Fade Away: A Myron Bolitar Novel and over one million other books are available for Amazon Kindle. Learn more
Have one to sell?
Flip to back Flip to front
Listen Playing... Paused   You're listening to a sample of the Audible audio edition.
Learn more
See this image

Fade Away Mass Market Paperback – Nov 2 1996


See all 16 formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Amazon Price New from Used from
Kindle Edition
"Please retry"
Mass Market Paperback, Nov 2 1996
CDN$ 4.51 CDN$ 0.01

2014 Books Gift Guide
Yes Please is featured in our 2014 Books Gift Guide. More gift ideas

Customers Who Bought This Item Also Bought



Product Details

  • Mass Market Paperback: 368 pages
  • Publisher: Dell; Reissue edition (Nov. 2 1996)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 0440222680
  • ISBN-13: 978-0440222682
  • Product Dimensions: 17.6 x 10.5 x 2.5 cm
  • Shipping Weight: 227 g
  • Average Customer Review: 4.5 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (26 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Bestsellers Rank: #543,247 in Books (See Top 100 in Books)

Product Description

From Publishers Weekly

Wisecracking sports agent Myron Bolitar returns with style in his third mystery (after Deal Breaker and Dropshot). This time, Myron is given a chance to return to professional basketball after being sidelined by a heartbreaking injury 10 years ago. No, the owner of the New Jersey Dragons doesn't want Myron to play. He wants him to use his skills as a onetime FBI undercover agent ("the worst kept secret in the continental United States") to find a missing player and former rival. The hunt for the absent player turns up an ugly web of complications that include a dead body, blackmail, a nasty custody suit, out-of-control gambling and thugs intent on revenge. Myron finds himself dragged in deeper than expected as the case stirs unresolved issues from his own past. With the help of his lethally loyal pal Win, he untangles the mess with bravado and not a little personal pain. Coben writes a fast-moving narrative in a style witty enough to keep pace without straining too hard.
Copyright 1996 Reed Business Information, Inc.

Review

"Brilliant! Perfect for fans of Sue Grafton, Robert B. Parker, and everyone else!"—Nancy Pickard, author of I.O.U.

"Fast action, snappy dialogue...[An] enjoyable read."—Toronto Star

Inside This Book (Learn More)
First Sentence
"Just behave." Read the first page
Explore More
Concordance
Browse Sample Pages
Front Cover | Copyright | Excerpt
Search inside this book:

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
Share your thoughts with other customers

Most helpful customer reviews

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful By A Customer on Sept. 3 2001
Format: Mass Market Paperback
series. Harlan Coben is at his best in this thriller that will leave you guessing until the very end. The internal conflicts of the characters are so evident and well desribed you feel as though they are real people. I love this series, and this would have to be my favorite one yet. And in no other book is Cobens humor more evident than this one. I have recommended this book to all my friends. So read it, already!
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Yes, even Win would have to agree with my title. Once again, Harlan Coben takes us on a remarkable journey with former fed turned sports' agent, Myron Bolitar.
Anyone who ever had a dream of playing professional sports, but fell short, would truly appreciate this book. Bolitar, injured in his first professional basketball pre-season game, gets his chance once again several years later. He is signed on to play in the NBA in hopes of finding his old college rivalry, Greg Downing, who has recently disappeared.
The plot twists and shocking discoveries are a plenty, as several times, my eyes seemed to have popped out of their sockets to join my jaw on the floor. This story is well-developed, and the characters are so nicely defined, the book just flows one smooth page after another.
The best part of this book, as well as all other Coben books, is the witty and often hilarious dialogue. I can easily see this appearing on the "silver screen," but for the purposes of the book, it is perfect. It makes for very entertaining reading.
Coben does a masterful job of tying all of his characters together, and the ending is so surprising, you can't help but enjoy the book. FADE AWAY is a can't miss.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
Ok. Don't get me wrong. I'm a MB fan and I thoroughly enjoy the freshness of Coben's writing. Fade Away does a very good job of bringing out the details of the series back story, especially with HC's deft use of dialogue. But, I thought there were some serious holes in the story. First, Greg was supposed to have this job driving taxis. It was an unnecessary storypoint--one that was summarily ignored during any of the investigations.
I guess I should read the MB series as thrillers rather than mysteries. HC doesn't create a puzzle for you to solve. No clever clues to point you to the killer.
As I progress through the series, I'm finding Win to be more and more of a superfiscial prop to the story--nothing more than a utility "black ops" mercenary. I think it's rather sad to have a crutch like the Win character to rely on for nearly anything having to do with lock picking, number tracing, or blowing off a bad guy's head.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This Bolitar novel, #3 is pretty clearly just a little deeper than the others, while still maintaining all the peripheral features that make the series so fun. Typical characteristics include lots of characters, very intricate plotting, a few startling revelations, a great deal of generally dry humor, and ongoing relationships which Coben is careful to add to and change a little within each installment. That's all here, and the basketball angle which dredges up Bolitar's past is more compelling than the personal angle of the other books in the series - with the exception of the most recent, where it's pretty heavy. My two quibbles with the series are (1) that Win, the sidekick, extends the Hawk/Meyer tradition even further out into the realm of total implausibility, and (2) one gets the impression that Coben uses substantially the same diagram for the plots of all his books, particularly the later ones. Still, much fun.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
First and foremost, I do NOT consider myself a reader of mysteries, UNLESS of course, they are written by Harlan Coben. "Fade Away" is a wonderful example of what a writer can do with character development in a book series. With each book, we learn a little more about Myron Bolitar and what makes him tick - and we always like what we learn. This is the third of Coben's "Myron Bolitar" mysteries that I have read and each one just gets better. By now, I have learned to not try to figure out whodunnit before Myron does, because I will fail misrably. Coben tosses you red herrings like you were a performing seal at SeaWorld. And you will gobble each one up, with enthusiasm! Honestly, I resist the urge to read all of the Bolitar novels at once (even tho' I own them all). Coben's books are like Godiva Chocolates. You love them so much you just hate to gulp them down all at once.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.
Format: Mass Market Paperback
This was the first Harlan Coben book I read, but it was not the last. I am writing this review several months after reading this, but I feel it was so good that it deserves further kudos. The story is extremely good, there are many twists and turns, and the characters are witty and likeable no matter how cold they can be at times. I would recommend both Robert Crais and Robert Parker to those of you who like Harlan Coben. I have read several Robert Crais books, try "the Monkey's Raincoat" or "Stalking the Angel" and "Playmates" by Parker. The stories twists are not on par with Coben (but few are), but the stories themselves and characters run alongside Myron and Winn. For anyone wondering about "Fade Away" if the other reviews haven't given you enough of an idea, read it now or you'll be sorry. It won the Edgar Award with good reason.
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback. If this review is inappropriate, please let us know.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again.

Most recent customer reviews


Look for similar items by category


Feedback