Start reading The Embroidered Corpse (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) on your Kindle in under a minute. Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

 
 
 

Try it free

Sample the beginning of this book for free

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Anybody can read Kindle bookseven without a Kindle devicewith the FREE Kindle app for smartphones, tablets, and computers.
The Embroidered Corpse (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery)
 
See larger image
 

The Embroidered Corpse (A Belinda Lawrence Mystery) [Kindle Edition]

Brian Kavanagh

Print List Price: CDN$ 13.42
Kindle Price: CDN$ 3.99 includes free international wireless delivery via Amazon Whispernet
You Save: CDN$ 9.43 (70%)

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition CDN $3.99  
Paperback CDN $13.85  

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Description

Review

A fast moving story with much local colour, witty dialogue and historical background. -- Barbara Buhrer, Reviewer's Choice

An intriguing mystery … for mystery and history buffs alike, this is a fast, clear read, recommended for all ages. -- Jennifer Macaire

If you love history or a good mystery, you must read this book! -- Alicia Karen Elkins, GWN Book Reviewer

Kavanagh's books are addictive. Once you start this mystery series, you want to keep reading. -- Nancy Madison

With mystery, mayhem and murder, The Embroidered Corpse delivers a well-written tale to mystery readers, antiquities aficionados and history buffs. -- Amy Brozio-Andrews

Product Description

In a quiet English village two bodies are discovered.

Both murdered.

But it is the manner of the death that most startles amateur detective Belinda Lawrence.

They were both slain in a way that perfectly replicates the death a medieval English king.

But why?

There appears to be no motive for so elaborate a crime.

But after she stumbles across a mysterious ancient tapestry, Belinda Lawrence and her associate Hazel Whitby are drawn into a terrifying conspiracy involving a bizarre religious cult, an enigmatic academic, a group of secretive monks -- and a mystery that dates back nearly a thousand years old.

And it soon becomes apparent that 'The Embroidered Corpse' will not be the last dead body - Belinda's own life is at stake.

‘The Embroidered Corpse’ is a brilliant re-invention of the classic English village murder mystery, following on from the best-selling 'Capable of Murder'.

Belinda Lawrence is a lively young heroine who pits her intellect against cold-blooded and ruthless killers - a character who is among the most memorable and engaging in modern detective fiction.

‘The Embroidered Corpse' is perfect for fans of Peter James, Elizabeth George and Peter Robinson.

“A classy mystery that will keep you up half the night.” – Robert Foster, best-selling author of The Lunar Code.

“Mystery fiction at it’s very best.” – Tom Kasey, best-selling author of Trade Off.

Brian Kavanagh has many years’ experience in the Australian Film Industry in areas of production, direction, editing and writing. He received a Lifetime Achievement Award from the Australian Film Editors Guild and an Australian Film Institute award for Best Editing for Frog Dreaming.

Endeavour Press is the UK's leading independent publisher of digital books.

Product Details

  • Format: Kindle Edition
  • File Size: 400 KB
  • Print Length: 234 pages
  • Page Numbers Source ISBN: 1905202369
  • Publisher: Endeavour Press Ltd. (Dec 3 2013)
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services, Inc.
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B00BU4C5BC
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #141,393 Paid in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Paid in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images?


Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)
Amazon.com: 3.9 out of 5 stars  15 reviews
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Above Average Murder Mystery March 22 2013
By Miss H. B. Grimmette - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
I enjoy elaborate murder mysteries, particularly when the murderer has a signature move. The inclusion of medieval history and religious elements make this far more interesting than your typical crime thriller. The author builds the tension of the book to its climax excellently and Belinda is a refreshingly smart, likeable heroine.
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A different kind of British cozy Nov. 10 2006
By Lorraine Zaleski - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
I thought the beginning was slow vs an action packed opening, The background is modern England, the narrator a young woman who has a closer relationship with the female owner of a pawn shop than with her boyfriend (and yes this annoyed me).

There are two vicars and a church mystery. To me, the villain was too strong, too hateful.

Once the story got going, it was absorbing, the ending came to a satisfying conclusion which was unexpected and wrapped up nicely. I wanted more description,, of tbe English country side. What the major char looked like, niggling stuff. I was engrossed in the plot and satisfied at the conclusion. I am looking for other works by this author.
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "a great story" Aug. 9 2006
By A reader - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Paperback
When Belinda goes to York with Hazel, they decide to visit the Kidbrooke House, just out of curiosity. But when they get there, they are astonished to see an embroidered figure of what appears to be the corpse of a monk. Nobody seems to be able to explain where it comes from, but it has been in the family for a long time. Somehow Belinda becomes intrigued by Kidbrooke House and by Sir Gerald Taylor, as somehow that man fascinates her.

A few days later, a body is found at Kidbrooke House, the body of a man who was murdered in a very brutal and sadistic way. It must have happened just after Belinda and Hazel left. When Belinda finds out about the murder, she and Hazel decide to return to Kidbrooke House. But what they never could have expected happens and before they know it, they are involved in a murder case.

The Embroidered Corpse is one of the most thrilling stories that I have ever read. Sadistic murderers, a religious cult, a strange riddle and monks who are involved in some way... Brian Kavanagh has mixed all of this, and much more, together and the result is a great story that is fascinating to read. I promise you that once you start reading The Embroidered Corpse, you will find it very difficult to put this story beside you! You want to know the clue, who did those murders and why? You'll find out...

Annick EURO-REVIEWS
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HISTORY, MYSTERY AND MURDER ! March 26 2013
By John J. Alaimo - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition
History, two murders, a possible piece of the famous Bayeux Tapestry and a religious sect that is devoted to King Harold who was overthrown at the Battle of Hasting, have come together in the mystery novel of Brian Kavanagh, who weaves a tale tighter than the threads of the tapestry itself. In his second novel of the Belinda Lawrence series, Belinda and her outspoken and somewhat bizarre associate, Hazel Whitby, immerse themselves in this tale of historical intrigue of dark forces which include a very aggressive group of monks and clues to a nefarious conspiracy almost a thousand years old. Kavanagh, as always, keeps the pages turning at every step of this epic tale of murder and mystery. And along the way one has a very sound sense of history. A great read and highly recommended.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another Hit for Brian Kavanagh June 19 2013
By Marvin Allan Williams - Published on Amazon.com
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
This is the second book I have read from this author and again I was impressed with his ability to build suspense into the story-line without having to resort to gimmickry. A fine story by a great author. I was going to say this series was for anyone who likes British mysteries, but that would be an injustice because of the limitation. Instead, I will say it is for anyone who enjoys a finely crafted story.

Look for similar items by category