Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en franšais ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt [Paperback]

Chris Hedges , Joe Sacco
4.4 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (7 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Paperback CDN $14.40  
Paperback, June 12 2012 --  
Save Up to 90% on Textbooks
Hit the books in Amazon.ca's Textbook Store and save up to 90% on used textbooks and 35% on new textbooks. Learn more.
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

June 12 2012

Amazon.ca Editors' Pick: Best Books of 2012

With illustrations by award-winning comic artist Joe Sacco, Chris Hedges portrays a suffering nation on the cusp of widespread revolt and addresses Occupy Wall Street in his first book since the international protests began.
 
In the tradition of Let Us Now Praise Famous Men, Hedges and Sacco travel to the depressed pockets of the United States to report on recession-era America. What they find in Camden, New Jersey, the devastated coalmines of West Virginia, on the Lakota reservation in South Dakota, and in undocumented farmworker colonies in California is a thriving neofeudalism. With extraordinary on-the-ground reportage and illustration, Days of Destruction, Days of Revolt provides a terrifying glimpse of a future for America and the nations that follow her lead--a future that will be avoided with nothing short of revolution. 

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

Review

INTERNATIONAL BESTSELLER
 
“Despite its subject matter, Sacco’s work glows with warmth, humanity, and even humor, but it also has an undercurrent of urgency—like it’s shaking us by the lapels, insisting that we pay attention.”
The Stranger
 
“The portraits . . . are powerful, and Sacco’s graphic artistry is compelling.”
Philadelphia Inquirer
 
“While the statistics and situations . . . [Hedges and Sacco] report on are shocking enough, the illustrations, which are often combined with a local’s first-hand account, add gravitas to the stories.”
National Post
 
“A heartfelt, harrowing picture of post-capitalist America.”
The Guardian

“An unabashedly polemic, angry manifesto that is certain to open eyes, intensify outrage and incite argument about corporate greed. . . . A call for a new American revolution, passionately proclaimed.”
Kirkus Reviews (starred review)

About the Author

Chris Hedges, a senior fellow at the Nation Institute and Truthdig columnist, is a Pulitzer Prize-winning author and journalist. His books include such bestsellers as Empire of Illusion, Death of the Liberal Class and the National Book Award-nominated War Is a Force that Gives Us Meaning. He lives in Princeton, New Jersey.
 
Joe Sacco, one of the world's foremost cartoonists, is the author of, among other books, Palestine, which received the American Book Award, and Safe Area Goražde, which won the Eisner Award and was named Time magazine's best comic book of 2000. His books have been translated into 14 languages and his comics reporting has appeared in Details, The New York Times Magazine, Time, and Harper's. He lives in Portland, Oregon.

Inside This Book (Learn More)
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Table of Contents | Excerpt | Index
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
4.4 out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "We have met the enemy and he is us.".....Pogo Sept. 8 2012
By Ronald W. Maron TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Using an intriguing style that utilizes both pulp fiction and literary non-fiction styles, Hedges and Sacco have developed a disturbing, yet honest, view of the 'voiceless masses of America'. Being not only previously defeated in former protests but totally unorganized, without political representation and lacking in funding, the four segments of society that were chosen should only be looked upon as being one of the many, one of the nameless victims to unfettered capitalism. The way out of this morass, to be honest, seems to be a near impossibility. While the authors spend a great deal of time at the text's end heralding the Occupy Movement, the result of such an spontaneous process seems, at best, very limited. Why? There are two reasons. First of all the moneyed 1% not only control the economics of the country but its political system as well. And, by doing so, the crowds were broken up through the simple use of police brutality. Across the country this was done not only in an coordinated manner but done under the guises of ignoring one of our sacred Constitutional rights, that of legal protest. The other reason for Occupy's apparent failure lies with the protestors themselves. When the group occupying Zuccotti Square first became newsworthy we immediately related it to the 1960s protests and, in turn, became very hopeful. But this era had one thing that this time is lacking; "skin in the game". It was members of that generation because they had dark skin that were being lynched, beaten and treated inhumanely. It was their personal pain that led to the initiation of those protests. Also, it was members of this generation that held 1A Draft Cards which were a near guarantee of being sent to the killing fields of Southeast Asia. It was them that first chanted "Hell no, we won't go. Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By Van
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Eye-opening assessment of what has been wrong with America, since the GOP (Greedy Old Plutocracy) and Neo-Democrats have been messing with America. Presents a clear view of what must happen here to reverse the recent decent of our nation into virtual-despotism, offering a future holding little hope for any of our citizens, but to watch the ultra-rich rationalize their unearned accumulation of massive yet unproductive gilt.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Days of destruction days of Revolt Aug. 28 2012
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This book is a polemic, and an angry one at that.

We need more Sacco and Hedges to write/draw these pictures of the U.S. as it is lived in some of the poorest pockets of the country. It is a call to action and a move from armchair anger to on-the-street objection to what the élite are doing to our culture, our environment and our fellow human beings.

If you like Alain Badieu's message (try his latest - The rebirth of History: Times of Riots and Uprisings, 2012) but find his often dense writing difficult, then go for Hedges and Sacco. Like Badieu, they say it's time to move beyond party politics because the Democrats and the Republicans, both irrevocably in bed with the power élite, are beyond redemption.

S&H give us some clear and depressing pictures of lived America from Pine Ridge, South Dakota, to Camden New Jersey, to Welch West Virginia to Immokalee, Florida. As Zinn and others have shown us, the history of the U.S. is one of power versus constant uprisings by common people. Frederick Douglass (a slave who became a social reformer who is quoted in the book) said, "The limits of tyrants are prescribed by the endurance of those whom they oppress." He was talking of the American political and economic élite.

Hedges (perhaps in a rush to get a desperate message out) sometimes bleeds different interviews together with abandon, which can make for a scatter-shot approach. But this too can be seen as part of the immediacy of the situation.

What Badieu calls "immediate riot" is perhaps similar to the starting point of the Wall Street protests: they are somewhat chaotic, largely youthful, and (something the mainstream media grasps with glee) not always focused— what do these people want, etc?
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars The end of the american dream? July 12 2014
By jpguy13
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
This is a great combination.

Most of the text is written by Chris Hedges, with short vignettes by Joe Sacco throughout the book.

It's a compelling read that paints a very harsh picture of the other side of the United States.

We are far from Hollywood, in the backwoods of the American dream, looking at the cracks that are appearing everywhere in that society. It's a stunning book, that will certainly make an impression.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?

Look for similar items by category


Feedback