 2005
Format:Hardcover
If you like the suspense/thriller genre, you should like this book and the preceeding ones. "Cross Bones" was my first Reichs novel and am happy to report that it is a good read.
Detailed, with a flair for throwing in a lot of scientific/historical information.
I read this book first, and then went back and read her earlier novels. This book hooked me on the entire series, and I read them all within a couple of weeks.
The only complaint I do have is in detail Reich includes in areas that are not necessary. She goes a little overboard in describing locations, local history, and scenery, when its not needed. Its a bit tiresome due to the volume of detail needed to address the forensics in this, and each prior novel, but nonetheless, its a great read.
You won't be disappointed in this and the prior novels if you enjoy writers such as Dan Brown, Nelson DeMille, or Elizabeth Kostova for that matter.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Cross Bones May 31 2014
By Iwona
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
As excellent as ever. Very intriguing concept. I wish the book would bring an ultimate proof and closure, but that's too much to ask
even a very good novel to do, isn't it?
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Bones series Nov. 26 2012
By CJ
Format:Audio CD|Verified Purchase
an excelent listen, I buy audio books to listen to while i travel and the bones series has me sitting on the edge of my seat and anxious to get the next one
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars A convoluted tale April 7 2012
By Jan
Format:Mass Market Paperback
The storyline had glimpses of intrigue, but it was so jammed with excess characters and unecessary detail that it became tedious. It was also very repetitive, as though the author knew she was constantly losing her audience and had to keep reminding them of the plot. I kept going hoping for an exciting and satisfying ending, but it was not to be. In fact, the main story got sidelined and it all ended with a pitiful wimper. To me the best part was the sweet and sassy relationship between the two main characters.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Popular Highlights

 (What's this?)
&quote;
Good health is merely the slowest possible rate at which to die. &quote;
Highlighted by 36 Kindle users
&quote;
The Torah, the Bible, the Koran. Each offers a recipe for spiritual contentment, for hope, for love, and for controlling basic human passions, and each claims to have gotten the recipe straight from God, but via a different messenger. Theyre all just trying to provide a formula for orderly, spiritual living, but somehow the message gets twisted, like cells in a body turning cancerous. Self-appointed spokesmen declare the boundaries of correct belief, outsiders are labeled heretics, and the faithful are called upon to attack them. &quote;
Highlighted by 31 Kindle users
&quote;
Even if youre on the right track, youll get run over if you just sit there. Will Rogers, I identified the quote. &quote;
Highlighted by 13 Kindle users


Look for similar items by category