Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Dry Spring: The Coming Water Crisis of North America [Paperback]

Chris Wood
3.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (2 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $10.98  
Paperback --  

Book Description

March 1 2008
Written in the tradition of Jared Diamond's Collapse and Tim Flannery's The Weather Makers, Dry Spring is an explosive book on the coming water crisis--and what we need to do to prevent it. The globe is running out of water. Lakes, aquifers and rivers disappear, but we consume more than ever. Many fast-growing places--the U.S. Southwest, B.C.'s Okanagan, the Great Lakes area--face deadly scarcity. Yet even as the world dries, some parts are getting more violently stormy. Dry Spring tells dramatic stories of floods and droughts that will worsen over the next 25 years. We see what's happening to cities, farms, ranches and orchards--and people. Chris Wood shows that Canada overall will get more water--and America less. He calls provocatively upon Canada to find solutions and opportunities jointly with the U.S. And he describes inspiring choices by which we can save this precious resource for our future. "The best thing yet written on the many impacts of global warming on the world's water and climate systems. A highly readable interweaving of hard science with the stories of individual people." (Al Appleton, former commissioner, Department of Environmental Protection, City of New York) "This is a beautifully written, compelling, controversial and hopeful tale that merits a place on the bookshelf of anyone who cares about the fate of humanity." (Alanna Mitchell, author of Dancing at the Dead Sea: Tracking the World's Environmental Hotspots)

Product Details


Product Description

From Amazon

Veteran journalist Chris Wood declares war on North America's blasé attitude toward the environment in general and water in particular. The battle he wages in his awesome, terrifying Dry Spring (awesome for its depth of research, terrifying for what it portends) is positively ferocious. Wood lobs facts like grenades, and he hits his target--our collective conscience and fear of a very grim future--every time. But much more than a clinical recitation of data, Dry Spring is Wood's impassioned plea for action. Even gas company lobbyists and Fox News anchors are hard-pressed to refute his evidence. And while many of these stats have appeared elsewhere, Wood succeeds in aggregating and connecting the dots between local phenomena and larger planetary changes. Not since Al Gore's Inconvenient Truth has the Earth had such a persuasive advocate. --Kim Hughes

About the Author

Journalist and former Maclean's editor CHRIS WOOD has written in the Globe and Mail, the Financial Post, the Walrus, thetyee.ca and more. He won two Gold National Magazine Awards for his work on water, co-authored Blockbusters and Trade Wars (shortlisted for the Donner Prize) and, with Beverley Wood, wrote the Sirius Mystery teen books, including The Golden Boy and DogStar.

Customer Reviews

4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
3.0 out of 5 stars
3.0 out of 5 stars
Most helpful customer reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Interesting. March 3 2014
Format:Paperback
I had to write a review because the picture painted by the previous review was less than rosy. This was a very informative book, and I enjoyed it cover to cover. If you look at it less cynically than the previous viewer was able, you can understand that the knowledge Chris Wood provides helps you understand the true meaning that the coming water shortage has to humanity. It may not be a book for the experts in the field but as a person coming into the subject with little previous knowledge it was easy to digest and it really was an eye opener, to the effect a changing climate (man made or not that's a debate for another day) will have on humanities water supply.
Was this review helpful to you?
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
By Book Buff TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
I enjoyed the information in this book, liked that it was written by a Canadian and looked forward to a balanced and impartial journalistic report on the status of our most valuable resource. From Chapter One to Nine, it was enjoyably readable. Starting at Chapter 10, it appeared to be written by someone different than the author of the first 9 Chapters.
It became a right-wing rant on why water should be privately owned, privately managed, and spent much energy attacking the book "Blue Gold" (which I haven't read - yet) - and spoke in first-person as a strong proponent for the "market is best to manage" approach to water management, and water rights should be divorced from the land it occupies.
As it was written before the "market management" blundered by fraud and ineptness into the worst recession since the '29 Crash, perhaps he is rethinking his book.
I went into the book with high expectations and initially enjoyed the "facts" and "situations" very much. I lost it all with the right-wing "we want to own it all" proposition for the balance of the book.
I'm very disappointed in this work. I had expected far far better. But now I'm intrigued to the point that I will be ordering "Blue Gold" to see what so inflamed this author.

I have an ethical and moral problem with the idea of denying people water because they may not be able to "pay" for it, so this may be my basic horror in reading this work.
I found the proposals in it scary to say the least. The author makes statements from Chapter 10 onwards that are accusatory of others, while making unsubstantiated and unsupported statements as fact ('trust me'). Where did the "journalist" go after Chapter 9 I wonder?
Read more ›
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 4.5 out of 5 stars  2 reviews
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Peak Water June 24 2008
By Scott M. Kruse - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
We are in "Peak Everything" (food, water, oil, space). This is a good overview of changing global climate and the consequences for water - both fresh and ocean. We have tended to substitute water (and oil) for knowledge. We now must apply the knowledge and use water (and oil) more carefully. We are seeing seasons shift - earlier springs, prolonged fire seasons, "late" autumn and winter, earlier and smaller snow melt and more prolonged period of aridity and higher evapotransporation. The media frequently gets it wrong. You long for a handy reference that puts things in context, gives you a big picture and keeps you grounded with objective information. This is a calm, easy to read, matter-of-fact source.
5.0 out of 5 stars Dry Spring Aug. 6 2010
By J. Salmons - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback|Verified Purchase
Great book a must read for anyone concerned with our planet and way of life.
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews
ARRAY(0xae15b594)

Look for similar items by category


Feedback