Add to Cart
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.

More Buying Choices
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Image Unavailable

Image not available for
  • Sorry, this item is not available in


Price: CDN$ 29.86 & FREE Shipping. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
6 new from CDN$ 20.65

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought

Product Details

Disc: 1
1. Sinfonia 3:46
2. Recitativo Micol, diletta sposa David, Micol 2:17
3. Aria Al genitor mio Re Micol 7:42
4. Recitativo Né t'inganna il tuo amor Gionata, David 1:15
5. Aria Quale augellino al monte David 5:50
6. Recitativo S'io t'ami, il sai Gionata, David, MicolRecitativo accompagnato Eccelso Dio, che scorgi DavidRecitativo Quasi al partir di lui Micol, Gionata 3:19
7. Aria Contra un padre ingiusto e crudo Gionata 4:03
8. Recitativo È sì vile in Saul dunque un comando Saul 1:20
9. Aria Stringe Iddio l'ultrice spada Saul 4:10
10. Recitativo Signor, so per lung'uso Abner, Saul 2:49
See all 21 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. Aria Giusto prezzo a iniquità! David 6:07
2. Recitativo Piaccia al Ciel Gionata, David 0:40
3. Aria Caro amico, sì caro mi sei Gionata 4:56
4. Recitativo Quanto nell'uomo, che invecchiò in mal uso Abner 1:32
5. Aria Al fianco anzi vorrei Abner 8:42
6. Recitativo Ite a David in traccia Falti, Abner 2:56
7. Aria Non so se al sussurrar magiche note Falti 5:26
8. Recitativo Vecchio costume degl'iniqui è questo Abner, Falti 0:52
9. Recitativo accompagnato Lasciatemi a me stesso Saul 1:36
10. Preludio 1:31
See all 21 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: 4 reviews
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
refreshingly original Dec 4 2007
By Christian V. Pampinella - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Why this recording might have failed to make a favorable impression on the previous reviewer may forever remain a mystery. This is a very strong performance of a highly noteworthy oratorio. Conti's harmonic language is not that of Handel or Vivaldi, and there are some unique moments in the recitatives that may leave the listener surprised and delighted. The sheer freshness and excitement conveyed by this new recording of a mostly forgotten composer are tangible, and the serious nature of this work command the listener's attention from the first notes of the overture. The rather large orchestra sounds excellent! Each aria stands up to repeated listenings, and the singers ornament extensively and tastefully, and treat us to fine cadenzas where appropriate. The pair of David and Jonathon, sung by Mijanovic and Christensen respectively, get some of the finest numbers in the work, and the scenes in which they sing together seem to have received extra special compositional attention from Conti. Mijanovic is in especially fine form here, singing with sensitivity that seems to be lacking from some of her other recent recordings.

The "harp scene" in which David comforts Saul is absolutely mesmerizing. Conti was a theorbo virtuoso originally imported to the Habsburg court from Italy as an orchestral musician in the service of the Holy Roman Emperor. His skill as an opera composer eventually earned him the status of the preferred opera composer of the court, and he aptly demonstrates his talents in this scene. The hypnotic repeated notes of the theorbo obbligato slowly unfurl into a graceful chain of suspensions that lead into a recitativo accompagnato followed by a very long aria. Jakob Lindberg's performance of the theorbo obbligato here bears mentioning, as it is especially fine and every second of this fifteen minute long scene is simply ravishing. As one might expect in a Viennese oratorio of this period, there are other obbligato arias, including trombone and violin. Oddly, this was recorded in 2003 and is only being released now. However, this should not deter. This sounds like it could have been recorded yesterday and should not be passed up for any reason. Excellent, a top pick for 2007.
Rare Recording of a Brilliant Composer Feb. 24 2014
By Alan G. Choate Esq - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
There are few recordings of Conti's music, but he is brilliant. Great performance here. We can only hope more will become available.
2 of 4 people found the following review helpful
Great Unknown Work May 18 2008
By Stephen R. Jones - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Really enjoyed this work by a composer I didn't know. M. Mijanonvic is wonderful as David. Alan Curtis and Complessor Barocco good as always.

Compares well with Handel's Saul
8 of 20 people found the following review helpful
Unfortunately, not compelling Nov. 24 2007
By Frank Paris - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
I listened to this over and over again, trying to get into it. But there is a repetitiveness to the composition that I just find annoying. Of course the performance and recording are great. But believe me, this ain't no Handel or Vivaldi. I don't regard it as a great "discovery" as certain reviews have claimed for it. Just to let you know I'm not inexperienced in listening to baroque opera, I probably have 50 different recordings of Handel's operas and oratorios, all of Vivaldi's recent opera recordings (now THERE'S some real discoveries!), a dozen or so Rameau operas, recordings by Lully and Purcell, the list goes on and on. This one just doesn't hack it. Very disappointing.