Start reading Devil's Hand (Drawing Thin Book 1) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
Devil's Hand (Drawing Thin Book 1)
 
See larger image
 

Devil's Hand (Drawing Thin Book 1) [Kindle Edition]

M. E. Patterson
5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)

Print List Price: CDN$ 14.97
Kindle Price: CDN$ 1.05 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 13.92 (93%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $1.05  
Paperback CDN $15.31  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Product Description

A Las Vegas poker ace with supernatural luck is swept into a world-ending conflict between fallen angels and otherworldly shades, in a thrilling debut novel for readers who enjoy Dean Koontz, Jim Butcher, and Tim Powers.

The lone survivor of a tragic plane crash, Trent Hawkins inherited a mysterious lucky streak that made him famous, and hated, in the poker circles of the City of Sin. It wasn't long before the eyes in the sky threw him on the blacklist and chased him out of town. Now, after years away, Trent returns to Las Vegas, and walks right back into trouble.

As a serial kidnapper terrorizes the city, Trent and his wife, Susan, rescue a strange, thirteen year-old girl, only to find themselves caught in a fallen angel's plot to cleanse Las Vegas with an unholy blizzard.

The neon begins to dim, the city freezes, and Trent is forced to make terrible sacrifices in order to protect his new charge, and learns dark truths about himself and the creatures plotting against mankind. Poker-playing demons, fallen angels, and otherworldly shades all vie to enlist his strange luck, and Trent must choose his role in the coming War, or watch our world fall to ruin beneath a blanket of shadow and ice.

About the Author

M. E. Patterson is an author and information technologist. He lives in the Texas Hill Country with a geochemist and a dog.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 507 KB
  • Print Length: 345 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 098384481X
  • Publisher: Digimonkey Studios; 1 edition (Dec 8 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B005EM2PE8
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #546,972 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
5.0 out of 5 stars
5.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Read! March 9 2012
Format:Paperback
Simply put, Devil's Hand was a great read cover to cover. I recommend anyone with a sense of passion for horror to read this novel. Patterson, in my opinion, couldn't of done a better job on a breakout book than what he accomplished here. Being a writer myself, I can appreciate the extent in which an author like Patterson went to in order to fully round out and complete this novel to what it is: an in-depth, non-stop thrill.

I will definately be waiting for book #2 to arrive on Amazon.com!

6/6 - Fantastic Read!

-James. I-
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.4 out of 5 stars  81 reviews
22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wild trip through the Vegas underground Nov. 15 2011
By Gabino Iglesias - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Generally speaking, thrillers are the kind of books where action sequences are followed by sections with a slower tempo that offer the reader a respite from the heart-pounding action. In the case of "Devil's Hand" - local author Matt Patterson's first novel - the pace is kept at a frantic speed throughout the whole story and the action sequences just add a touch of fear, adrenaline, darkness and violence that make the story as entertaining as any thriller out there.

"Devil's Hand" tells the story of Trent Hawkins, a man whose supernatural luck put him on the wrong side of the table with the casinos and their owners in Las Vegas. After a few years away, Hawkins finds himself going back to the city with his wife Susan and, as presaged by a flat tire during a hailstorm that ends with fish falling from the sky and splattering blood all over, things immediately start going wrong.

For starters, something very bad is boiling right beneath the city's surface and a serial kidnapper is terrifying residents. When Hawkins visits an old friend to inquire about a job, some shady characters are questioning a friendly acquaintance. Later Hawkins receives a piece of advice: get out of the city. A few pages later Hawkins is bringing Susan her purse at work when the novel kicks into high gear and the fun starts.

The first explosion ends with Hawkins and his wife rescuing a strange, thirteen year-old girl who's allergic to water and running out into the worst blizzard in Las Vegas' history. From then on, the fate of the city, their lives and the balance of the eternal war between good and evil will hang in the balance and Hawkins will have to learn that his luck is something that runs way deeper than he could have ever imagined.

In an interview with the Post, Patterson said his book brings together some of the best elements from a variety of genres. While the book is called a dark supernatural thriller, there are some very nice horror elements to it that make it a must read. The guilt, love, pain and suffering seemed to be pulled out of a romance novel, the tension and pacing comes from a good thriller and the author balances it out with plenty of action, violence and even a bit of gore (one particular instance involving the use of a garbage disposal unit is worth the price of the book).

While some readers might be turned off by the underlying good-versus-evil story, be assured that the novel is not preachy or even religiously inclined: the angels and demons in "Devil's Hand" are all unique and break all the conventionalisms you would expect in this kind of story. Also, Patterson managed to make a hefty novel, which weighs in at 315 pages, a read that goes by incredibly fast, never lets your attention drift and packs two books worth of action.

"Devil's Hand" is intriguing, moving, fast and very entertaining. Trent Hawkins is a flawed, likeable character and Celia, the girl Hawkins rescues at the beginning of the novel, goes through a fascinating change that is both brutal and enjoyable. The angel mythology in the book is never boring and it's kept to a minimum so that it never becomes hard to keep track of the characters and their agendas. Last but not least, the parts of the story that take place in the tunnels beneath Las Vegas are unlike anything else in the vast chunk of literature dealing with the city.

With over 1,000 books sold in its first three months, "Devil's Hand" packs the kind of storytelling that makes a statement: Matt Patterson is here to stay.
12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Could not put down! July 29 2011
By Will - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I generally read fiction in about a month. Devil's Hand took me about 3 sittings over just 3 days. A fantastic ride!
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent first effort by an exciting new author Aug. 9 2011
By Dacapan - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
Throw fallen angels, the world's luckiest man, and a gigantic blizzard into loss Vegas and what do you get? A very entertaining first novel by M.E. Patterson. I found the book to be a page turner that (unlike many others) didn't skmip on the characterization or details. Patterson expertly layers his take on fallen angels onto a realistically rendered Las Vegas in a way that keeps you turning the pages and which ultimately results in a very good supernateral thriller. The book keeps you guessing, but also provides a satisfying ending that will leave you wanting a follow up. I think this novel compares very favorably to Koontz in his early years, and I got more than a little hint of Hal Duncan as well. I will be eagerly awaiting the follow up.
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Potential, but not a gripping thriller Dec 25 2011
By Daune Robinson - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This author has promise, but this feels and reads like a first book. The basic concept was interesting, but the characters weren't particularly likeable, or even sympathetic, and the plot was buried deep in irrelevant details. The concept of an overarching war between various tiers of angels was interesting, but the idea of a war using humans as puppets was more annoying than gripping. The main characters in the book vacillate back and forth between compliance with and defiance of these not so angelic angels, with widely varying mood swings that made me want to slap them all into rational behavior. i guess what bothered me most were the contrived feelings and the triteness of a Las Vegas full of demons (who were more sympathetic than the angels).

This was promoted as a good book for Dean Koontz fans, and I can sort of understand why, but where Koontz uses words to set a mood and an environment, many of this author's words seemed to be thrown in to lengthen the book. Some, not all, of the dialogue was stilted; the verbiage setting the scenes had me flipping pages with just glances so I could get through the book before I got too annoyed to finish it. Contrast that with Koontz who creates a word picture that brings the emotions and environment to life - eerie life - but strongly felt.

The end was a major disappointment because it was clearly setting up a sequel and left many issues unaddressed. Sadly, I wasn't interested enough in the characters, or the plot, to read a second book by this author.
7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic First Aug. 7 2011
By tribalfrog - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I usually don't do reviews, but I really felt compelled to write one for this book. A lover of fiction and fantasy, I am always amazed at how much out there is so poorly written. Devil's Hand is well written and entertaining from start to finish. In the midst of the dark and evil spiral of the story, the hope and humor keeps you turning the pages wanting to believe in the reluctant heroes. This isn't your typical story of angels and demons. Right and wrong are relative and the heroes don't wear white hats. Hope the author comes out with more...and soon. Enjoy!
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category