Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Music Deals Store SGG Home, Kitchen and Garden Gift Guide

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars15
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: HardcoverChange
Price:$131.75+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 12, 2002
This book summarizes the high points of what in past years would have been at least 50% of the course work for obtaining a BSEE. As a result of compressing this information into a single volume, the coverage is superficial and only presents results and not derivations. This is a good first book on the subject and will get you oriented so that reading more detailed books will be easier. There are errors that are easily spotted, such as a passive mixer with more output signal power than input power. The author sets up straw men by misconstruing conventional wisdom and shows how he has found the true light. After reading this book you should have the technical skill level of what in past years would be an advanced level amateur radio hobbyist or middle level electronic technician.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 10, 2000
Possibly the most well-written book on CMOS design I have ever read. Relaxed, readable style and an emphasis on core ideas and rule-of-thumb design rules, makes this an extremely useful practical guide, as well as a great introduction to a complex topic. Some excellent advanced material on oscillator design too. I particularly liked the first and last chapters giving a history of radio design - very interesting background. I think the best compliment I can give this book is that I found it difficult to put down - for a circuits textbook, that is truly an incredible achievement!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 22, 2001
The first chapter of this book gives a history of radio design with schematics. The cmos portion gives a good coverage of RF components, smith charts, CMOS inductors, Bandwidth estimation techniques etc. More an RF issues book than a cmos layout book with almost all layout examples being single components. This is an excellent single issue book focused on Radio design specifically CMOS radio design. Those looking for a book focused on CMOS design should buy this book in addition to another.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 5, 2004
In regards to the first edition. This book is not a cookbook for design, but more an introductory "textbook", which follows with end of chapter problems. Although, it IS very useful for design. The chapters introducing noise and LNA's are excellent. Good chapters on RF PA'S ,Feedback, and PLL's. It is pretty widely known to be a must have in this subject area. The analysis pushes the envelope and is cutting edge for its time to paper. Look forward to checking out the 2nd edition.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 24, 2000
It was sheer pleasure reading this book, its insightful and practical - particularly the sections on history of some of the inventions. The writer comes out as a master and a guru with lot of enthusiasm about the subject. Another book I considered insightful reading was 'Art of Electronis' by Hayes. I would request readers to point out similarly well-written books so that we could all benefit from these treasures. Again my hats off to the author.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 24, 2009
Dr. Lee actually makes theory easy to read. I've been using the book as a reference for my RF-CMOS course and his methodology clarifies everything beautifully. His wit and humour make the subject matter easy to bear.

I gave the book four stars because it could be improved by adding some colour to the pages and some more descriptive figures. On the whole it is a great book for someone who is just getting started in RF-CMOS and wants a clear text.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 12, 2003
This is a mediocre book, there are other books in the market
which are just as good or better, I am suprised by the 5 stars
rating on this book...
So, I am leaving this review here to caution future
buyers: Don't be lured by the rating, I am in RFIC design and
I have this book but I haven't use this book for more than a
year now, it justs sits in my shelf.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2001
This book presents the material in a conversational manner. The strength of this book is that it includes many important, rarely discussed topics. It also contains an interesting history of Radio Frequency Circuits. However it needs more examples and a more extensive listing of its references.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2000
This book is the best written, light hearted, and historically accurate rendition of CMOS design.
Very easy reading that is peppered with little factoids and anecdotes.
Look for the footnotes.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 6, 2000
Thomas H. Lee has assembled one of the easiest and most enjoyable books to read on the topic of CMOS RF Design. A "cut to the chase" book for folks who wish to gain a working knowledge.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse