Essentials has been added to your Cart
+ CDN$ 3.49 shipping
Used: Very Good | Details
Sold by usedsalesca
Condition: Used: Very Good
Comment: All Discs are inspected and guaranteed. All dispatched with 1 - 3 working days from the UK
Have one to sell? Sell on Amazon

Essentials Best of, Explicit Lyrics

Price: CDN$ 17.49 & FREE Shipping on orders over CDN$ 25. Details
Temporarily out of stock.
Order now and we'll deliver when available. We'll e-mail you with an estimated delivery date as soon as we have more information. Your account will only be charged when we ship the item.
Ships from and sold by Amazon.ca. Gift-wrap available.
25 new from CDN$ 5.20 6 used from CDN$ 5.20

58th Annual GRAMMY Awards
Discover this year's nominees on CD and Vinyl, including Album of the Year, Artist of the Year, Best New Artist of the Year, and more. Learn more

Product Details

  • Audio CD (Oct. 14 2008)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Format: Best of, Explicit Lyrics
  • Label: Universal Music Canada
  • Average Customer Review: Be the first to review this item
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #78,243 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)
  •  Would you like to update product info, give feedback on images, or tell us about a lower price?

1. Go To Church (featuring Snoop Dogg & Lil' Jon)
2. A Bird In The Hand
3. Ghetto Vet (Background Vocals by Mack 10 and Mr. Short Khop)
4. Greed
5. Supreme Hustle
6. It Was A Good Day
7. Spittin' Pollaseeds (featuring WC & Kokane)
8. Rollin' With The Lench Mob
9. The Wrong Nigga To Fuck Wit
10. When Will They Shoot?
11. Why We Thugs / Smoke Some Weed (Live) (featuring WC and Crazy Toones)
12. Givin' Up The Nappy Dugout
13. A Gangsta's Fairytale
14. Check Yo Self (featuring Das EFX)
15. What Can I Do?
16. War & Peace
17. Dead Homiez
18. Cold Places

Product Description

Explicit Version. The Essentials is a greatest hits compilation album by West Coast rapper Ice Cube. 18 tracks including album guest artists Snoop Dogg, Lil' Jon, Mack 10, Mr. Short,WC & Kokane, Khop, Das EFX and Crazy Toones.

Customer Reviews

There are no customer reviews yet on Amazon.ca
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star

Most Helpful Customer Reviews on Amazon.com (beta)

Amazon.com: HASH(0x95cb23b4) out of 5 stars 7 reviews
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x97747f9c) out of 5 stars Good But Not Essential Sept. 20 2008
By D.P. - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
Normally when a non-studio Ice Cube album is released, there is a theme to the album that justifies spending the money to purchase it. "Bootlegs & B-Sides" was full of (then) unreleased remixes & extra songs not available on his albums, "Featuring Ice Cube" was full of his famous & best collaborations at that time, "Greatest Hits" & "Best Of Westside Connection" explains themselves, and "In The Movies" was songs that were featured in hit movies or various soundtracks. However, that's not the case here with "The Essentials" as you would think this is "part two" of his previous "Greatest Hits" album (similar to how Tupac Ressurection was) but these are just randon Ice Cube songs from his past albums put together with the only thing special here is a live performance audio track of "Why We Thugs/Smoke Some Weed" from his "Laugh Now, Cry Later" album. Various tracks from his previous "themed" albums are also released once again on this such as Today Was A Good Day (Greatest Hits), Ghetto Vet & Wrong N' To F' With (In The Movies). While some tracks on here are legendary Ice Cube songs (like "Dead Homies" & the original versions of "Check Yo Self" & "What Can I Do?"), most of these tracks aren't "essential" than the other songs that have been more important to Cube's career that have still yet to make their way to a "best of" album such as "Who's The Mack?", "True To The Game", "Wicked", "Really Doe" and a personal favorite of mine that is heavily slept on in "Until We Rich" with Krayzie Bone. Don't get me wrong, these aren't Cube's worst songs as they are good but I can't say with a straight face that these songs were "essential" when it came to the success of Ice Cube's career & were better choices than the songs they left off.

I recommended "Greatest Hits" for those who only knew & wanted Ice Cube's famous chart topping hits...I recommended "Best Of Westside Connection" for that same reason but also for those who wanted all (except one) of their collaborations together that weren't on the two group albums...I recommended "In The Movies" for those who wanted to get their hands on Ice Cube songs from rare & out of print soundtracks...however, I just can't recommend "The Essentials" for any of those same reasons. I can only recommend it for people who don't have enough money or don't want to take the time to go & buy Ice Cube's studio albums that have these same songs along with others that were better quality in production, lyricism, getting his message across, and were just bigger hits that were left off his previous "Greatest Hits" album that "The Essentials" decided to leave out in favor of just random songs. Again, I can only recommend this if you don't have the money or time to get all of Ice Cube's previous solo albums.
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
HASH(0x9628d00c) out of 5 stars Essential to who? Jan. 17 2011
By H3@+h - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD
You could argue about any collection, what should and shouldn't be included. This isn't really a greatest hits, there's one of those already. This isn't even a GH part 2, or a "Rest Of". A better title would have been "The Random" or "The Sampling". So it's got some "hits" since the last collection came out, and tosses in a few must-haves from way back. Sadly this doesn't even include what the last collection missed. Where's Wicked, Really Doe or Until We Rich? Also nothing from Raw Footage other than "Cold Places". Now of course what is here is good, some of it great. I suppose it really just comes down to what your favorite tracks are. I'm sure a few people like this more than the previous Hits disc. In it's favor, it does have Go To Church and the kick-ass Supreme Hustle. I love the cover too. Can't wait to see him again this March.
HASH(0x9628d444) out of 5 stars Birthday Gift Feb. 8 2013
By Rose - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Bought this and other orginial albums of Ice Cube for a special friend's birthday. Recieved the item a few days after order was submitted. I was nervous I wouldn't get by the weekend of their birthday, but I did. The recipient could not have been more pleased! Thank you!
HASH(0x9628d42c) out of 5 stars Great compilation! July 2 2010
By eastbayrae - Published on Amazon.com
Verified Purchase
The only thing I would have liked to have seen on here was My Summer Vacation. Other then that it covers his entire career and hits all the best stuff. If you liked Bootlegs and B Sides this is for you.
HASH(0x9628d8f4) out of 5 stars This CD is perfect! Oct. 12 2013
By Rapfan - Published on Amazon.com
Format: Audio CD Verified Purchase
Buy this CD if you can. It's awsome. You won't regret it at all. I didn't! This CD is one of the best CD's I ever bought. Go for it and just buy it! Hurry up, because time is running out on Amazon.com.