Echoes, Silence, Patience... has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: Ships from the US, allow 7-10 days for delivery.
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace

4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews

Price: CDN$ 7.20 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
In Stock.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
53 new from CDN$ 6.64 16 used from CDN$ 3.35

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Frequently Bought Together

  • Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace
  • +
  • There Is Nothing Left To Lose
  • +
  • The Colour And The Shape
Total price: CDN$ 62.18
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Sept. 25 2007)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sony Music Canada
  • In-Print Editions: Audio CD  |  LP Record
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars 6 customer reviews
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #5,125 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. The Pretender
2. Let It Die
3. Erase/Replace
4. Long Road To Ruin
5. Come Alive
6. Stranger Things Have Happened
7. Cheer Up, Boys (Your Make Up Is Running)
8. Summer's End
9. Ballad Of The Beaconsfield Miners
10. Statues
11. But, Honestly
12. Home

Product Description

Product Description

Having commemorated their tenth anniversary with a year-plus run commencing with In Your Honor (a double album the New York Times called an "unexpected magnum opus"), sold out rock arena shows and a toned down intimate theater trek, and a headlining gig at London's Hyde Park for a crowd of 85,000, the question looms larger than any in the Foo Fighters' career to date: What do they do for an encore?!? The answer comes in the form of "The Pretender," the first single from the band's sixth studio album Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace, out on Roswell/RCA. Produced by Gil Norton, who last worked with the band on 1997's double-platinum The Colour and The Shape (recently reissued in deluxe 10th anniversary form), Dave Grohl, bassist Nate Mendel, drummer Taylor Hawkins and guitarist Chris Shiflett have crafted a 12-track milestone that showcases and reconciles the band's every strength and sensibility in the most complex and confident Foo Fighters album to date.


In 1997, Foo Fighters teamed with alt-rock production cornerstone Gil Norton to make their best album, The Colour and the Shape. Ten years later, they've regrouped with Norton for a disc that's more sophisticated and diverse, if a tad less rockin'. The curveballs include "Stranger Things Have Happened," a solo soul-searcher where leader Dave Grohl's accompanied by just his acoustic guitar and a ticking metronome, and "Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners," an acoustic guitar duet for Grohl and guest virtuoso Kaki King. Plus "Summers End" tickles the Foos' classic-rock fetish with a dead-on Crosby, Stills, Nash & Young arrangement. There's still enough of the intense, snarling power-pop that's Foo Fighters' longtime forte. "The Pretender," "Erase/Replace," and "Long Road to Ruin" combine sheer thrust, zeal, and melody like no other group currently on the charts. Yet the finale, "Home," makes its clear that this is a changed band--or, at least, that Grohl's a changed man. With only his piano for company, Grohl's pleading voice reveals fragile layers of insecurity and loneliness as he sings "all I want is to be home." Seems this rock & roll road warrior's mellowed some, albeit without compromising Foo Fighters' vitality. --Ted Drozdowski

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See all 6 customer reviews
Share your thoughts with other customers

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Audio CD
So we all know that the Foo Fighters have been around for a while now but it doesn't mean I've been a fan since they first came into the music scene.

I've listen to a couple of the Foo's older albums and they haven't grabbed my attention like this new album has. With past albums, I'd give it a spin and that was the end of it. Basically, I wasn't a fan.

Enter Echoes, Silence, Patience & Grace. WOW! Track after track this album proves to be not just a good Foo Fighters album, but a great album in itself! I was very surprised that the album was so good that it's one of the most played albums on my ipod.

Tracks to look out for: The Pretender, Summer's End, The Ballad of the Beaconsfield Miners..JUST TO NAME A FEW.

From beginning to end I can honestly say that this cd is well worth purchase..and this review is coming from a guy who isn't that big a fan of the Foo Fighters previously released material. Is that a good thing? Who knows...but I certainly love this album!
1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: LP Record
This was absolutely one of my favorite albums when I bought the CD all those years ago.
Bringing it back to play on Vinyl is most enjoyable especially when you can play it mixed in with the other wonderful Foo tunes.
Their execution on soft acoustic songs to the brand of loud rock we've come to love from the Fighters is fantastic and makes for a wonderful listening experience time and again.
For the inexperienced Foo Fighter fan this album contains the fewest singles of any other album they've released to date but contains some of their best songs in my humble opinion.
1 of 1 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse
Format: Audio CD
This is the journeyman's album. Play it in your car and drive - you'll understand why. It's reflective, honest, haunting and beautiful. "The Pretender," their first single off the CD is defiant and classic Foo. Each song progressively pulls you in, but I have to say my ultimate favorite is the second song on the disk, "Let It Die". There's a subtle show-stopper quality to it that keeps bringing me back. All in all, a fantastic album that deserves to be on everyone's shelf. You'll be able to listen to it again and again and never get bored.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Look for similar items by category