CDN$ 432.79 + CDN$ 3.49 shipping
In Stock. Sold by thebookcommunity_ca
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Like New | Details
Condition: Used: Like New
Comment: CDs, DVDs, video games, vinyl, and more! Fast delivery! All items are guaranteed!
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Drifters Box Best of, Box set

4.8 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 432.79
Only 1 left in stock.
Ships from and sold by thebookcommunity_ca.
2 new from CDN$ 432.79 2 used from CDN$ 68.16

Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 24 1996)
  • Number of Discs: 3
  • Format: Best of, Box set
  • Label: Rhino-Atlantic
  • ASIN: B0000033S3
  • Average Customer Review: 4.8 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #220,718 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

Disc: 1
1. Let The Boogie Woogie Roll
2. Money Honey
3. Lucille
4. The Way I Feel
5. Such A Night
6. Gone
See all 26 tracks on this disc
Disc: 2
1. There Goes My Baby
2. Oh My Love
3. (If You Cry) True Love, True Love
4. Dance With Me
5. This Magic Moment
6. Lonely Winds
See all 27 tracks on this disc
Disc: 3
1. On Broadway
2. Only In America
3. Rat Race
4. If You Don't Come Back
5. I'll Take You Home
6. In The Land Of Make Believe
See all 26 tracks on this disc

Product Description

Vocal groups and styles came and went from the 1950s through the 1980s, but somehow the Drifters evolved and persevered, spanning doo-wop and disco before being relegated exclusively to the oldies touring circuit. Rockin' & Driftin' collects highlights from the group's embryonic Clyde McPhatter-led era (beginning with 1953's "Money Honey") into the mid-'70s, when the group still had some standing in the U.K. "On Broadway," "There Goes My Baby," "Up on the Roof," "Under the Boardwalk"--they're all included in this handsome, thoroughly annotated three-disc box set. All told, there are 79 selections here; the 16-song Very Best of the Drifters is a viable option for more casual fans interested in a selection of '59 to '64 smashes. More thorough-minded fans of vocal groups will find that Rockin' & Driftin' satisfies their hunger for Drifters nuggets great and small. --Steven Stolder

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD

“Rockin’ & Driftin’: The Drifters Box” by the Drifters, released by Rhino Records from US in 1996, was a 3CD box set, containing 79 songs. I have compiled a detailed song listing (including album & singles label and number, names of lead singers, chart position, release or debut date, plus personal comments)(US=US Singles Chart prior to 1955; BB Pop=Billboard Hot 100; BB R&B=Billboard Rhythm & Blues Chart; BB AC=Billboard Adult Contemporary Chart; CB Pop=Cash Box Singles Chart; RW Pop=Record World Singles Chart; UK=UK Singles Chart):

01 LET THE BOOGIE WOOGIE ROLL (Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters)(Atlantic 45-2060)(uncharted a-side, May 1960)
02 MONEY HONEY (Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters)(Atlantic 45-1006)(a-side)(BB R&B 1(11)/1953)(August 1953)*first single.
03 LUCILLE (Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters)(Atlantic 45-1019)(b-side, February 1954)(BB R&B 7/1954)*double-sided hit; a-side “Such A Night” track #5.
04 THE WAY I FEEL (Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters)(Atlantic 45-1006)(b-side, August 1953)
05 SUCH A NIGHT (Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters)(Atlantic 45-1019)(a-side)(BB R&B 2(3)/1954)(February 1954)
06 GONE (Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters)(Atlantic 45-1055)(b-side, February 1955)
07 DON'T DOG ME (Clyde McPhatter & The Drifters)(Atlantic 45-2049)(uncharted a-side, January 1960)
08 BIP BAM (The Drifters, featuring Clyde McPhatter)(Atlantic 45-1043)(a-side)(BB R&B 7/1954)(October 1954)
09 THE BELLS OF ST. MARY’S (The Drifters, featuring Clyde McPhatter)(Atlantic 45-1048)(b-side, November 1954)
10 WHITE CHRISTMAS (The Drifters, featuring Clyde McPhatter & Bill Pinkney)(Atlantic 45-1048)(a-side)(BB Pop 80/1955; BB R&B 2(1)/1954)(November 1954)*this song recharted in 1960 & 1962.
Read more ›
1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This pricey 3 CD set contains all the charted Drifters tunes from 1953 through 1976 as well as selected single records by Clyde McPhatter and Ben E. King. During those 23 years, the Drifters music evolved from R&B doo-wop to main stream rock and roll and then to soul, matching the evolution of popular music.The 79 cuts on these 3 CD's reflect those 3 styles of music. For collecters, this is a great way to acquire a myriad of memorable hit songs. For fans of a particular style of music, this package may be too broad to consider. Overall, this is an outstanding collection of 50's and 60's pop music.The only unwarranted cut among the 79 is a live version of "On Broadway". All 78 others are legitmate original singles by the Drifters or one of their former lead singers.The liner notes are well written and full of interesting details on the Drifters history, especially the succession of lead singers. The included discography is complete except that it omits the songs by the former lead singers that are included on the CD's.I was annoyed by the packaging of this box set which does not include jewel cases for the individual CD's. They are fixed into the "box' so you can't stack them with your other CD's.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
if you like the drifters and you haven't yet purchased this box set then do so now. the sound quality is spot on and the tracklisting is superb <though i would have liked to have seen a few more rarities on it>. these are not pale imitations like a lot of drifters records appear to be nowadays- these are the bonafide originals. the cd spans through their entire lifespan from the original df#riftrs with the inimitable clyde mcphatter right through to the seventies recordings on bell records. it's a shame that there's not a few more songs on here- four disks could easily have held 100+ songs, but this is still an excellent and worthwhile addition to any cd collection. buy it now and dance, sing and swing along or just cozy up to it on one of those cold winters nighty- a must.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse