Buy used:
CDN$ 28.50
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: coffret classique
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V3 Don Juan/Pini Di Roma/Tod Original recording remastered

Available from these sellers.
1 new from CDN$ 1,314.97 4 used from CDN$ 28.50

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 14 1999)
  • SPARS Code: ADD
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Original recording remastered
  • Label: Universal Music Group
  • ASIN: B00002DF31
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #365,107 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Don Juan Op. 20: Don Juan, Op. 20 (Tone-Poem After) - Sergiu Celibidache
2. Death and Transfiguration, Op. 24: Death and Transfiguration, Op. 24 (Tone-Poem For Large Orchestra); Largo - Allegro molto agitato - Etwas breiter - Tempo I. Sehr breit - Allegro molto agitato - Moderato - Sergiu Celibidache
3. The Pines Of Rome: The Pines Of The Villa Borghese. Allegretto vivace - Vivace - Sergiu Celibidache
4. The Pines Of Rome: Pines Near A Catacomb - Sergiu Celibidache
5. The Pines Of Rome: The Pines Of The Janiculum - Sergiu Celibidache
6. The Pines Of Rome: The Pines Of The Appian Way - Sergiu Celibidache
Disc: 2
1. A Hero's Life: The Hero - Richard Strauss
2. A Hero's Life: The Hero's Adversaries - Richard Strauss
3. A Hero's Life: The Hero's Companion - Richard Strauss
4. A Hero's Life: The Hero's Battlefield - Richard Strauss
5. A Hero's Life: The Hero's Works of Peace - Richard Strauss
6. A Hero's Life: The Hero's Retreat and Fulfilment - Richard Strauss
Disc: 3
1. Death Aand Transfiguration, Op. 2 (Rehearsal): Death And Transfiguration, Op. 24 (Rehearsal) - Sergiu Celibidache
2. The Pines of Rome (Rehearsals) - Sergiu Celibidache

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) HASH(0x9d94af60) out of 5 stars 2 reviews
2 of 5 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9da36f78) out of 5 stars A great Tod und Verklärung June 18 2009
By Markian Gooley - Published on
Verified Purchase
I got this mostly for Tod und Verklärung: I like the Respighi pieces enough that I wouldn't shut them off if they came on the radio, but I don't often seek them out.
I'll stick with reviewing T&V, although I gave the rest of this set a listen and can't fault it.

The recording I'm most familiar with is an oldish Karajan/BPO one, also on DG, that lasts a leisurely 27 minutes. Karajan forces a slow pace but doesn't risk wallowing in sentimentality and schmaltz. I used to think the Karajan version the best, but this recording is arguably better. Celibidache goes nearer the edge, risks being sentimental, flirts with schmaltz. It's a riskier approach, but I'd say that he pulls it off: I find the performance more moving than the Karajan, yet not excessive.
4 of 8 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9db67248) out of 5 stars Very Good Jan. 9 2005
By Record collector - Published on
As usual, Celibidache does not disappoint. The playing is secure and the interpretation is `pre Munich Celi,' which means that the uncanny `insight' is not yet there. But still, better than most.