Dance Expressions has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Dance Expressions
  • Sorry, this item is not available in

Dance Expressions Import

Price: CDN$ 22.00 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Usually ships within 2 to 4 weeks.
Ships from and sold by Gift-wrap available.
18 new from CDN$ 14.21 1 used from CDN$ 22.42

Product Details

1. Fanfare
2. Procession And The Congratulations Of The Noble Boys
3. The Bullfight
4. The Infanta
5. The Puppets
6. Minuet Of The Dancing Boys Of The Church Of Nuestra Senora Del Pilaz
7. The Dwarf's Three Dances: I. With The Wind In Spring
8. The Dwarf's Three Dances: II. The Dance In Blue Sandals Over The Corn
9. The Dwarf's Three Dances: III. The Dance In Red Raiment In Autumn
10. The Rose
11. The Mirror
12. Gentle Movement
13. Rocking Movement, Like A Waltz
14. Like The Beginning. Tempo 1
15. Valse Lente
16. Festwalzer Und Walzerintermezzo
17. Der Wind
18. Sarabande
19. Menuett
20. Madrigal
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
Shreker or Schreker......? from Argentina May 13 2010
By Claudio Berrotaran - Published on
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
This is a wonderful recording, including some obscure pieces as "The wind", which are among the most beautiful of Schreker. The interpretation and the recording are peerless, and the music is pure Schreker: lush, subtle and full of color...The daughter of the composer lived here in Argentina after the war, and wrote a very interesant book about her father.
Fantastic production Aug. 11 2013
By JJA Kiefte - Published on
Format: Audio CD
Franz Schreker is not a household name, but very slowly more recordings are appearing and justly so. This CD is brimful with delightful late-romantic music, melodious, happily sparkling tunes, brilliantly orchestrated, that never overstay their welcome (the longest piece lasts little over 10 minutes).
The pieces were written not for a formal ballet performance, but for the then new discipline of interpretative dancing (I trust it will not have been along the lines of David Armand). Between 1908 and 1910 Schreker wrote six such pieces of which the five remaining appear here (one was lost).
As far as I can tell, the Swiss orchestra under American conductor John Axelrod plays the music exceptionally well and the recording is very good (wonderfully transparent and sonorous, with the delicate winds and harps being clearly audible while retaining enough bass). The only thing that might be not quite the ticket is the unimaginative cover artwork, but that's one very minor niggle (the cover is different from the one shown here).

Look for similar items by category