Fade Away: A Myron Bolitar Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more

Vous voulez voir cette page en français ? Cliquez ici.

Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Start reading Fade Away: A Myron Bolitar Novel on your Kindle in under a minute.

Don't have a Kindle? Get your Kindle here, or download a FREE Kindle Reading App.

Fade Away [Mass Market Paperback]

Harlan Coben
4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)

Available from these sellers.


Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition --  
Hardcover CDN $20.00  
Paperback CDN $9.89  
Mass Market Paperback --  
Audio, CD, Audiobook, Unabridged CDN $19.96  
Join Amazon Student in Canada


Book Description

Nov. 2 1996 Myron Bolitar Mysteries
The home was top-notch New Jersey suburban. The living room was Martha Stewart. The basement was Legos—and blood. For sports agent Myron Bolitar, the disappearance of a man he'd once competed against was bringing back memories—of the sport he and Greg Downing had both played and the woman they both loved. Now, among the stars, the wanna-bes, the gamblers and groupies, Myron is unraveling the strange, violent life of a sports hero gone wrong, and coming face-to-face with a past he can't relive, and a present he may not survive.

In novels that crackle with wit and suspense, Edgar Award winner Harlan Coben has created one of the most fascinating and complex heroes in suspense fiction—Myron Bolitar—a hotheaded, tenderhearted sports agent who grows more and more engaging and unpredictable with each page-turning appearance.

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought


Product Details


Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Wisecracking sports agent Myron Bolitar returns with style in his third mystery (after Deal Breaker and Dropshot). This time, Myron is given a chance to return to professional basketball after being sidelined by a heartbreaking injury 10 years ago. No, the owner of the New Jersey Dragons doesn't want Myron to play. He wants him to use his skills as a onetime FBI undercover agent ("the worst kept secret in the continental United States") to find a missing player and former rival. The hunt for the absent player turns up an ugly web of complications that include a dead body, blackmail, a nasty custody suit, out-of-control gambling and thugs intent on revenge. Myron finds himself dragged in deeper than expected as the case stirs unresolved issues from his own past. With the help of his lethally loyal pal Win, he untangles the mess with bravado and not a little personal pain. Coben writes a fast-moving narrative in a style witty enough to keep pace without straining too hard.
Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Review

"Brilliant! Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton, Robert B. Parker, and everyone else!"—Nancy Pickard, author of I.O.U.

"Fast action, snappy dialogue...[An] enjoyable read."—Toronto Star

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
"Just behave." Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?


Customer Reviews

Most helpful customer reviews
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars I struggled to finish. June 14 2011
By J Reader TOP 500 REVIEWER
Format:Paperback
The least enjoyable book I've read in years. I find Coben's writing style to be juvenile and overly simplistic. This is the first of his novels. I borrowed it because he is a favorite of some avid readers I know.

I found the premise of the story weak, the characters are poorly developed and not terribly interesting. It is not for people who love intricate plots with lots of twists and turns as this story unravels quite linearly.

If you would like a quick read with some cheesy humour and a hint of action you could enjoy this book. It just wasn't up my alley.
Was this review helpful to you?
3.0 out of 5 stars Missing 6 pages Feb. 23 2014
Format:Kindle Edition|Verified Purchase
For some reason I am missing the last 6 pages from chapter 3. Downloaded the book onto my tablet. Early enough in the book not to make a big difference overall but I am disillusioned with downloading at the moment.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Whitty Dialogue! March 27 2004
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Being a fan of this writer for quite sometime needless to say I have enjoyed all of the 'COBEN' books-- that being said, I'd like to add that quite possibly, FADE AWAY might very well be my favorite story however. Loved the whitty dialogue! You should give it a try!
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fade Away never fades Dec 4 2001
Format:Audio Cassette
One of the most addicting audiobooks I have ever listened to. The reading is top notch and it has you wondering who dunnit the whole book. A total surprise ending with heart.
Was this review helpful to you?
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
By A Customer
Format:Mass Market Paperback
series. Harlan Coben is at his best in this thriller that will leave you guessing until the very end. The internal conflicts of the characters are so evident and well desribed you feel as though they are real people. I love this series, and this would have to be my favorite one yet. And in no other book is Cobens humor more evident than this one. I have recommended this book to all my friends. So read it, already!
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Best of a not quite first-rate series July 23 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
This Bolitar novel, #3 is pretty clearly just a little deeper than the others, while still maintaining all the peripheral features that make the series so fun. Typical characteristics include lots of characters, very intricate plotting, a few startling revelations, a great deal of generally dry humor, and ongoing relationships which Coben is careful to add to and change a little within each installment. That's all here, and the basketball angle which dredges up Bolitar's past is more compelling than the personal angle of the other books in the series - with the exception of the most recent, where it's pretty heavy. My two quibbles with the series are (1) that Win, the sidekick, extends the Hawk/Meyer tradition even further out into the realm of total implausibility, and (2) one gets the impression that Coben uses substantially the same diagram for the plots of all his books, particularly the later ones. Still, much fun.
Was this review helpful to you?
5.0 out of 5 stars Coben "Articulates" Quite Well In This Book May 21 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Yes, even Win would have to agree with my title. Once again, Harlan Coben takes us on a remarkable journey with former fed turned sports' agent, Myron Bolitar.
Anyone who ever had a dream of playing professional sports, but fell short, would truly appreciate this book. Bolitar, injured in his first professional basketball pre-season game, gets his chance once again several years later. He is signed on to play in the NBA in hopes of finding his old college rivalry, Greg Downing, who has recently disappeared.
The plot twists and shocking discoveries are a plenty, as several times, my eyes seemed to have popped out of their sockets to join my jaw on the floor. This story is well-developed, and the characters are so nicely defined, the book just flows one smooth page after another.
The best part of this book, as well as all other Coben books, is the witty and often hilarious dialogue. I can easily see this appearing on the "silver screen," but for the purposes of the book, it is perfect. It makes for very entertaining reading.
Coben does a masterful job of tying all of his characters together, and the ending is so surprising, you can't help but enjoy the book. FADE AWAY is a can't miss.
Was this review helpful to you?
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good April 1 2001
Format:Mass Market Paperback
Coben writes a skillfully plotted, entertaining hardboiled PI novel that falls just a little bit short of my favorites (Parker's Spenser, Block's Scudder, etc.) Our hero, Myron Bolitar, is a wisecracking sports agent who literally enters the world of the NBA to track down his team's missing star. He gets help along the way from an enigmatic tough guy "sidekick" and a spunky female assistant named Esperanza. Doesn't sound all that original, does it? But Coben pulls it off by making his characters interesting and human. The story is fast paced and has lots of twists and turns as Bolitar tries to find the missing star, tries to solve a related murder, and deal with the problems of his own past. Very entertaining, and like all great mystery novels, it leaves you wanting more Bolitar.
Was this review helpful to you?
Want to see more reviews on this item?
Most recent customer reviews
4.0 out of 5 stars Fast paced witty and intriguing
Marvin Bolitar current sports agent, ex FBI agent and ex basketball would be superstar (until injury robbed him of his big chance)is once again drawn into a murder mystery. Read more
Published on July 15 2004 by David A. Riley
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant... his best in the Myron Bolitar series
Wow... that sums up this novel. I've read 3 other Myron books and 3 of his stand alones, and "Fade Away" is as good as my previous favorite of Coben, "Gone For... Read more
Published on May 13 2004 by nutcracker
4.0 out of 5 stars Buy now, before advice to read Coben books memory fades away
Note - Read this novel before Coben's novel titled Darkest Fear, otherwise a lot of this book's plot is given away in that novel. Read more
Published on Jan. 17 2004 by James N Simpson
4.0 out of 5 stars The basketball demons are finally exorcised
Myron Bolitar, now sports agent and lawyer and ex-FBI sleuth, was on the verge of NBA superstardom when his knee was crushed in a vicious hit in his first pre-season game ten years... Read more
Published on June 6 2003 by J. Grattan
4.0 out of 5 stars Just Plain Enjoyable
In this 3rd Myron Bolitar mystery, Myron finally realises his dream of playing NBA basketball, although the circumstances aren't exactly how he would have expected to gain the... Read more
Published on Oct. 24 2002 by Untouchable
5.0 out of 5 stars Another great mystery featuring Myron Bolitar
When Myron Bolitar, a sports rep and one time first round draft to the NBA, is signed on by the New Jersey Dragons it isn't so that he can make a comeback. Read more
Published on Nov. 20 2001 by "rebecca_n"
4.0 out of 5 stars Nothing but net - almost
There's a t-shirt that says "The older I get, the better I was." In "Fade Away", Myron finally gets his chance at the NBA - when he's hired to take the place... Read more
Published on July 25 2001 by Carol Peterson Hennekens
Search Customer Reviews
Only search this product's reviews

Look for similar items by category


Feedback