Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Tell the Publisher!
I'd like to read this book on Kindle

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Dont Close Your Eyes [Mass Market Paperback]

Robert Ross
4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (5 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

July 1 2003
In the tradition of Dean Koontz and John Saul comes a mesmerizing tale of spine-tingling suspense. Falls Church, Massachusetts is the sort of sleepy coastal town where the locals have lived for generations. A picture-postcard place. But there's another side to Falls Church...a disturbing history of violence, hatred, and murder. Victoria Kennelly knows all about what lurks in Falls Church. She's never forgotten the night a fire killed her family and something beyond description claimed her childhood friend. The horror of that night drove her all the way to Boston and a new life. But now things are happening in Falls Church again. Bad things. And the only way Victoria can understand the ghosts of her own past is to go back where it all began...and to face the evil that lives in Falls Church. PRAISE FOR ROBERT ROSS AND WHERE DARKNESS LIVES: "Chilling...eerie...I couldn't put it down." --Lisa Jackson. New York Times bestselling author of The Night Before. "The chills begin in the first chapter and foreboding builds with every eagerly turned page. Pure spine-tingling pleasure." --Wendy Corsi Staub. USA Today bestselling author of She Loves Me Not "A delightfully spooky read. Robert Ross will keep you guessing until the end--and then he'll surprise you!" --Tamara Thorne, author of Bad Things

Product Details


Sell a Digital Version of This Book in the Kindle Store

If you are a publisher or author and hold the digital rights to a book, you can sell a digital version of it in our Kindle Store. Learn more

Customer Reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Facing Your Fears! Awesome Book! Nov. 4 2003
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Robert Ross takes you on unforgettenable journey to Falls Church. This small little town has some dark secrets that keep coming back to Falls Church. Victoria has to face her fears and find out the truth about who killed her family and her friend Petty. This book really takes you to a place where your darkest fears are waiting for you! I hope you enjoy the book as much as I did!
Was this review helpful to you?
1.0 out of 5 stars One Star because There Is Not An Option For Zero Nov. 3 2003
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Terrible, horrible no good read. The plot, charachters, and story development stunk. I would recommend sitting in traffic instead of reading this book.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Sleepless In Barrie Aug. 15 2003
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Wow. Robert Ross has sure hit his stride. This tale begins with anightmare by a young man, who then unwittingly passes it to his mother. The chain is thus begun into a nightmare that grips a small town. There are forces of good arrayed against the sinister force gripping the townspeople tho, a young lady whos thought she escaped her haunted past who finds she must return to her hometown to fight the evil once again. A priest whose faith falters, then is regained; a parapsychogolist and his assistant, and a skeptical police officer.
The narrative of this tale picks up force as it approaches it's climax. Ross doesn't gratuitously use gore to scare his readers but relies successfully on increased tension and suspense. His horror is indeed horrifying, and I'll admit I lost some sleep reading this novel.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars a really scary book July 12 2003
By Mama P
Format:Mass Market Paperback
I thought I'd read the best from the horror fiction genre: King, Koonts, Craven. Add Ross to this list. Actually, for the moment, he tops the list. Without giving anything away, this book by far was one of the most innovative and scary reads I have had in a long time. The setting, Cape Cod and New England, was slightly reminscent of Stephen King. But that is where the similarites stopped. The characters are archetypal, without being stereotypical. The evil-doer is realistic and very scary. I really don't want to give too much information about this book because I don't want to spoil it for other readers. I can say that as an avid fan of this genre, this one scared me silly, and I loved every minute of it.
Was this review helpful to you?
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Church Falls is a complacent town on Cape Cod that obtains much of its income from tourists. Nate Tuck has found a haven in Church Falls after shooting a fourteen-year-old gangster in Oakland and when the chief retires he is expected to be the next Sheriff. Nate doesn't know that once every generation an outsider instigates the townsfolk into turning against one another and the cycle is about to begin again.
Victoria Kennelly broke the last cycle of hate when she told the residents that they were wrong to try to expel students suffering with AIDS. A few days later, while trick or treating with her friend Petey, her family and home burst into flames and Petey disappeared, his body never found. Now Victoria feels compelled to return to her hometown because evil has reappeared. Violence, hate crimes and murder have begun again. Nate has a hard time believing these incidents are based on the supernatural but offers no counter explanation.
Fans of Stephen King, Bentley Little and Dean Koontz are going to treasure DON'T CLOSE YOUR EYES, a supernatural thriller that is so scary readers will go to bed with so much lighting on that a lit up stadium at night will seem dim in comparison. Victoria and Nate are polar opposites with one grounded in reality and the other accepting that sometimes the only explanation is mired in the supernatural. Using both logic systems, they combine forces to fight the evil that is destroying the town from the inside out. Robert Ross deserves a Bram Stoker nomination for this chilling horror novel.
Harriet Klausner
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback