Die Meistersinger / Sym i... has been added to your Cart

Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Die Meistersinger / Sym in D Min / Pelleas [Import]

Price: CDN$ 29.99 & FREE Shipping. Details
Only 1 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
13 new from CDN$ 24.22 3 used from CDN$ 71.81
Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student

Product Details

  • Format: Classical, NTSC, Import
  • Language: English
  • Aspect Ratio: 1.33:1
  • Number of discs: 1
  • Studio: Ica Classics
  • Release Date: Feb. 22 2011
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

Wagner : Die Meistersinger (extraits) - Franck : Symphonie en ré mineur - Fauré : Suite Pelléas et Mélisande / Boston Symphony Orchestra - Charles Munch, direction

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xa79919f0) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0xa9e34510) out of 5 stars Outstanding performances from 1959-1961 Jan. 9 2012
By Warren Harris - Published on Amazon.com
This DVD is part of the ICA Classics Legacy series, and features some of the televised concerts by Charles Munch and the Boston Symphony Orchestra on WGBH, Boston's public television channel. And if any of the other entries in this series are as good as this, then I will likely end up with a whole shelf of them.

The featured pieces are: Orchestral excerpts from Wagner's "Die Meistersinger" (beautifully performed by the orchestra), Franck's Symphony in D minor (the 3rd movement is spectacular, and the solo work is just amazing), and finally Faure's Pelleas et Melisande Suite (it just doesn't get any better than this!!!). Mr. Munch conducts cleanly and from the heart, and his depth of feeling of the music seems to channel straight through to his musicians and from there to the audience. I have to wonder if season ticket sales for the BSO went through the roof after some of this footage was broadcast - it's that good. According to the informative liner notes, Mr. Munch returned a second time to acknowledge the applause for the Franck, and the announcer (William Pierce) exclaimed, "[This] is turning out to be an ovation." I felt the same way, as it was difficult to resist the urge to applaud.

Of course, the video quality is not quite up to Blu-ray standards owing to the time period in which it was recorded, but it is certainly good enough to see what Mr. Munch and the BSO are doing - and what really matters is the music, which comes through loud and clear. This DVD is wonderful, and I am pleased to have it in my collection.
HASH(0xa7c38570) out of 5 stars Charles Munch & Boston Symphony Orchestra Dec 11 2015
By James D. Weinberg - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
Two of these three pieces of music are tremendous. I especially like the music to the Die Meistersinger. Charles Munch is an outstanding conductor from the older era in our country. Cesar Franck's Symphony in D Minor is a most moving piece of music. It has a number of very unusual places with different effects. The harp is very effective in the slow movement of this symphony. I am not as familiar with Faure and therefore cannot really comment on whether I like this piece or not. As far as the conducting and the Boston Symphony, it is very professional and the sound is quite exceptional.

Look for similar items by category