summer boutiques-francophones Learn more vpcflyout Home All-New Kindle sports Tools Registry

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars22
4.6 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on October 16, 2009
Doing Right is a perfect book for ethics for those going for Medical Exams .I ordered this book recently and went through it and was amazed with all the interesting cases encountered in medical practice.I was suggested by many medical examinees about this book.Cases are given in a very easy way and reading them just once would leave good memory.I am planning for medical qualifying exam for canada and took this book as the best for Ethics.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2009
I think that to be truly knowledgeable on different ethical dilemnas, you have to be willing and able to understand both sides of the issue. Not only does this book help you do that, but it helps you identify ethical issues within your day to day life. It provides a basic toolkit to handle these issues and teaches you a smart way to approach them.
By no way does this book provide you the answer to every scenario. But instead it teaches you how to approach and effectively manage ethical issues.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 6, 2011
While this book is relatively well written it is only A PRIMER. It is by no means as comprehensive as I expected - and certainly provides no more than a very elementary understanding of medical ethics. While this is a good review for the mccqe1 - I found very little in here that was not also covered in the Toronto Notes. This did expand a little more by using more cases etc. to illustrate by example. So I would give this 4 stars.

but then I have to consider value. This book costs 56 dollars. for a 256 page paperback. What the heck?! Whoever is publishing this (oxford) is using an absolutely ridiculous marketing strategy. If this book were even half the price (still not a great value) I'm sure at least twice as many people would buy it. But to pay 56 dollars for this book is not just robbery - its almost embarassing to admit I paid that much for a book that took me about 4 hours to read. I'm sure this book cost about 8 bucks for oxford to print and ship (if even that).
0Comment|5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 12, 2011
This book was very helpful. I would recommend this to anyone interested or currently in a health profession. The format of the book was generally an explanation of a medical ethics principle with case studies to reiterate the author's points. The case studies were especially helpful.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 5, 2009
item as described, great book, must have if you are writing mccqe1
thank you
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 2, 2015
Scenarios were extremely helpful and interesting to read about. Covered all the major bioethic principles/issues. The major detractor from this book would be its language - even though the book is written by a doctor, I'm surprised the editors did not ameliorate many of the language problems that detracted from the reading experience. The grammar and syntax broke almost every rule in the book and would make any english teacher cringe. The price also is a big con, especially with the depth of content and language errors considered.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2013
Excellent book. It is absolutely required for anyone interested in pursuing medical degree and for those in the field.I would absolutely recommend this book.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 3, 2013
The cases portrayed in this book are phenomenal. They cover almost every (if not all) ethical problem related to medicine. Every case comes with a recap by the author, as well as what the most appropriate course of action would be depending on the case. Highly recommend this book for anyone going to their medical school interview as it provides you with a lot of useful information regarding ethics.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
It's a great book to help approach medical dilemmas. It allows you to think outside the box, which is important in MMI interviews for Canada! Although it's directed towards doctors, the major concepts apply to all healthcare professionals! It's a pretty quick read and it's nice and easy to read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 19, 2014
Fairly good book. It covers a lot of things about the current healthcare. It's a top notch book about ethics!
I think for a premed, it goes a little bit too far. I'm saying this because this book is read by almost every premed student.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse