CDN$ 18.95
FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
Quantity:1
Dirty Dog Boogie has been added to your Cart
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Dirty Dog Boogie Hardcover – Feb 1 2002

5 out of 5 stars 1 customer review

See all 2 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price
New from Used from
Hardcover
"Please retry"
CDN$ 18.95
CDN$ 18.95 CDN$ 0.01

Unlimited FREE Two-Day Shipping for Six Months When You Try Amazon Student

No Kindle device required. Download one of the Free Kindle apps to start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, and computer.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your e-mail address or mobile phone number.




Product Details

  • Hardcover: 32 pages
  • Publisher: Annick Press; Reprint edition - now in color edition (Feb. 1 2002)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1550375733
  • ISBN-13: 978-1550375732
  • Product Dimensions: 19 x 0.3 x 24.1 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 236 g
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars 1 customer review
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #3,410,270 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Product Description

From School Library Journal

Grade 2-5-Although there are a few shaky instances of meter and rhyme in these poems, Lesynski fills them with a humor that will appeal to her audience and a rhythm that becomes musical when read aloud. Some of the selections are arranged in a quirky fashion that fits what they are trying to say. "Laaaaaaaziness" drifts diagonally down the page, while the untitled first poem dances up and down in angled lines across a double-page spread as it sings, "A boogie is a dance/and a boogie is a jive/and a boogie's just another way of saying I'M aLive." Lesynski also plays with fonts, spelling, and typefaces, with some words in bold while others are in light gray. She even has one poem entitled "I Hate Poetry!" for all of those students with assignments they loathe. Although her creative spelling-especially her excessive use of repeated letters to draw out words-can get tiresome, on the whole it works fairly well. The simple cartoon illustrations, done in blue ink, reflect the flavor of the poems. A collection that will appeal to fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein and could be used to introduce the music and fun of poetry to some reluctant patrons.
Amy Lilien, Ferguson Library, Stamford, CT
Copyright 1999 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Review

“… rhythm that becomes musical when read aloud. A collection that will appeal to fans of Jack Prelutsky and Shel Silverstein.”—School Library Journal

“… an exuberant collection of child-centered rhymes that dance in your head and bounce off your tongue, that beg to be read, chanted, or sung aloud ... This book would be terrific in a classroom, allowing teachers to have fun liberating the poet in every child. Highly recommended for both school and home use.” —Canadian Book Review Annual

“A nifty book of poetry ... will have everyone toe-tapping, finger-snapping and grin-grinning.”—St. Catharines Standard

“This is a ‘clap-your-hands and stamp-your-feet’ kind of book and is aimed at producing lots of giggles.” —Canadian Children’s Literature

“When it comes to rhyming stuff, Lesynski is a major goddess. The only thing more joyous than her rhymes are her charming and well drawn illustrations.” —January Magazine

See all Product Description

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
1
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Paperback
This book is really sensational, my second grade son read it and found it not only entertaining but an eye catcher as well. It has really encouraged him to read, and we as parents should really take that to heart. Hopefully this book will have the same results for you as it did for me,but it wouldn't to try. Loris Lesynski also has some other wonderful books you might want to check out.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0xb43909fc) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
HASH(0xb4395d98) out of 5 stars Great Book Feb. 9 2003
By Judy - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback
This book is really sensational, my second grade son read it and found it not only entertaining but an eye catcher as well. It has really encouraged him to read, and we as parents should really take that to heart. Hopefully this book will have the same results for you as it did for me,but it wouldn't to try. Loris Lesynski also has some other wonderful books you might want to check out.
HASH(0xb44430a8) out of 5 stars Untitled Feb. 25 2012
By Untitled - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Paperback Verified Purchase
I am an elementary school teacher. This is a great book to use in the classroom. My students love to do the Dirty Dog Boogie as I read the poem. Fun and entertaining! You won't be disappointed with this purchase!


Feedback