Auto boutiques-francophones Simple and secure cloud storage giftguide Kitchen Kindle Black Friday Deals Week in Music SGG Tools
V 16: Bach Cantatas has been added to your Cart

Compare Offers on Amazon
Add to Cart
CDN$ 22.06
& FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25.00. Details
Sold by:
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

V 16: Bach Cantatas

1 customer review

Price: CDN$ 21.86 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Only 1 left in stock.
Sold by Fulfillment Express CA and Fulfilled by Amazon. Gift-wrap available.
16 new from CDN$ 18.25 2 used from CDN$ 27.81

Frequently Bought Together

  • V 16: Bach Cantatas
  • +
  • V 15: Bach Cantatas
Total price: CDN$ 50.82
Buy the selected items together

Product Details

  • Performer: English Baroque Soloists, Monteverdi Choir Gardiner
  • Composer: Bach J.S.
  • Audio CD (Dec 23 2009)
  • SPARS Code: DDD
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Sdg
  • ASIN: B000VR0548
  • Average Customer Review: 5.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (1 customer review)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #72,311 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Singet Dem Herrn Ein Neues Lied
2. 1. Sinfonia
3. 2. Aria: Bass Tritt Auf Die Glaubensbahn
4. 3. Recitativo: Bass Der Heiland Ist Gesetzt
5. 4. Aria: Sopran Stein, Der Uber Alle Schatze
6. 5. Recitativo: Bass Es Argre Sich Die Kluge Welt
7. 6. Duetto: Soprano, Bass Wie Soll Ich Dich, Liebster Der Seelen, Umfassen?
8. 1. Coro (Chorale) Das Neugeborne Kindelein
9. 2. Aria: Bass O Menschen, Die Ihr Taglich Sundigt
10. 3. Recitativo: Sopran Die Engel, Welche Sich Zuvor
11. 4. Terzetto Con Choral Ist Got Versohnt Und Unser Freund
12. 5. Recitativo: Bass Dies Ist Ein Tag
13. 6. Choral Es Bringt Das Rechte Jubeljahr
14. 1. Aria: Sopran Gottlob! Nun Geht Das Jahr Zu Ende
15. 2. Coro (Chorale) Nun Lob, Mein Seel, Den Herren
16. 3. Recitativo Ed Arioso: Bass So Spricht Der Herr
17. 4. Recitativo: Tenor Gott Ist Ein Quell
18. 5. Aria (Duetto): Alt, Tenor Gott Hat Uns Im Heurigen Jahre Gesegnet
19. 6. Choral All Solch Dein Gut Wir Preisen
20. 1. Coro Singet Dem Herrn Ein Neues Lied!
See all 26 tracks on this disc

Customer Reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
See the customer review
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

By Bob Cariboo on April 27 2013
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Bach's church cantatas are among the most wonderful Christian music ever written. First, the music is beautiful. And this Gardiner set are well recorded. But following the text along is where the true inspirational beauty is found. If you love the richness of Baroque music, don't miss out on this treasure. All of Bach's cantatas, all 186 of them, are truly wonderful. Treat yourself!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Report abuse

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on (beta) 2 reviews
9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
Brilliant Nov. 4 2007
By Teemacs - Published on
Format: Audio CD
I've been waiting for this one since I saw the great final chorus of BWV190 on the Gardiner canata DVD, and now it's here. It doesn't disappoint. BWV190 "Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied", for the New Year, sometimes gets a miss, because the first two movements are always reconstructions (only the choral parts and some instrumental parts have survived). However, the reconstructed orchestration sounds great and in character with the whole thing. You also get the motet of the same name, plus three other short cantatas, all one one CD.

Arise, go forth and buy...
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
By DAVID BRYSON - Published on
Format: Audio CD
The pilgrimage is now over. John Eliot Gardiner and his associates have chosen New York for the final concerts of this fine series in which they have performed all Bach's surviving church cantatas on the liturgical dates for which the composer intended them. As usual, there is a long and eloquent essay, from a sort of project log, by the conductor plus a short personal statement by one of the performers. Gardiner is as eloquent and illuminating as ever, and I had to wince slightly when he gave his reason for preferring New York to anywhere in England as the scene of his grand finale.

All the discs that I have so far acquired out of this series have been outstanding in point of quality, but this issue provides exceptional value in terms of quantity as well. No fewer than five works have been accommodated in a single disc, providing 77 minutes' worth of music, and of course what music, among the greatest in the entire world. Four are cantatas, the other is Bach's great motet for double chorus Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied. Four of the works are for the Sunday after Christmas, which will in some years be New Year's Day, and one cantata is for New Year's Day, which of course will in the same years be the Sunday following Christmas. Another aspect of this disc that makes it outstanding even among such companion issues is its variety. One item, as mentioned already, is a motet, one cantata is from 1714 during Bach's Weimar period (and goodness knows how many from that time have since been lost). The others are from his principal period of cantata output, the 1720's, but in the last cantata of this collection Gardiner and his colleagues have actually had to restore the music in part as the extant MS is deficient. This work, for New Year, again starts with the words Singet dem Herrn ein neues Lied, although the text diverges thereafter from that of the motet, and it was the last number performed in the whole great series. The restoration was a team effort, Gardiner tells us, and what a fine job they seem to have made of it.

There is something else that makes this issue special. In his essay Gardiner pays particular tribute to the principal viola player Katherine McGillivray. His tribute is completely understandable from a musical viewpoint for her contribution on viola d'amore to the fifth section of the final cantata, but when we read on we find her photograph together with a note that this disc has been dedicated to her memory. The days of Katherine's life were 1970 to 2006, which is pitifully short. As a lasting testimony to her we at least have the entire pilgrimage.

The virtues of this recital are the same as those of its companions that I know so far. The singers and instrumentalists, as we are told in other issues, were to a great extent learning the music as they went along. The whole series has been characterised by a marvellous union of the freshness of such new discovery together with an assurance and empathy with the music that would have done credit to veterans. The actual travelling involved would have taxed many a tourist, and what it says for the talent and dedication of these outstanding artists to have got to the end without the least sign of fatigue is something I do not have the words for. What then are we to make of the indescribable genius who turned out this succession of masterpieces week in and week out?

This disc records the end of the pilgrimage, but for me and others following in the performers' wake only part of the distance has been covered. I have not been collecting the discs in any systematic order, but in any case if my memory serves they have not all been issued and those that have been issued have not been in chronological sequence either. Presumably they will all step out into the light sooner or later. Bring them on.